25 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Vera Ellen - Album Review: It's Your Birthday

07 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Vera Ellen (Girl Friday, Maple Syrup) is back in Wellington after some time in Los Angeles, where she wrote most of the material which can now be found on her debut for Flying Nun Records. Written over the space of a few years, the album captures a time in Vera’s early Twenties where she was going through extremes of emotions. The demos were recorded at the beginning of 2020 over a couple of days at Pyramid Club before Vera headed back to America, only for her to return a short while later. It was then that she added some more instrumentation, and is now sharing it with the world.

What really makes this album work is the feeling of innocence combined with a simple naivety, which together provide a strong sense of honesty. At times it feels like a stream of consciousness in that she seems almost to have picked up whatever instrument was closest to hand as she needed to express her feelings before the moment was passed. Each song is very different to the next, yet through them all is this feeling of independence, of perfectly formed melodies and creativity. The debut single from the album is YOU!, but pretty much every song on the album could have been lifted, and they would all suit the radio.

Some of the sounds are wonderfully dated, with The Language of Flowers coming across as mix of early 90’s alternative and late 60’s psychedelia, not only due to keyboard sounds being utilized but the whole tenor of the vocals, with superb harmonies. Vera likes playing with her voice, so it can have an edge here, or be breathy there, pure and clean in one place or playing with being offkey on another. There is a simplicity within each song, but the complexity comes through with the difference in arrangements and styles between them, so that when one song ends the next is awaited in eager anticipation as the only thing which is certain is that it will be different to what has just been played.

Independent, melodic, cultured, this is an alternative album which owes a great deal to the 90’s and 80’s with hints of the late 60’s yet is also incredibly up to date. The standout must be the compelling, and frightening Stuck w Me, which Vera recorded solo. There is so much pain in her vocals, which are accompanied just by a simple strummed guitar, and the lyrics cut deep. It sounds as if she was literally crying into the microphone, mascara running down her face, and is an incredibly powerful piece of art. It feels as if she has shared her soul with us, and that we are intruding on a very special moment indeed. This is a great album, and I am so looking forward to seeing her live.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

There are no releases to display for Vera Ellen.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Claemus - Album Review: Daydream
21 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
When I heard that Hutt Valley band Claemus had released their debut album I was immediately intrigued, as I came across the single Hedonist a few months ago, and given the number of influences and styles they had managed to ram into 5 minutes what could they do with a full album? These guys have managed to secure support slots with bands as diverse as P.
Read More...
Kevin Posey - EP Review: The Story of Francis
21 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Oklahoma native Kevin Posey lives in Auckland these days, and throughout his musical career he has investigated different types and styles of music, and for this EP he has moved into yet another area, as what we have here is classical music that has been inspired by Halloween and psychological thrillers. Some, such as Fog Forest No.
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: I'm Ready
21 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is Jolandi Ford’s third single since moving to Aotearoa from her native South Africa, and right from the first note one can why she has already been making a dent in international Country music charts. Although her voice is lighter in some ways, with a nice twang, her approach is quite reminiscent to the more rock-based approach of the likes of Shania Twain.
Read More...
Eurenza - EP Review: Good Luck... You're Gonna Need It
19 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Eurenza were originally formed seven years ago as Timeless, but eventually decided to go with a more uncommon name, and now have delivered their first five-track EP. Interestingly, much of this was recorded some time ago in preparation for an album, but they instead decided to go with the strongest tracks instead and cut it back.
Read More...
Sam Bartells - Single Review: Bring You Down
17 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Sam Bartells is back with his new single Bring You Down, which finds him taking quite a different approach to Where We'll Go, which also featured Mema Wilda. Whereas he normally sits quite happily within alt country, here we see him using that as a base and then moving in a much rockier direction.
Read More...
Jenny Mitchell - Single Review: Trouble Finds A Girl with Tami Neilson
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The Auckland Folk Festival earlier this year was an embarrassment of riches, with so many great Kiwi artists playing multiple sets, and I spent the weekend trying to soak in as much as possible. There is no doubt that one of the highlights was Jenny Mitchell, who with her sisters Nicola and Maegan, provided warm and emotional country music in a style which seemed very much at odds with her age.
Read More...
Bianca Rae - Single Review: Flower
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when the music world is very small indeed, which is why earlier this year I found myself at The Portland Public House in Auckland to see a singer-songwriter, having been put in contact by a fellow reviewer who is in the UK. Even though Bianca Rae was the support, and everything was running late, she refused to let anything get to her, and I thoroughly enjoyed her set.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Green Cones
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Following on from the single Pay, which I reviewed a few months back, Blue River Baby (BRBB) are back with the second single from their second album, which is due next year. We find them moving much more into a dub style, with Ree Thomson’s wonderfully clear vocals very much the centre of attention.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem