7 Dec 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jenny Mitchell - Single Review: Trouble Finds A Girl with Tami Neilson

14 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

The Auckland Folk Festival earlier this year was an embarrassment of riches, with so many great Kiwi artists playing multiple sets, and I spent the weekend trying to soak in as much as possible. There is no doubt that one of the highlights was Jenny Mitchell, who with her sisters Nicola and Maegan, provided warm and emotional country music in a style which seemed very much at odds with her age. I was supposed to be seeing her play a house concert last month, but COVID got in the way, and I am now hoping against hope that she will be able to play Auckland in December. On that night she will be playing with Tami Neilson, a bona fide country legend, but until then we can satisfy ourselves by listening to their new song, Trouble Finds A Girl, which was written together at an APRA Songhubs songwriting camp. It came out of a conversation regarding their own experiences, along with the work undertaken by Stuff journalist Alison Mau who investigated #metoo claims within the New Zealand music industry.

“The song is for my younger self, who put up with far too much out of fear that if I didn’t ‘play the game’ I might lose opportunities,” says Jenny. “It’s for my little sisters, who I hope to be able to guide and educate as they make their way through the music industry. It’s for the world in general, and any person who’s ever felt unsafe; inside the entertainment industry or not.”

It commences gently, creating the emotional feel and atmosphere I have come to expect from Jenny, where the listener falls into her world, where nothing else matters. The music may be gentle and restrained, but the lyrics are powerful, designed to resonate and to make people think. This is a song about my daughters, my wife, every woman. Tami takes over for the second verse, again keeping it mellow, but she has an edge of restrained power that lets everyone know it is taking all her effort to keep it sweet, as she wants to cry to the world. They combine on the chorus, but while they lift it slightly, there is still the emotional presence.

Tami kicks off the third verse, with Jenny coming in later, but it is at the bridge where they finally let loose some of the passion where it becomes gospel, as they are joined by Nicola, Maegan, Jenny’s father Ron Mitchell, as well as New Zealand artist Kaylee Bell, and Australian artist Fanny Lumsden. We get vocal gymnastics over the top of the choir, and one just knows this is going to be a massively extended singalong at gigs. It ends with Jenny totally unaccompanied singing the words, It’s trouble’s turn to lose. The song is packed full of warmth and empathy, emotion and atmosphere, with incredibly strong words. The music is gentle, with acoustic and electric guitars, brushed percussion and bass, providing just the right amount of support, as we are drawn to the voices and the words. This is a siren call of passion which we all need to heed.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Jenny Mitchell

Hailing from the deep South of New Zealand, Jenny is a songwriter who blends Country, Folk & Americana into her own captivating style.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jenny Mitchell

Releases

Wildfires
Year: 2018
Type: Album
The Old Oak
Year: 2015
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

One Dead Man - Single Review: Angeline
05 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
One Dead Man is Michael Baxter from Tauranga bands The Dead Man 6 and The Knids, who came up with the idea during lockdown of putting together a collection of songs which would work together as a rock opera or concept album, and he settled on the idea of relationships and making deals with the devil (both metaphorically and spiritually) to satisfy your own needs and wants. The Deal will be released by the end of the year, so for now here is the single, Angeline, which is sung by the character of Gabriel, played by Kingsley Smith (Knightshade) who also provides piano on the track.
Read More...
Mahoney Harris - Single Review: Band in Town
02 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Band In Town is the latest single from folk/pop singer Mahoney Harris. Inspired by memories of her mum and friends getting ready for nights out, the cover actually features both her mother (on the left) and her godmother.
Read More...
Lazy Fifty - Album Review: 2021: A Lazy Odyssey
01 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Lazy Fifty are Adrian Athy (vocals, guitar), Ryan Raggett (bass), and Ali Sochacki (drums), and they play traditional solid Seventies-style melodic hard rock. This is their fourth album, and to put is simple is an absolute blast from start to finish and a load of fun.
Read More...
How To Escape Reality - Single Review: Not Another Pop Punk Christmas
30 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
How To Escape Reality were formed in 2020, by songwriter Samuel Fistonich with the help of his brothers and his wife to create music which was heavily influenced from the Emo and pop punk movement. Samuel and his family grew up in China, and this song was written with Mason May, a friend of the band from those days.
Read More...
A Radical Sun - Single Review: Love Shakes
28 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Everyone in Auckland has been incredibly frustrated with the lockdown which has now stretched past 100 days, impacting everyone inside the borders. Obviously one group which have been unable to work are the gigging musicians, which has seen some of them go into the studio or even start new projects.
Read More...
Single/Video Review: The Not Okays - Bite Me
28 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The Not Okays are a band who originally formed a few years ago just to have some fun at the Emo nights put on at Ding Dong Lounge. They comprise Noriel Wong (guitar), Aaron Prictor (guitar, vocals), Lauren Kate Borhani (vocals), Caitlin Clark (bass) and Bahador Borhani (drums).
Read More...
Ellery Daines - Single Review: No-One
27 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Ellery Daines is a multi-instrumentalist, songwriter, producer, and mixing engineer from Nelson, now based in the Norwegian Arctic city of Tromsø. Over the last five years he wrote, recorded, and mixed his debut album, Failure Thirty Minutes Deep, scheduled for release in 2022 and No-One is the first single and is a truly solo affair as Ellery performed all instruments and vocal parts, as well as producing and mixing the song.
Read More...
The Sam Loveridge Band - Single/Video Review: I Wanna Dance
21 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Sam and the guys are back with the second single from the forthcoming album, Recovery, and if ever they were looking for radio play I can pretty much guarantee this will not be getting it with this one. The simple reason is that in the key part of the chorus, people get asked to go forth and multiply, and somehow, I don’t think the mainstream are quite ready for that yet.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem