26 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Solo Ono - Single Review: Domesticated

13 Oct 2021 // A review by Kerry Monaghan

Solo Ono are one of those bands that has been kicking about since 2011, yet still feel like a hidden secret.

Over the years they have released singles, a full-length self-titled album and a handful of EP’s. Domesticated is their latest single, from their upcoming EP, Lavender.

Straight away, the intro has that great toe-tapping indie vibe and you can definitely hear those 80’s/90’s influences. It’s sharp and clean.

As always, I really like vocalist Frank Eggleton’s tone. His style fits the mould of their sound perfectly.

Musically, Domesticated is solid and I dig it lyrically too. It speaks of saying nothing in the moment even though we really should. In times like this I think it really is fitting.

Well done guys. Another solid effort.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Solo Ono

Solo Ono are a Poneke/Newtown trio (Frank Eggleton, Birgit Bachler and Jordan Stewart) that shares members with bands such as TidalRave, Once You Know and Lazerpuss. They play garage rock influenced by the dreams of the 80's and 90's indie bands and the bland cynicism of 00's garage.

The band has supported The Chills, She’s So Rad and played at last year’s Newtown Band Crawl.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Solo Ono

Releases

Lavender
Year: 2021
Type: EP
Now We Know Who To Blame
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Rogue Planet
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Solo Ono
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Space Monster
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kerry Monaghan

Caitlin - Single Review: Hardly
19 May 2022 // by Kerry Monaghan
Caitlin Joy might not sound familiar but you’re a fan of some great acoustic pop/folk tunes, then you’ll want to read on. Having been raised by musicians, it’s no wonder that her musical beginnings started young.
Read More...
Video Nasty - EP Review: Menthol b/w Filthy
15 Mar 2022 // by Kerry Monaghan
Video Nasty are a three piece hailing from Auckland. Having formed in 2020, their cacophony sound is a blend of noise rock that gives you reason to listen.
Read More...
One Dead Man - Album Review: The Deal
27 Feb 2022 // by Kerry Monaghan
If his name sounds familiar, Michael Baxter also fronts the Tauranga punk/noise-pop band, The Dead Man 6 and The Knids. The Deal is a 13 track slab of rock opera genius created from the confines of 2021’s lockdown and revels in honesty about anxiety and the extreme of relationships with the idea of making deals with the devil and the power of attraction and revenge.
Read More...
Radius Kink - Album Review: Orange Room
24 Nov 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Radius Kink have been around for a while now with a few releases up their sleeve, so it’s hard to believe this ‘new’ release of theirs is actually ten years old. The five piece hailing from Christchurch is made up of father and daughter, Dawn Hendriske (vocals, guitar) Gary Hendriske (vocals, bass), a next door neighbour and couple of mates (in no particular order) Gordon Goodinson (vocals, guitar) and Simon Gemmill (drums, keyboard, guitar).
Read More...
TOOMS - Single Review: Dead Birds
04 Aug 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
TOOMS is possible the most unique two piece I have recently had the pleasure of reviewing. With a nebulous genre that seems to fit where things aren’t supposed to fit, I like it a lot and so should you.
Read More...
Lakius - Single/Video Review: Here We Are Still
05 Jul 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Post-Industrial Metal duo Lakius have another explosive single, this time directly in reference to our country’s marijuana legislation falling short by a 2% margin last year.Here We Are Still is another assault to the senses.
Read More...
Swerve City - Single Review: Moving Pictures
23 May 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
If the name of Swerve City sounds familiar to you, you’re probably right in thinking that yes, it is in fact borrowed from a Deftones song. You might also recognize some of the line-up of Swerve City that were formally of/currently in bands like Fire at Will, Saints of Taboo and Armed in Advance (or for those that can remember way back, AKA, Stitches) Having just had the pleasure of reviewing Swerve City’s recent third single, Moving Pictures, I can tell listeners are in for a treat, especially if you’re a fan of alternative rock, metal undertones and pop sensibilities.
Read More...
East York - Single Review: Damned Anthem
29 Mar 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
East York are back with their third single, Damned Anthem. With two singles firmly under belt, East York continue to go from strength to strength with their creativity and musicality.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kerry Monaghan

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem