19 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Rocky Bay Midnights - Album Review: Songs About People We Know

10 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

The Rocky Bay Midnights are a Waiheke Island-based group who first started some three years ago when Meredith Wilkie (vocals, percussion) and Kyla Dyresen (keyboard/piano) were both independently looking for musicians, to work with, and decided to form a band together. It took quite a while for them to settle on the current line-up of Simon McDowell (drums), Dione Denize (bass) and Julion Wright (guitar, saxophone) and now they have just released their debut album. Meredith and Kyla were the ones who formed the band, and they are at the height of everything which is going on, with Kyla’s piano often underpinning the music, while Meredith’s vocals are broad, rich and full of passion.

Although musically they are quite different, I found that I was reminded me of a few other female-fronted bands such as Mudbelly and Green, as in all cases the bands have wonderful musicians and songs, yet the attention is taken by the person behind the microphone, such is the power and force of their performance. One aspect I really like about these guys is the way that in Julion they have someone who can perform on two very different instruments, and when he takes on the sax he has a wonderfully wailful tone which fits in perfectly with the vocals.

This does not come across as a debut album as there is a real breadth of material, and whether they are playing classic soul, RnB or more into rock, they are perfectly at home. Light My Candle is so laid back and luxurious that it almost feels like it is falling over, while Scaredy Cat belongs firmly in a blue club. They have approached the recording of the songs with the live environment in mind, which means that we often do not have a guitar as the sax is deemed to be more important and while Julion can double track in the studio he can’t do it on stage. This means that there is a deliberate hole in the sound, allowing Simon and Dione to provide the force and platform for Kyla who has a wonderful approach to piano. It is obvious that Meredith and Kyla work on the material in such a way that if there were no other players they could work as a duo, but the other guys add additional colours and tones to make this what it is.

From beginning to end, this has real depth, and the result is an album which can be played repeatedly with a smile on the listener’s face throughout.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The Rocky Bay Midnights

What happens when two dedicated songwriters coincidentally create almost identical Facebook posts, each seeking a band?

In 2018, Kyla and Meredith met via two nearly identical posts posted eleven days apart on a Waiheke Musicians Facebook group. It didn't take long for them to realise that something special happened when they wrote together - and thus The Rocky Bay Midnights were born!

The Rocky Bay Midnights (The RBMs) are a group of experienced musicians from Waiheke Island who love to make music with soul. An all-original soul-rock-jazz-psychedlic extravaganza, their songs span a range of emotion as well as sound. Their debut album, Songs About People We Know, is a collection of songs that feature histories, lessons, and experiences of the writers - that listeners can relate to. Their songs are sometimes comedic (Light My Candle), sometimes painful (You Must Stay, about a phone call from from a suicidal loved one), and occasionally a bit staunch and fearless (Leave Him, about a best friend in an abusive relationship). Their songs are all “true stories” and have a fierce yet vulnerable, emotionally raw but simultaneously polished, quality to them.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Rocky Bay Midnights

Releases

Songs About People We Know
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
Gig Review: In The Shallows @ Spirit Festival - 05/05/2022
08 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I left work a little early on Thursday, and then fought my way from South Auckland, West to Kumeu Showgrounds, where Spirit Festival was taking place. In many ways this is a sister festival to Earthbeat which I attended last year in that it is very much for the alternative culture movement, with lots of stalls and a wonderful vibe.
Read More...
Gig Review: Imperial Slave @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 07/05/2022
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
And so, it came to pass I was back in Dead Witch for the second consecutive night, and my third gig in as many days, which really shows how the scene is ramping back up again under the orange settings. We have all been deprived of live music for so long, and bands are now dipping their toes back in the water while others are resetting dates which previously had been cancelled.
Read More...
Pull Down The Sun - Gig Review: Aotearoa Prog Alliance Tour @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 06/05/22
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This was the first night of the Aotearoa Prog Alliance tour, which is a showcase of progressive rock/metal over 9 shows in May, featuring three of Aotearoa's leading progressive rock/metal bands - Pull Down the Sun (Whanganui), Elidi (Christchurch), Claemus (Wellington) plus a local support at each stop. First up was Claemus, or at least a close approximation, as due to the wonderful lurgy which is COVID, plus a family commitment, the band was down to a duo of Taylor and Dan.
Read More...
Bleeding Afterglow - Album Review: Find Your Taboo
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back in 2004 guitarist Sharne Scarborough was looking for a new rhythm section for Just One Fix, and he asked Ant Ward and Gaylene ‘G-Force’ to join. Although the bassist and drummer had bumped into each other on the circuit they were not really friends, and G actually complained to Sharne at one point that she was not sure if she could handle Ant’s persistent innuendos.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Redwood St. Massive
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It’s not often that a song can take me straight back more than 40 years on the first time of hearing, only to reinforce that with repeated plays, but that is exactly what happened with this angry trio from Blenheim. This is stripped back music which has a great deal in common with the post punk Oi!
Read More...
Saint Mercury - Single Review: Ominous Warning (Ft. Shooless)
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Saint Mercury is the artist name for electronic producer Mark Linton who doesn’t see himself being at home in any particular genre but is more of a shapeshifter and on hearing this track one can understand why. Ominous Warning is his debut single, and he has given himself enough room to move around as it is more than five minutes in length.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem