19 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Downfall of Humanity - EP Review: Deceit

10 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

It is not often that a band can say they have had the same line-up for more than 10 years, but Auckland metal act Downfall of Humanity can claim just that. Daniel Carleton (lead vocals), Alex Carleton (guitars, backing vocals), Bryce Patten (guitars, backing vocals), Ben Pegman (bass) and Ben Bakker (drums) have a reputation for always delivering the goods, and I count myself lucky to have caught them a few times in the last year. Musically the guys are very heavy, with elements of Killswitch Engage and Trivium in particular, while in Daniel Carleton they have an extraordinary singer who can come out with wonderfully melodic baritone or can turn on the gruffness with ease.

Having a singer who can perform in different styles, often within the same song, it invites the rest of the band to do the same, so while the common denominator is heaviness, they move through a myriad of styles, with everyone pursuing their own musical thread, weaving them into something special. This EP has four songs on the digital version, with six on the CD, but I only have the digital version to review so cannot comment on the others. The EP kicks off with the title cut, and straight away we hear the complexity of the band as intricate guitar lines become staccato, bass and drums combine to power the music along, and Daniel is throwing everything into it. There is so much complexity in this, with an incredible arrangement so that if one wants to concentrate on just one of the musical threads there is a lot to be gained. The person keeping it tight is bassist Ben Pegman, often maintaining the melody while everyone else hits off at tangents (there are some superb drum fills as well). This mix of gruffness and melody is taken even further in the next song, Litany of Hate, which features Isaac Drakeley of Pale Flag. While Daniel switches his vocals around, Isaac is in there laying down the heavy bottom end which takes this song to a different level. The guys say this is possibly the heaviest postmodern number they have written, and it certainly crunches like a good ‘un. Let us hope for some joint shows in the future as having these two singers vying for control is superb.

One More Lie is typical Downfall of Humanity, heavily melodic with complex riffing (imagine Savatage style melodies without the keyboards), and both guitarists also taking the opportunity to provide loads of widdly widdly. It is a song of sections, with repeated themes throughout, and is the most epic of the four. Having it placed straight after Litany of Hate works incredibly well as there is a substantial contrast between the two. We end with Voices, which is much slower and dramatically heavy which in the verse is far more basic with plenty of space within the arrangement. Yet it builds, with the drums being an integral part of the process, and by the time the double kick drum is making its impression it has stopped again. Yet again the bass keeps this all linked together, with guitars often tied in with the drums for maximum impact.

This EP has been way too long coming, as it has been five years since the debut album, but let’s hope there is more to come soon as this is great metal from a band who deliver onstage time and again.

Watch Deceit Official Video Here

Pre-Save Deceit EP Here

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Downfall of Humanity

Combining the raw power of meatiness, heaviness and brutality with the richness of melody and harmony, Downfall Of Humanity strive to get their audience headbanging AND humming to their tunes. Watch out for the occasional cheesy bit of on-stage antics... and prepare to sample some tasty heavy metal from the depths of West Auckland.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Downfall of Humanity

Releases

Deceit
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
Gig Review: In The Shallows @ Spirit Festival - 05/05/2022
08 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I left work a little early on Thursday, and then fought my way from South Auckland, West to Kumeu Showgrounds, where Spirit Festival was taking place. In many ways this is a sister festival to Earthbeat which I attended last year in that it is very much for the alternative culture movement, with lots of stalls and a wonderful vibe.
Read More...
Gig Review: Imperial Slave @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 07/05/2022
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
And so, it came to pass I was back in Dead Witch for the second consecutive night, and my third gig in as many days, which really shows how the scene is ramping back up again under the orange settings. We have all been deprived of live music for so long, and bands are now dipping their toes back in the water while others are resetting dates which previously had been cancelled.
Read More...
Pull Down The Sun - Gig Review: Aotearoa Prog Alliance Tour @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 06/05/22
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This was the first night of the Aotearoa Prog Alliance tour, which is a showcase of progressive rock/metal over 9 shows in May, featuring three of Aotearoa's leading progressive rock/metal bands - Pull Down the Sun (Whanganui), Elidi (Christchurch), Claemus (Wellington) plus a local support at each stop. First up was Claemus, or at least a close approximation, as due to the wonderful lurgy which is COVID, plus a family commitment, the band was down to a duo of Taylor and Dan.
Read More...
Bleeding Afterglow - Album Review: Find Your Taboo
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back in 2004 guitarist Sharne Scarborough was looking for a new rhythm section for Just One Fix, and he asked Ant Ward and Gaylene ‘G-Force’ to join. Although the bassist and drummer had bumped into each other on the circuit they were not really friends, and G actually complained to Sharne at one point that she was not sure if she could handle Ant’s persistent innuendos.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Redwood St. Massive
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It’s not often that a song can take me straight back more than 40 years on the first time of hearing, only to reinforce that with repeated plays, but that is exactly what happened with this angry trio from Blenheim. This is stripped back music which has a great deal in common with the post punk Oi!
Read More...
Saint Mercury - Single Review: Ominous Warning (Ft. Shooless)
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Saint Mercury is the artist name for electronic producer Mark Linton who doesn’t see himself being at home in any particular genre but is more of a shapeshifter and on hearing this track one can understand why. Ominous Warning is his debut single, and he has given himself enough room to move around as it is more than five minutes in length.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem