4 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bianca Rae - Single Review: Flower

14 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

There are times when the music world is very small indeed, which is why earlier this year I found myself at The Portland Public House in Auckland to see a singer-songwriter, having been put in contact by a fellow reviewer who is in the UK. Even though Bianca Rae was the support, and everything was running late, she refused to let anything get to her, and I thoroughly enjoyed her set. Before I left, I told her to let me know when she had music ready to review, and the result is that I now have Flower on repeat. Bianca has recorded four songs as acoustic demos, and this is the second she has made available to the wider public.

Vocally she has a similar style to Amy Winehouse, and it is the vocals which are the centre of attention as apart from her acoustic the only other accompaniment are a few harmony vocals. There is a naivety in her performance, with the guitar very much in the background, yet there is a confidence in her approach. When I saw her play, this song was one of the highlights for me, as there are strong elements of folky roots, while there are hints of singer-songwriter and Americana. There is an edge to this performance, and while it can be pleasant in the background, Bianca has a strength and force within her vocals which provide real cut through. One gets the impression that all may not be quite the beauty and light it purports to be, and there is a lot more going on than initially meets the eye.

The song is less than three minutes long, and the accompaniment and arrangement does give it a demo feel, but it is also a wonderful introduction to Bianca, and I enjoyed it immensely. There is an invitation to come in, but not too close, and the focus on her vocals works very well indeed.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Bianca Rae

Bianca Rae broke out of her comfort zone busking on the buzzing and beautiful streets of Melbourne. Now based in Taupo (NZ), her passion and talent with music has continued to stir audiences from the first note sung through the mic. Her voice has a uniquely beautiful sound that distinguishes her from others. It is recognizable and different, smooth and soulful.

Born in New Zealand in 1990, Bianca was brought up in a very musically talented whanau. This ignited a passion in her to write songs and create new sounds with her guitar and voice. Her craft of songwriting stuns and amazes other writers and readers of her work. She throws all of her emotion and heart into her songs. She is a creator of beautiful melodic sounds, as well as upbeat energetic rhythms. Her sense of style and her skill with her own music, and also the artists she covers, has an organic quality that is rare.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Bianca Rae

Releases

There are no releases to display for Bianca Rae.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Xile @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 01/10/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So, it is back out on K Road again for another gig, but strangely enough I am sure this is the first time I have been at Whammy Bar in more than a year, and tonight it is for Xile’s album release show. It shows just what strange times we have been living in as I Am Your God has been out for a couple of years, but this was the first opportunity for them to get out and play, so they were making the most of it.
Read More...
Album Review: Dead Beat Boys
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I’ve always had a soft spot for punk, ever since it exploded in the UK and my dad told me he would kick me out if he ever found any of that music in my collection. I was just 14 when the Pistols were due to play in the next town over (they were banned instead), and it was the most exciting thing to happen in the local music scene until 1980 when Genesis kicked off their national tour with two dates in Paignton.
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: Temporary Insanity
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was very impressed with the last single I heard of Gabriel’s, 2021’s Lights Burn Low, so when I asked to review this, I was looking forward to it. As I noticed last time, this is full of class with very high production, and does not sound like the performance of a musician who has yet to release his debut EP (out soon).
Read More...
Gig Review: Investigator @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 30/09/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch for another night of rock ‘n’ roll. I have reviewed Investigator quite a lot and saw Crystalator support them the last time I saw them at the Cupid, but tonight the band opening was new to me, Glasshouse Keepers.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Sink or Swim
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Just the opening few bars of their new single lets the listener know that Dead Favours are back, and yet again they mean business. Charlie sets up an intricate backbeat, Kyle and Jared have their guitars in sync, and at the heart of it all is a filthy bassline with Alex providing melodies and countermelodies, so one is brought into the music long before Jared even starts singing!
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: I Talk Too Much
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Auckland trio Imposter Syndrome, which is based strongly on a riffed acoustic guitar (the sound of which is superb, congrats whoever engineered this), with vocals over the top. Due to its nature this has plenty of space within the arrangements as even when additional instruments are added they are sparse, so the concentration is always on the voice and the guitar.
Read More...
Old Salts - EP Review: Stories Told by the Sea
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Alt rockers Old Salts hail from the shores of Bream Bay, Northland, and features John Buckle (lead vocals, guitar) Scott Brown (lead guitar, BV) Marcus Jones (bass, BV), and Lucas Hargreaves (drums, BV). This four-track EP contains three previously released singles plus the new one, Casual Smoker, which they describe as being reminiscent of Barry Manilow meets RHCP.
Read More...
BO And the Constrictors - EP Review: Love
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
These guys are new to me, and when I checked them out, I realised they are from Dunedin, which is why I have not come across them yet on the Auckland circuit, but I do hope they can make it up here at some point as these three songs are a nice slice of rock, and they are doing something quite different with their sound. Named after lead singer/guitarist Boaz Anema, the band also comprises Dean Armitage (bass, backing vocals), Jacob Rutherford (slide guitar) and Callan Carne (drums).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem