4 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Blue River Baby - Single Review: Green Cones

14 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Following on from the single Pay, which I reviewed a few months back, Blue River Baby (BRBB) are back with the second single from their second album, which is due next year. We find them moving much more into a dub style, with Ree Thomson’s wonderfully clear vocals very much the centre of attention. Here we have a band who love moving in different styles, and here the song starts delicately, with some wonderful percussion, nice bass, sharp guitars, and the keyboards providing just the perfect melodic support and structure for Ree to develop on. It is a song which soon builds, and by the time we get into the first chorus the brass has started to make their presence felt.

Although the second verse lulls the listener into thinking we have reverted back to the style at the beginning, we are soon reminded that here is a group who have lots of power at their disposal and are not afraid to show that. This is a real groover, designed to get the listener moving and paying attention as they demand you pay attention. They stretch throughout the five minutes, changing the song so they move away from core themes only to return, and using acapella when it is right, or crunching into the dub when it needs that edge. It is commercial, yet somehow also uncompromising, with the result being a track and performance which is as well suited for the live environment as it is for the radio. They come across as a force of nature, combining to push forward, allowing the vocals to be at the forefront yet supporting them all the way. The arrangement is a delight showcasing the bands many talents and the album is certainly going to be worth discovering, but until then we have a wonderful summer highlight in Green Cones.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Blue River Baby

Formed in 2016 Blue River Baby 'B.R.B' are busy recording new music for their second album with the first singles releasing mid 2021. This highly productive Poneke / Valley 6-piece funk dub & soul collective brims with fresh new talent and amazing lead vocals from Ree Thomson.

The bands self-titled debut album was recorded with Dr. Lee Prebble who has been instrumental in projects from L.A.B. and The Black Seeds. Released 2019 B.R.B's first album hit #1 on the NZ Indie (IMNZ) Top 20 Album Chart and #8 on the Official NZ Music Top 20 Album Chart, and held three weeks in both charts in the company iconic acts like L.A.B., Six60, BENEE, Drax Project, Troy Kingi, Katchafire & Aldous Harding.

B.R.B received a bunch of ongoing commercial and student radio play around NZ 2019 and into 2020. In March 2020 they re-entered the (IMNZ) Top 20 Album Chart at #12.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Blue River Baby

Releases

Blue River Baby
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Xile @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 01/10/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So, it is back out on K Road again for another gig, but strangely enough I am sure this is the first time I have been at Whammy Bar in more than a year, and tonight it is for Xile’s album release show. It shows just what strange times we have been living in as I Am Your God has been out for a couple of years, but this was the first opportunity for them to get out and play, so they were making the most of it.
Read More...
Album Review: Dead Beat Boys
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I’ve always had a soft spot for punk, ever since it exploded in the UK and my dad told me he would kick me out if he ever found any of that music in my collection. I was just 14 when the Pistols were due to play in the next town over (they were banned instead), and it was the most exciting thing to happen in the local music scene until 1980 when Genesis kicked off their national tour with two dates in Paignton.
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: Temporary Insanity
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was very impressed with the last single I heard of Gabriel’s, 2021’s Lights Burn Low, so when I asked to review this, I was looking forward to it. As I noticed last time, this is full of class with very high production, and does not sound like the performance of a musician who has yet to release his debut EP (out soon).
Read More...
Gig Review: Investigator @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 30/09/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch for another night of rock ‘n’ roll. I have reviewed Investigator quite a lot and saw Crystalator support them the last time I saw them at the Cupid, but tonight the band opening was new to me, Glasshouse Keepers.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Sink or Swim
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Just the opening few bars of their new single lets the listener know that Dead Favours are back, and yet again they mean business. Charlie sets up an intricate backbeat, Kyle and Jared have their guitars in sync, and at the heart of it all is a filthy bassline with Alex providing melodies and countermelodies, so one is brought into the music long before Jared even starts singing!
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: I Talk Too Much
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Auckland trio Imposter Syndrome, which is based strongly on a riffed acoustic guitar (the sound of which is superb, congrats whoever engineered this), with vocals over the top. Due to its nature this has plenty of space within the arrangements as even when additional instruments are added they are sparse, so the concentration is always on the voice and the guitar.
Read More...
Old Salts - EP Review: Stories Told by the Sea
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Alt rockers Old Salts hail from the shores of Bream Bay, Northland, and features John Buckle (lead vocals, guitar) Scott Brown (lead guitar, BV) Marcus Jones (bass, BV), and Lucas Hargreaves (drums, BV). This four-track EP contains three previously released singles plus the new one, Casual Smoker, which they describe as being reminiscent of Barry Manilow meets RHCP.
Read More...
BO And the Constrictors - EP Review: Love
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
These guys are new to me, and when I checked them out, I realised they are from Dunedin, which is why I have not come across them yet on the Auckland circuit, but I do hope they can make it up here at some point as these three songs are a nice slice of rock, and they are doing something quite different with their sound. Named after lead singer/guitarist Boaz Anema, the band also comprises Dean Armitage (bass, backing vocals), Jacob Rutherford (slide guitar) and Callan Carne (drums).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem