20 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Darryn Harkness - Album Review: Rare Grooves And Tone Research Volume 1

13 Oct 2021 // A review by Roger Bowie
I met Darryn Harkness a few weeks ago when he supported Andrew Fagan in a little gig in a little bar called The St Heliers Bay Pigeon Racing Club. Yes.


Well that little encounter has set me off on a journey of discovery about one of Auckland’s more prolific groove merchants hiding out in a little Queen St studio and just making music. Lots of it. From a host of projects. Including but not limited to the Institute of Telepathic Research which no doubt spawned the Afro beat funk New Telepathics. Or scared the shit out of the ceiling and woke up the Loud Ghosts. Or piled heaps of Laoganma on top of King Ketchup. And on and on From Scratch to Serafin to the artwork of the Hallelujah Picassos.

I had a very fine chat with Darryn just the other day which you can see as a companion piece to this little exposé in my interview series, 'It’s a Wrap with Roger' here.

And now Darryn Harkness has released the first of what will be three albums from songs from his vaults, and for almost the first time, under his very own name. Revealing himself through his history. First up is Rare Grooves And Tone Research Volume 1, which contains 10 more recent tracks before we get Volumes 2 & 3 (I presume he will title them thus, but you never know), which go back to earlier decades.

What sort of music is this? Well it’s about the groove, ‘innit, it’s all about the groove. Driving percussive rhythm, chanting vocals (unless not), bubbling space travels, harsh saxophone riffs, soft guitars. New wave African funk, 90's electronica, a little Germanic craft at work, a halfway house; a talking heads cacophony and commotion of groove, gentle groove, galloping groove, garrulous groove. Not to mention childhood influences such as Sun Ra, Ornette Coleman and Captain Beefheart. Seriously.

Devil in Her Hand is like Delaney Davidson’s haunted blues looped into an 80’s Connie Plank groove.

Ballad of a Bad Brother is not about his brother; Solar Research is definitely about time travel; Get What You Want defines the musical journey, just go with the notion and what feels right and feel what’s right.

It’s not commercial, it’s not pop, apart from the parts that are. Darryn Harkness is not about big name success or recognition. Darryn Harkness is about friendship and funk and just letting go.

Darryn Harkness has opened for Muse, has always pushed boundaries, and has squatted in London (which is not the same as shitting); has always been a big fan of Fela Kuti, has played with his (Kuti’s) guitar player, and lived in Weimar Germany (but not before the war).

Make sure you listen to his music before he dies. He doesn’t think you will. Prove him wrong. He’d like that. He’d think that groovy.

And if you can’t manage that, watch out for him playing live. He might just tour some of this music. Maybe with a band. Maybe not. It would be the same as listening to him before he dies. Just as groovy.

NB My rating is 3.5 stars.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Darryn Harkness

Song writer, producer and multi-instrumentalist, Darryn's previous bands include Braintree, Spacesuit, Serafin and Dead Flowers (bass). Current bands include Loud Ghost, New Telepathics, King Ketchup, Andrew Fagan band, Halleujah Picassos and From Scratch.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Darryn Harkness

Releases

There are no releases to display for Darryn Harkness.

Other Reviews By Roger Bowie

Stewart Allan - Album Review: 9 Rooms
18 Oct 2021 // by Roger Bowie
Oh my goodness, how many more hidden talents do we have in this lockdown land? Stewart Allan has been a musician for over 20 years and first made a name for himself in a forest in Poland before the wall came down.
Read More...
The Jesse Wilde Band - Album Review: Headin' South
12 Oct 2021 // by Roger Bowie
With a name like Jesse Wilde you’d be sure he must be an outlaw. Especially when he looks a lot like Duane Allman in his cover photo.
Read More...
Reb Fountain - Album Review: Iris
01 Oct 2021 // by Roger Bowie
Psyche emerges from an opening string sequence which evokes a western movie soundtrack before simplifying to a naked piano behind a barrage of poetry and sailing under a vast star….”who are we in this life?
Read More...
Kendall Elise - Album Review: Let The Night In
26 Aug 2021 // by Roger Bowie
The new album from Kendall Elise is out today. It’s called Let The Night In, and once again Kendall recorded at Roundhead.
Read More...
Kerryn Fields - Album Review: Water
19 Aug 2021 // by Roger Bowie
At last, some 2 ½ years after seeing her for the first time and hearing some new songs, Kerryn Field’s sophomore album, Water hit my inbox (thanks Kerryn) and is now firmly ensconced in my hard drive. Now I can listen to the whole collection, and from the opening unaccompanied courageously operatic shrill, Atlantis emerges… we’ve heard this song before, the one which pays homage to Rust Never Sleeps and Pocahontas and the death wish which surges in response to the way Kerryn’s partner loves that song.
Read More...
Gig Review: Graeme James @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/08/2021
15 Aug 2021 // by Roger Bowie
On a cool spring evening (spring always started in August where I grew up, down south) the Tuning Fork is nicely staged with a clutch of instruments neatly arranged in anticipation. The modest crowd bunches up to form an intimate cluster and a familiar face takes the stage in the form of Chris/Albi without the Wolves, or at least half of them because the willowy, billowy puppet-like figure of Pascal Roggen also joins him on half a dozen instruments more commonly known as the violin.
Read More...
Gig Review: The After @ Anthology, Auckland - 12/08/2021
14 Aug 2021 // by Roger Bowie
It’s a year and a bit on and here we are again at Anthology for a night of rock curated by Andrew Featherstone and featuring his band The After. Last year we were left a bit muddled about promises of things to come and whether it would be the hereafter, but no, it’s more like an AfterFest.
Read More...
Gig Review: Andrew Fagan and the Person @ Pigeon Racing Club, St Heliers Bay - 31/07/2021
01 Aug 2021 // by Roger Bowie
Down on the St Heliers strip, just a stone’s throw away from the Village Hall captured in the late 70's by the punk rockers, there sits a little hole-in-the-wall bar which is also the HQ for the St Heliers Bay Pigeon Racing Club. Pigeon Racing is an ancient sport which carries on to this day.
Read More...
View All Articles By Roger Bowie

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem