5 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Downfall of Humanity - EP Review: Deceit

10 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

It is not often that a band can say they have had the same line-up for more than 10 years, but Auckland metal act Downfall of Humanity can claim just that. Daniel Carleton (lead vocals), Alex Carleton (guitars, backing vocals), Bryce Patten (guitars, backing vocals), Ben Pegman (bass) and Ben Bakker (drums) have a reputation for always delivering the goods, and I count myself lucky to have caught them a few times in the last year. Musically the guys are very heavy, with elements of Killswitch Engage and Trivium in particular, while in Daniel Carleton they have an extraordinary singer who can come out with wonderfully melodic baritone or can turn on the gruffness with ease.

Having a singer who can perform in different styles, often within the same song, it invites the rest of the band to do the same, so while the common denominator is heaviness, they move through a myriad of styles, with everyone pursuing their own musical thread, weaving them into something special. This EP has four songs on the digital version, with six on the CD, but I only have the digital version to review so cannot comment on the others. The EP kicks off with the title cut, and straight away we hear the complexity of the band as intricate guitar lines become staccato, bass and drums combine to power the music along, and Daniel is throwing everything into it. There is so much complexity in this, with an incredible arrangement so that if one wants to concentrate on just one of the musical threads there is a lot to be gained. The person keeping it tight is bassist Ben Pegman, often maintaining the melody while everyone else hits off at tangents (there are some superb drum fills as well). This mix of gruffness and melody is taken even further in the next song, Litany of Hate, which features Isaac Drakeley of Pale Flag. While Daniel switches his vocals around, Isaac is in there laying down the heavy bottom end which takes this song to a different level. The guys say this is possibly the heaviest postmodern number they have written, and it certainly crunches like a good ‘un. Let us hope for some joint shows in the future as having these two singers vying for control is superb.

One More Lie is typical Downfall of Humanity, heavily melodic with complex riffing (imagine Savatage style melodies without the keyboards), and both guitarists also taking the opportunity to provide loads of widdly widdly. It is a song of sections, with repeated themes throughout, and is the most epic of the four. Having it placed straight after Litany of Hate works incredibly well as there is a substantial contrast between the two. We end with Voices, which is much slower and dramatically heavy which in the verse is far more basic with plenty of space within the arrangement. Yet it builds, with the drums being an integral part of the process, and by the time the double kick drum is making its impression it has stopped again. Yet again the bass keeps this all linked together, with guitars often tied in with the drums for maximum impact.

This EP has been way too long coming, as it has been five years since the debut album, but let’s hope there is more to come soon as this is great metal from a band who deliver onstage time and again.

Watch Deceit Official Video Here

Pre-Save Deceit EP Here

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Downfall of Humanity

Combining the raw power of meatiness, heaviness and brutality with the richness of melody and harmony, Downfall Of Humanity strive to get their audience headbanging AND humming to their tunes. Watch out for the occasional cheesy bit of on-stage antics... and prepare to sample some tasty heavy metal from the depths of West Auckland.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Downfall of Humanity

Releases

Deceit
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Xile @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 01/10/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So, it is back out on K Road again for another gig, but strangely enough I am sure this is the first time I have been at Whammy Bar in more than a year, and tonight it is for Xile’s album release show. It shows just what strange times we have been living in as I Am Your God has been out for a couple of years, but this was the first opportunity for them to get out and play, so they were making the most of it.
Read More...
Album Review: Dead Beat Boys
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I’ve always had a soft spot for punk, ever since it exploded in the UK and my dad told me he would kick me out if he ever found any of that music in my collection. I was just 14 when the Pistols were due to play in the next town over (they were banned instead), and it was the most exciting thing to happen in the local music scene until 1980 when Genesis kicked off their national tour with two dates in Paignton.
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: Temporary Insanity
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was very impressed with the last single I heard of Gabriel’s, 2021’s Lights Burn Low, so when I asked to review this, I was looking forward to it. As I noticed last time, this is full of class with very high production, and does not sound like the performance of a musician who has yet to release his debut EP (out soon).
Read More...
Gig Review: Investigator @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 30/09/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch for another night of rock ‘n’ roll. I have reviewed Investigator quite a lot and saw Crystalator support them the last time I saw them at the Cupid, but tonight the band opening was new to me, Glasshouse Keepers.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Sink or Swim
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Just the opening few bars of their new single lets the listener know that Dead Favours are back, and yet again they mean business. Charlie sets up an intricate backbeat, Kyle and Jared have their guitars in sync, and at the heart of it all is a filthy bassline with Alex providing melodies and countermelodies, so one is brought into the music long before Jared even starts singing!
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: I Talk Too Much
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Auckland trio Imposter Syndrome, which is based strongly on a riffed acoustic guitar (the sound of which is superb, congrats whoever engineered this), with vocals over the top. Due to its nature this has plenty of space within the arrangements as even when additional instruments are added they are sparse, so the concentration is always on the voice and the guitar.
Read More...
Old Salts - EP Review: Stories Told by the Sea
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Alt rockers Old Salts hail from the shores of Bream Bay, Northland, and features John Buckle (lead vocals, guitar) Scott Brown (lead guitar, BV) Marcus Jones (bass, BV), and Lucas Hargreaves (drums, BV). This four-track EP contains three previously released singles plus the new one, Casual Smoker, which they describe as being reminiscent of Barry Manilow meets RHCP.
Read More...
BO And the Constrictors - EP Review: Love
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
These guys are new to me, and when I checked them out, I realised they are from Dunedin, which is why I have not come across them yet on the Auckland circuit, but I do hope they can make it up here at some point as these three songs are a nice slice of rock, and they are doing something quite different with their sound. Named after lead singer/guitarist Boaz Anema, the band also comprises Dean Armitage (bass, backing vocals), Jacob Rutherford (slide guitar) and Callan Carne (drums).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem