6 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jenny Mitchell - Single Review: Trouble Finds A Girl with Tami Neilson

14 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

The Auckland Folk Festival earlier this year was an embarrassment of riches, with so many great Kiwi artists playing multiple sets, and I spent the weekend trying to soak in as much as possible. There is no doubt that one of the highlights was Jenny Mitchell, who with her sisters Nicola and Maegan, provided warm and emotional country music in a style which seemed very much at odds with her age. I was supposed to be seeing her play a house concert last month, but COVID got in the way, and I am now hoping against hope that she will be able to play Auckland in December. On that night she will be playing with Tami Neilson, a bona fide country legend, but until then we can satisfy ourselves by listening to their new song, Trouble Finds A Girl, which was written together at an APRA Songhubs songwriting camp. It came out of a conversation regarding their own experiences, along with the work undertaken by Stuff journalist Alison Mau who investigated #metoo claims within the New Zealand music industry.

“The song is for my younger self, who put up with far too much out of fear that if I didn’t ‘play the game’ I might lose opportunities,” says Jenny. “It’s for my little sisters, who I hope to be able to guide and educate as they make their way through the music industry. It’s for the world in general, and any person who’s ever felt unsafe; inside the entertainment industry or not.”

It commences gently, creating the emotional feel and atmosphere I have come to expect from Jenny, where the listener falls into her world, where nothing else matters. The music may be gentle and restrained, but the lyrics are powerful, designed to resonate and to make people think. This is a song about my daughters, my wife, every woman. Tami takes over for the second verse, again keeping it mellow, but she has an edge of restrained power that lets everyone know it is taking all her effort to keep it sweet, as she wants to cry to the world. They combine on the chorus, but while they lift it slightly, there is still the emotional presence.

Tami kicks off the third verse, with Jenny coming in later, but it is at the bridge where they finally let loose some of the passion where it becomes gospel, as they are joined by Nicola, Maegan, Jenny’s father Ron Mitchell, as well as New Zealand artist Kaylee Bell, and Australian artist Fanny Lumsden. We get vocal gymnastics over the top of the choir, and one just knows this is going to be a massively extended singalong at gigs. It ends with Jenny totally unaccompanied singing the words, It’s trouble’s turn to lose. The song is packed full of warmth and empathy, emotion and atmosphere, with incredibly strong words. The music is gentle, with acoustic and electric guitars, brushed percussion and bass, providing just the right amount of support, as we are drawn to the voices and the words. This is a siren call of passion which we all need to heed.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Jenny Mitchell

Hailing from the deep South of New Zealand, Jenny is a songwriter who blends Country, Folk & Americana into her own captivating style.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jenny Mitchell

Releases

Tug of War
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Wildfires
Year: 2018
Type: Album
The Old Oak
Year: 2015
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Xile @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 01/10/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So, it is back out on K Road again for another gig, but strangely enough I am sure this is the first time I have been at Whammy Bar in more than a year, and tonight it is for Xile’s album release show. It shows just what strange times we have been living in as I Am Your God has been out for a couple of years, but this was the first opportunity for them to get out and play, so they were making the most of it.
Read More...
Album Review: Dead Beat Boys
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I’ve always had a soft spot for punk, ever since it exploded in the UK and my dad told me he would kick me out if he ever found any of that music in my collection. I was just 14 when the Pistols were due to play in the next town over (they were banned instead), and it was the most exciting thing to happen in the local music scene until 1980 when Genesis kicked off their national tour with two dates in Paignton.
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: Temporary Insanity
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was very impressed with the last single I heard of Gabriel’s, 2021’s Lights Burn Low, so when I asked to review this, I was looking forward to it. As I noticed last time, this is full of class with very high production, and does not sound like the performance of a musician who has yet to release his debut EP (out soon).
Read More...
Gig Review: Investigator @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 30/09/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch for another night of rock ‘n’ roll. I have reviewed Investigator quite a lot and saw Crystalator support them the last time I saw them at the Cupid, but tonight the band opening was new to me, Glasshouse Keepers.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Sink or Swim
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Just the opening few bars of their new single lets the listener know that Dead Favours are back, and yet again they mean business. Charlie sets up an intricate backbeat, Kyle and Jared have their guitars in sync, and at the heart of it all is a filthy bassline with Alex providing melodies and countermelodies, so one is brought into the music long before Jared even starts singing!
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: I Talk Too Much
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Auckland trio Imposter Syndrome, which is based strongly on a riffed acoustic guitar (the sound of which is superb, congrats whoever engineered this), with vocals over the top. Due to its nature this has plenty of space within the arrangements as even when additional instruments are added they are sparse, so the concentration is always on the voice and the guitar.
Read More...
Old Salts - EP Review: Stories Told by the Sea
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Alt rockers Old Salts hail from the shores of Bream Bay, Northland, and features John Buckle (lead vocals, guitar) Scott Brown (lead guitar, BV) Marcus Jones (bass, BV), and Lucas Hargreaves (drums, BV). This four-track EP contains three previously released singles plus the new one, Casual Smoker, which they describe as being reminiscent of Barry Manilow meets RHCP.
Read More...
BO And the Constrictors - EP Review: Love
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
These guys are new to me, and when I checked them out, I realised they are from Dunedin, which is why I have not come across them yet on the Auckland circuit, but I do hope they can make it up here at some point as these three songs are a nice slice of rock, and they are doing something quite different with their sound. Named after lead singer/guitarist Boaz Anema, the band also comprises Dean Armitage (bass, backing vocals), Jacob Rutherford (slide guitar) and Callan Carne (drums).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem