30 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bianca Rae - Single Review: Flower

14 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

There are times when the music world is very small indeed, which is why earlier this year I found myself at The Portland Public House in Auckland to see a singer-songwriter, having been put in contact by a fellow reviewer who is in the UK. Even though Bianca Rae was the support, and everything was running late, she refused to let anything get to her, and I thoroughly enjoyed her set. Before I left, I told her to let me know when she had music ready to review, and the result is that I now have Flower on repeat. Bianca has recorded four songs as acoustic demos, and this is the second she has made available to the wider public.

Vocally she has a similar style to Amy Winehouse, and it is the vocals which are the centre of attention as apart from her acoustic the only other accompaniment are a few harmony vocals. There is a naivety in her performance, with the guitar very much in the background, yet there is a confidence in her approach. When I saw her play, this song was one of the highlights for me, as there are strong elements of folky roots, while there are hints of singer-songwriter and Americana. There is an edge to this performance, and while it can be pleasant in the background, Bianca has a strength and force within her vocals which provide real cut through. One gets the impression that all may not be quite the beauty and light it purports to be, and there is a lot more going on than initially meets the eye.

The song is less than three minutes long, and the accompaniment and arrangement does give it a demo feel, but it is also a wonderful introduction to Bianca, and I enjoyed it immensely. There is an invitation to come in, but not too close, and the focus on her vocals works very well indeed.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Bianca Rae

Bianca Rae broke out of her comfort zone busking on the buzzing and beautiful streets of Melbourne. Now based in Taupo (NZ), her passion and talent with music has continued to stir audiences from the first note sung through the mic. Her voice has a uniquely beautiful sound that distinguishes her from others. It is recognizable and different, smooth and soulful.

Born in New Zealand in 1990, Bianca was brought up in a very musically talented whanau. This ignited a passion in her to write songs and create new sounds with her guitar and voice. Her craft of songwriting stuns and amazes other writers and readers of her work. She throws all of her emotion and heart into her songs. She is a creator of beautiful melodic sounds, as well as upbeat energetic rhythms. Her sense of style and her skill with her own music, and also the artists she covers, has an organic quality that is rare.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Bianca Rae

Releases

There are no releases to display for Bianca Rae.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
Christine White - Album Review: Raven
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This multi-media project commenced in March 2020, and more than 2 ½ years later the release had come together with five songs (one of which is a remix of the opening title cut by electronic producer Paddy Free, so there are six tracks). These are accompanied by three music videos, and a book of short haiku-style poetry in two languages (English & Farsi), and there is no doubt that this has gained quite a deal of media interest, so yesterday I found myself listening to a very interesting interview with Christine White on RNZ.
Read More...
Album Review: Goodnight My Darling
22 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
If it hadn’t been for an unfortunate clash with an event I had to attend, I would have been at Whammy a few weeks back to hear Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay), and now I have listened to her debut album I so wish I had been able to make it. Still, at least this is now available so those of us who were unable to make it to the tour (last two dates this coming weekend in Wellington and Kapiti) can enjoy this relaxed pleasant romp through different elements of soft pop rock, singer songwriter and shoegaze.
Read More...
Whero - Single Review: Easy
21 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when one hears a voice and it feels as if you are being held warm and safe, and that is definitely the case here with Whero, who recently released her debut single. If she has not recorded under this name before, I am sure she must have recorded with others, while this has all the hallmarks of someone who has undertaken a lot of live work.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem