6 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Vera Ellen - Album Review: It's Your Birthday

07 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Vera Ellen (Girl Friday, Maple Syrup) is back in Wellington after some time in Los Angeles, where she wrote most of the material which can now be found on her debut for Flying Nun Records. Written over the space of a few years, the album captures a time in Vera’s early Twenties where she was going through extremes of emotions. The demos were recorded at the beginning of 2020 over a couple of days at Pyramid Club before Vera headed back to America, only for her to return a short while later. It was then that she added some more instrumentation, and is now sharing it with the world.

What really makes this album work is the feeling of innocence combined with a simple naivety, which together provide a strong sense of honesty. At times it feels like a stream of consciousness in that she seems almost to have picked up whatever instrument was closest to hand as she needed to express her feelings before the moment was passed. Each song is very different to the next, yet through them all is this feeling of independence, of perfectly formed melodies and creativity. The debut single from the album is YOU!, but pretty much every song on the album could have been lifted, and they would all suit the radio.

Some of the sounds are wonderfully dated, with The Language of Flowers coming across as mix of early 90’s alternative and late 60’s psychedelia, not only due to keyboard sounds being utilized but the whole tenor of the vocals, with superb harmonies. Vera likes playing with her voice, so it can have an edge here, or be breathy there, pure and clean in one place or playing with being offkey on another. There is a simplicity within each song, but the complexity comes through with the difference in arrangements and styles between them, so that when one song ends the next is awaited in eager anticipation as the only thing which is certain is that it will be different to what has just been played.

Independent, melodic, cultured, this is an alternative album which owes a great deal to the 90’s and 80’s with hints of the late 60’s yet is also incredibly up to date. The standout must be the compelling, and frightening Stuck w Me, which Vera recorded solo. There is so much pain in her vocals, which are accompanied just by a simple strummed guitar, and the lyrics cut deep. It sounds as if she was literally crying into the microphone, mascara running down her face, and is an incredibly powerful piece of art. It feels as if she has shared her soul with us, and that we are intruding on a very special moment indeed. This is a great album, and I am so looking forward to seeing her live.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Vera Ellen

Vera Ellen is a Wellington/Los Angeles based multi-instrumentalist and wildly prolific songwriter, who some may recognise from LA band Girl Friday (Hardly Art), or grungy NZ 4-piece Maple Syrup.

Vera Ellen is an expert when it comes to clear and concise songwriting; every note and beat is exactly the required dose. The artist’s Flying Nun debut, It’s Your Birthday, is stacked full of hooked-to-the-brim melodies, and cleverly guided by Vera’s clear, confident and relaxed vocal presence.

It’s Your Birthday, was written over the space of a few years. Crafting post-punk and noise elements into something slightly sweeter, the album chronicles the highs and lows of Vera’s early twenties. Each song hits some kind of unforgettable, yet relatable, touch stone in Vera’s life.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Vera Ellen

Releases

It's Your Birthday
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Songs No-One Should Hear
Year: 2020
Type: EP
World Emotion
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Beat Yr Name
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Xile @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 01/10/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So, it is back out on K Road again for another gig, but strangely enough I am sure this is the first time I have been at Whammy Bar in more than a year, and tonight it is for Xile’s album release show. It shows just what strange times we have been living in as I Am Your God has been out for a couple of years, but this was the first opportunity for them to get out and play, so they were making the most of it.
Read More...
Album Review: Dead Beat Boys
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I’ve always had a soft spot for punk, ever since it exploded in the UK and my dad told me he would kick me out if he ever found any of that music in my collection. I was just 14 when the Pistols were due to play in the next town over (they were banned instead), and it was the most exciting thing to happen in the local music scene until 1980 when Genesis kicked off their national tour with two dates in Paignton.
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: Temporary Insanity
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was very impressed with the last single I heard of Gabriel’s, 2021’s Lights Burn Low, so when I asked to review this, I was looking forward to it. As I noticed last time, this is full of class with very high production, and does not sound like the performance of a musician who has yet to release his debut EP (out soon).
Read More...
Gig Review: Investigator @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 30/09/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch for another night of rock ‘n’ roll. I have reviewed Investigator quite a lot and saw Crystalator support them the last time I saw them at the Cupid, but tonight the band opening was new to me, Glasshouse Keepers.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Sink or Swim
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Just the opening few bars of their new single lets the listener know that Dead Favours are back, and yet again they mean business. Charlie sets up an intricate backbeat, Kyle and Jared have their guitars in sync, and at the heart of it all is a filthy bassline with Alex providing melodies and countermelodies, so one is brought into the music long before Jared even starts singing!
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: I Talk Too Much
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Auckland trio Imposter Syndrome, which is based strongly on a riffed acoustic guitar (the sound of which is superb, congrats whoever engineered this), with vocals over the top. Due to its nature this has plenty of space within the arrangements as even when additional instruments are added they are sparse, so the concentration is always on the voice and the guitar.
Read More...
Old Salts - EP Review: Stories Told by the Sea
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Alt rockers Old Salts hail from the shores of Bream Bay, Northland, and features John Buckle (lead vocals, guitar) Scott Brown (lead guitar, BV) Marcus Jones (bass, BV), and Lucas Hargreaves (drums, BV). This four-track EP contains three previously released singles plus the new one, Casual Smoker, which they describe as being reminiscent of Barry Manilow meets RHCP.
Read More...
BO And the Constrictors - EP Review: Love
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
These guys are new to me, and when I checked them out, I realised they are from Dunedin, which is why I have not come across them yet on the Auckland circuit, but I do hope they can make it up here at some point as these three songs are a nice slice of rock, and they are doing something quite different with their sound. Named after lead singer/guitarist Boaz Anema, the band also comprises Dean Armitage (bass, backing vocals), Jacob Rutherford (slide guitar) and Callan Carne (drums).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem