20 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Downfall of Humanity - EP Review: Deceit

10 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

It is not often that a band can say they have had the same line-up for more than 10 years, but Auckland metal act Downfall of Humanity can claim just that. Daniel Carleton (lead vocals), Alex Carleton (guitars, backing vocals), Bryce Patten (guitars, backing vocals), Ben Pegman (bass) and Ben Bakker (drums) have a reputation for always delivering the goods, and I count myself lucky to have caught them a few times in the last year. Musically the guys are very heavy, with elements of Killswitch Engage and Trivium in particular, while in Daniel Carleton they have an extraordinary singer who can come out with wonderfully melodic baritone or can turn on the gruffness with ease.

Having a singer who can perform in different styles, often within the same song, it invites the rest of the band to do the same, so while the common denominator is heaviness, they move through a myriad of styles, with everyone pursuing their own musical thread, weaving them into something special. This EP has four songs on the digital version, with six on the CD, but I only have the digital version to review so cannot comment on the others. The EP kicks off with the title cut, and straight away we hear the complexity of the band as intricate guitar lines become staccato, bass and drums combine to power the music along, and Daniel is throwing everything into it. There is so much complexity in this, with an incredible arrangement so that if one wants to concentrate on just one of the musical threads there is a lot to be gained. The person keeping it tight is bassist Ben Pegman, often maintaining the melody while everyone else hits off at tangents (there are some superb drum fills as well). This mix of gruffness and melody is taken even further in the next song, Litany of Hate, which features Isaac Drakeley of Pale Flag. While Daniel switches his vocals around, Isaac is in there laying down the heavy bottom end which takes this song to a different level. The guys say this is possibly the heaviest postmodern number they have written, and it certainly crunches like a good ‘un. Let us hope for some joint shows in the future as having these two singers vying for control is superb.

One More Lie is typical Downfall of Humanity, heavily melodic with complex riffing (imagine Savatage style melodies without the keyboards), and both guitarists also taking the opportunity to provide loads of widdly widdly. It is a song of sections, with repeated themes throughout, and is the most epic of the four. Having it placed straight after Litany of Hate works incredibly well as there is a substantial contrast between the two. We end with Voices, which is much slower and dramatically heavy which in the verse is far more basic with plenty of space within the arrangement. Yet it builds, with the drums being an integral part of the process, and by the time the double kick drum is making its impression it has stopped again. Yet again the bass keeps this all linked together, with guitars often tied in with the drums for maximum impact.

This EP has been way too long coming, as it has been five years since the debut album, but let’s hope there is more to come soon as this is great metal from a band who deliver onstage time and again.

Watch Deceit Official Video Here

Pre-Save Deceit EP Here

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Downfall of Humanity

Combining the raw power of meatiness, heaviness and brutality with the richness of melody and harmony, Downfall Of Humanity strive to get their audience headbanging AND humming to their tunes. Watch out for the occasional cheesy bit of on-stage antics... and prepare to sample some tasty heavy metal from the depths of West Auckland.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Downfall of Humanity

Releases

There are no releases to display for Downfall of Humanity.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Eurenza - EP Review: Good Luck... You're Gonna Need It
19 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Eurenza were originally formed seven years ago as Timeless, but eventually decided to go with a more uncommon name, and now have delivered their first five-track EP. Interestingly, much of this was recorded some time ago in preparation for an album, but they instead decided to go with the strongest tracks instead and cut it back.
Read More...
Sam Bartells - Single Review: Bring You Down
17 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Sam Bartells is back with his new single Bring You Down, which finds him taking quite a different approach to Where We'll Go, which also featured Mema Wilda. Whereas he normally sits quite happily within alt country, here we see him using that as a base and then moving in a much rockier direction.
Read More...
Jenny Mitchell - Single Review: Trouble Finds A Girl with Tami Neilson
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The Auckland Folk Festival earlier this year was an embarrassment of riches, with so many great Kiwi artists playing multiple sets, and I spent the weekend trying to soak in as much as possible. There is no doubt that one of the highlights was Jenny Mitchell, who with her sisters Nicola and Maegan, provided warm and emotional country music in a style which seemed very much at odds with her age.
Read More...
Bianca Rae - Single Review: Flower
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when the music world is very small indeed, which is why earlier this year I found myself at The Portland Public House in Auckland to see a singer-songwriter, having been put in contact by a fellow reviewer who is in the UK. Even though Bianca Rae was the support, and everything was running late, she refused to let anything get to her, and I thoroughly enjoyed her set.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Green Cones
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Following on from the single Pay, which I reviewed a few months back, Blue River Baby (BRBB) are back with the second single from their second album, which is due next year. We find them moving much more into a dub style, with Ree Thomson’s wonderfully clear vocals very much the centre of attention.
Read More...
The Rocky Bay Midnights - Album Review: Songs About People We Know
10 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The Rocky Bay Midnights are a Waiheke Island-based group who first started some three years ago when Meredith Wilkie (vocals, percussion) and Kyla Dyresen (keyboard/piano) were both independently looking for musicians, to work with, and decided to form a band together. It took quite a while for them to settle on the current line-up of Simon McDowell (drums), Dione Denize (bass) and Julion Wright (guitar, saxophone) and now they have just released their debut album.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: Obsessed
07 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although Iveta & Simone have been around for a few years, this single is the first time I have come across them. When it commenced, I felt we were in for some sort of electronic dance music, but I soon realized that in many ways they remind me much more of the Eighties band Yazoo.
Read More...
Shihad - Album Review: Old Gods
07 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt that Shihad are the Kiwi rock band who should have broken America 20 years ago, and if it wasn’t for a series of unfortunate events such as the attack on the Twin Towers, which caused the band to change their name (Shihad being too close to Jihad, but while Pacifier may have seemed a good idea on paper, it wasn’t and they eventually switched back), or accidently upsetting virtually every record label at a showcase gig, then they would have been. The first time I saw Shihad was at Western Springs opening for AC/DC, and there is no doubt that the guys were blown away by the reaction, as it seemed that although everyone was there for the main event, they were all diehard Shihad fans as well, singing along to every song.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem