25 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bianca Rae - Single Review: Flower

14 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

There are times when the music world is very small indeed, which is why earlier this year I found myself at The Portland Public House in Auckland to see a singer-songwriter, having been put in contact by a fellow reviewer who is in the UK. Even though Bianca Rae was the support, and everything was running late, she refused to let anything get to her, and I thoroughly enjoyed her set. Before I left, I told her to let me know when she had music ready to review, and the result is that I now have Flower on repeat. Bianca has recorded four songs as acoustic demos, and this is the second she has made available to the wider public.

Vocally she has a similar style to Amy Winehouse, and it is the vocals which are the centre of attention as apart from her acoustic the only other accompaniment are a few harmony vocals. There is a naivety in her performance, with the guitar very much in the background, yet there is a confidence in her approach. When I saw her play, this song was one of the highlights for me, as there are strong elements of folky roots, while there are hints of singer-songwriter and Americana. There is an edge to this performance, and while it can be pleasant in the background, Bianca has a strength and force within her vocals which provide real cut through. One gets the impression that all may not be quite the beauty and light it purports to be, and there is a lot more going on than initially meets the eye.

The song is less than three minutes long, and the accompaniment and arrangement does give it a demo feel, but it is also a wonderful introduction to Bianca, and I enjoyed it immensely. There is an invitation to come in, but not too close, and the focus on her vocals works very well indeed.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Bianca Rae

Bianca Rae broke out of her comfort zone busking on the buzzing and beautiful streets of Melbourne. Now based in Taupo (NZ), her passion and talent with music has continued to stir audiences from the first note sung through the mic. Her voice has a uniquely beautiful sound that distinguishes her from others. It is recognizable and different, smooth and soulful.

Born in New Zealand in 1990, Bianca was brought up in a very musically talented whanau. This ignited a passion in her to write songs and create new sounds with her guitar and voice. Her craft of songwriting stuns and amazes other writers and readers of her work. She throws all of her emotion and heart into her songs. She is a creator of beautiful melodic sounds, as well as upbeat energetic rhythms. Her sense of style and her skill with her own music, and also the artists she covers, has an organic quality that is rare.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Bianca Rae

Releases

There are no releases to display for Bianca Rae.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Claemus - Album Review: Daydream
21 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
When I heard that Hutt Valley band Claemus had released their debut album I was immediately intrigued, as I came across the single Hedonist a few months ago, and given the number of influences and styles they had managed to ram into 5 minutes what could they do with a full album? These guys have managed to secure support slots with bands as diverse as P.
Read More...
Kevin Posey - EP Review: The Story of Francis
21 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Oklahoma native Kevin Posey lives in Auckland these days, and throughout his musical career he has investigated different types and styles of music, and for this EP he has moved into yet another area, as what we have here is classical music that has been inspired by Halloween and psychological thrillers. Some, such as Fog Forest No.
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: I'm Ready
21 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is Jolandi Ford’s third single since moving to Aotearoa from her native South Africa, and right from the first note one can why she has already been making a dent in international Country music charts. Although her voice is lighter in some ways, with a nice twang, her approach is quite reminiscent to the more rock-based approach of the likes of Shania Twain.
Read More...
Eurenza - EP Review: Good Luck... You're Gonna Need It
19 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Eurenza were originally formed seven years ago as Timeless, but eventually decided to go with a more uncommon name, and now have delivered their first five-track EP. Interestingly, much of this was recorded some time ago in preparation for an album, but they instead decided to go with the strongest tracks instead and cut it back.
Read More...
Sam Bartells - Single Review: Bring You Down
17 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Sam Bartells is back with his new single Bring You Down, which finds him taking quite a different approach to Where We'll Go, which also featured Mema Wilda. Whereas he normally sits quite happily within alt country, here we see him using that as a base and then moving in a much rockier direction.
Read More...
Jenny Mitchell - Single Review: Trouble Finds A Girl with Tami Neilson
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The Auckland Folk Festival earlier this year was an embarrassment of riches, with so many great Kiwi artists playing multiple sets, and I spent the weekend trying to soak in as much as possible. There is no doubt that one of the highlights was Jenny Mitchell, who with her sisters Nicola and Maegan, provided warm and emotional country music in a style which seemed very much at odds with her age.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Green Cones
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Following on from the single Pay, which I reviewed a few months back, Blue River Baby (BRBB) are back with the second single from their second album, which is due next year. We find them moving much more into a dub style, with Ree Thomson’s wonderfully clear vocals very much the centre of attention.
Read More...
Downfall of Humanity - EP Review: Deceit
10 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often that a band can say they have had the same line-up for more than 10 years, but Auckland metal act Downfall of Humanity can claim just that. Daniel Carleton (lead vocals), Alex Carleton (guitars, backing vocals), Bryce Patten (guitars, backing vocals), Ben Pegman (bass) and Ben Bakker (drums) have a reputation for always delivering the goods, and I count myself lucky to have caught them a few times in the last year.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem