20 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Solo Ono - Single Review: Domesticated

13 Oct 2021 // A review by Kerry Monaghan

Solo Ono are one of those bands that has been kicking about since 2011, yet still feel like a hidden secret.

Over the years they have released singles, a full-length self-titled album and a handful of EP’s. Domesticated is their latest single, from their upcoming EP, Lavender.

Straight away, the intro has that great toe-tapping indie vibe and you can definitely hear those 80’s/90’s influences. It’s sharp and clean.

As always, I really like vocalist Frank Eggleton’s tone. His style fits the mould of their sound perfectly.

Musically, Domesticated is solid and I dig it lyrically too. It speaks of saying nothing in the moment even though we really should. In times like this I think it really is fitting.

Well done guys. Another solid effort.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Solo Ono

Solo Ono are a Poneke/Newtown trio (Frank Eggleton, Birgit Bachler and Jordan Stewart) that shares members with bands such as TidalRave, Once You Know and Lazerpuss. They play garage rock influenced by the dreams of the 80's and 90's indie bands and the bland cynicism of 00's garage.

The band has supported The Chills, She’s So Rad and played at last year’s Newtown Band Crawl.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Solo Ono

Releases

Now We Know Who To Blame
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Rogue Planet
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Solo Ono
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Space Monster
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kerry Monaghan

TOOMS - Single Review: Dead Birds
04 Aug 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
TOOMS is possible the most unique two piece I have recently had the pleasure of reviewing. With a nebulous genre that seems to fit where things aren’t supposed to fit, I like it a lot and so should you.
Read More...
Lakius - Single/Video Review: Here We Are Still
05 Jul 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Post-Industrial Metal duo Lakius have another explosive single, this time directly in reference to our country’s marijuana legislation falling short by a 2% margin last year.Here We Are Still is another assault to the senses.
Read More...
Swerve City - Single Review: Moving Pictures
23 May 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
If the name of Swerve City sounds familiar to you, you’re probably right in thinking that yes, it is in fact borrowed from a Deftones song. You might also recognize some of the line-up of Swerve City that were formally of/currently in bands like Fire at Will, Saints of Taboo and Armed in Advance (or for those that can remember way back, AKA, Stitches) Having just had the pleasure of reviewing Swerve City’s recent third single, Moving Pictures, I can tell listeners are in for a treat, especially if you’re a fan of alternative rock, metal undertones and pop sensibilities.
Read More...
East York - Single Review: Damned Anthem
29 Mar 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
East York are back with their third single, Damned Anthem. With two singles firmly under belt, East York continue to go from strength to strength with their creativity and musicality.
Read More...
Scorn Of Creation - Album Review: Annihilation Cult
11 Mar 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Following the success of their debut album released in 2018, Scorn of Creation are back with another explosive piece of their unforgettable doom death metal with an edge, Annihilation Cult. With ten tracks full of creativity, guttural screams and intensity there is no mistaking the high energy chaos that descends upon your ears and sends you into oblivion.
Read More...
Etheran - EP Review: Doppelganger
26 Jan 2021 // by Kerry Monaghan
Etheran is a funky metal rock hybrid hailing from Christchurch. Formed in 2016, they officially started touring in 2018 and this is their first EP, released at the beginning of the month.
Read More...
Hateseeker - Album Review: Let's Talk About Death
13 Dec 2020 // by Kerry Monaghan
Formed in 2013 in New Plymouth, Hateseeker is a hybrid punk rock metal outfit with a twist. While they have been described as sounding a bit like Motorhead and The Ramones they are uniquely their own and bring their versions of hard and heavy riffs with a relentless energy.
Read More...
East York - Single Review: Outsiders
08 Nov 2020 // by Kerry Monaghan
Comprised of three Kiwis, Zane Rosanoski (drums) Tarquin Keys (vocals) Daz Coppins (guitar), and a Canadian, Eric Boucher (bass). Formed in Melbourne during pandemic times comes the Rock quartet, East York.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kerry Monaghan

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem