5 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Rocky Bay Midnights - Album Review: Songs About People We Know

10 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

The Rocky Bay Midnights are a Waiheke Island-based group who first started some three years ago when Meredith Wilkie (vocals, percussion) and Kyla Dyresen (keyboard/piano) were both independently looking for musicians, to work with, and decided to form a band together. It took quite a while for them to settle on the current line-up of Simon McDowell (drums), Dione Denize (bass) and Julion Wright (guitar, saxophone) and now they have just released their debut album. Meredith and Kyla were the ones who formed the band, and they are at the height of everything which is going on, with Kyla’s piano often underpinning the music, while Meredith’s vocals are broad, rich and full of passion.

Although musically they are quite different, I found that I was reminded me of a few other female-fronted bands such as Mudbelly and Green, as in all cases the bands have wonderful musicians and songs, yet the attention is taken by the person behind the microphone, such is the power and force of their performance. One aspect I really like about these guys is the way that in Julion they have someone who can perform on two very different instruments, and when he takes on the sax he has a wonderfully wailful tone which fits in perfectly with the vocals.

This does not come across as a debut album as there is a real breadth of material, and whether they are playing classic soul, RnB or more into rock, they are perfectly at home. Light My Candle is so laid back and luxurious that it almost feels like it is falling over, while Scaredy Cat belongs firmly in a blue club. They have approached the recording of the songs with the live environment in mind, which means that we often do not have a guitar as the sax is deemed to be more important and while Julion can double track in the studio he can’t do it on stage. This means that there is a deliberate hole in the sound, allowing Simon and Dione to provide the force and platform for Kyla who has a wonderful approach to piano. It is obvious that Meredith and Kyla work on the material in such a way that if there were no other players they could work as a duo, but the other guys add additional colours and tones to make this what it is.

From beginning to end, this has real depth, and the result is an album which can be played repeatedly with a smile on the listener’s face throughout.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The Rocky Bay Midnights

What happens when two dedicated songwriters coincidentally create almost identical Facebook posts, each seeking a band?

In 2018, Kyla and Meredith met via two nearly identical posts posted eleven days apart on a Waiheke Musicians Facebook group. It didn't take long for them to realise that something special happened when they wrote together - and thus The Rocky Bay Midnights were born!

The Rocky Bay Midnights (The RBMs) are a group of experienced musicians from Waiheke Island who love to make music with soul. An all-original soul-rock-jazz-psychedlic extravaganza, their songs span a range of emotion as well as sound. Their debut album, Songs About People We Know, is a collection of songs that feature histories, lessons, and experiences of the writers - that listeners can relate to. Their songs are sometimes comedic (Light My Candle), sometimes painful (You Must Stay, about a phone call from from a suicidal loved one), and occasionally a bit staunch and fearless (Leave Him, about a best friend in an abusive relationship). Their songs are all “true stories” and have a fierce yet vulnerable, emotionally raw but simultaneously polished, quality to them.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Rocky Bay Midnights

Releases

Songs About People We Know
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Xile @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 01/10/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So, it is back out on K Road again for another gig, but strangely enough I am sure this is the first time I have been at Whammy Bar in more than a year, and tonight it is for Xile’s album release show. It shows just what strange times we have been living in as I Am Your God has been out for a couple of years, but this was the first opportunity for them to get out and play, so they were making the most of it.
Read More...
Album Review: Dead Beat Boys
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I’ve always had a soft spot for punk, ever since it exploded in the UK and my dad told me he would kick me out if he ever found any of that music in my collection. I was just 14 when the Pistols were due to play in the next town over (they were banned instead), and it was the most exciting thing to happen in the local music scene until 1980 when Genesis kicked off their national tour with two dates in Paignton.
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: Temporary Insanity
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was very impressed with the last single I heard of Gabriel’s, 2021’s Lights Burn Low, so when I asked to review this, I was looking forward to it. As I noticed last time, this is full of class with very high production, and does not sound like the performance of a musician who has yet to release his debut EP (out soon).
Read More...
Gig Review: Investigator @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 30/09/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch for another night of rock ‘n’ roll. I have reviewed Investigator quite a lot and saw Crystalator support them the last time I saw them at the Cupid, but tonight the band opening was new to me, Glasshouse Keepers.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Sink or Swim
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Just the opening few bars of their new single lets the listener know that Dead Favours are back, and yet again they mean business. Charlie sets up an intricate backbeat, Kyle and Jared have their guitars in sync, and at the heart of it all is a filthy bassline with Alex providing melodies and countermelodies, so one is brought into the music long before Jared even starts singing!
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: I Talk Too Much
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Auckland trio Imposter Syndrome, which is based strongly on a riffed acoustic guitar (the sound of which is superb, congrats whoever engineered this), with vocals over the top. Due to its nature this has plenty of space within the arrangements as even when additional instruments are added they are sparse, so the concentration is always on the voice and the guitar.
Read More...
Old Salts - EP Review: Stories Told by the Sea
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Alt rockers Old Salts hail from the shores of Bream Bay, Northland, and features John Buckle (lead vocals, guitar) Scott Brown (lead guitar, BV) Marcus Jones (bass, BV), and Lucas Hargreaves (drums, BV). This four-track EP contains three previously released singles plus the new one, Casual Smoker, which they describe as being reminiscent of Barry Manilow meets RHCP.
Read More...
BO And the Constrictors - EP Review: Love
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
These guys are new to me, and when I checked them out, I realised they are from Dunedin, which is why I have not come across them yet on the Auckland circuit, but I do hope they can make it up here at some point as these three songs are a nice slice of rock, and they are doing something quite different with their sound. Named after lead singer/guitarist Boaz Anema, the band also comprises Dean Armitage (bass, backing vocals), Jacob Rutherford (slide guitar) and Callan Carne (drums).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem