18 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Finger Tight - Double Single Review: ineedsomespace vs. Polar Bears & Party Chairs

07 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

The other night I got a notification to say there was a new episode of The Distortion Transmission available on YouTube (subscribe to the Muzic.net.nz channel if you haven’t already), so I settled back to see who Will was interviewing this week. It turned out to be Sam 'Red' Rogers (vocals) and Jasher (bass) from Auckland band Finger Tight, but Red was completely different to the last time I saw him, so much so that I went off to check my review of Finger Tight when they supported Melanie as for a while I was quite confused and thought I had the wrong band in mind. You see, for those who have yet to experience this pop-punk band, we have a group of musicians who are incredibly tight, and then at the front there is this manic animal who will do whatever he can to get the crowd going. When I saw them, I described their music as pop punk with real balls (which was obviously appreciated as they have included it in the press release), but the recorded sound is often quite different to live, so what would this be like?

This double single starts with some turkeys (honest), and the sound of a dated video game, but that is soon swept away as Blink 182-influenced pop punk sweeps in as we kick into ineedsomespace. At just under four minutes this is a great summation of the band, as while they may musically not drop too far into metal, Red can step it up into hardcore style shouting, or singing perfectly in key as if he had not been a madman just before. The song also contains different sections, yet when we get to 2:44 it is an all on mosh with everyone bounding up and down. There is a lot going in the rhythm section of Jasher and James, who throw in lots of complexity yet keep it rooted, which then allows the twin guitars of Glenn and Jesse to mix it up.

Polar Bears & Party Chairs is simpler and more basic in many ways, and features James from the aforementioned Melanie. This is more like standard pop punk, with both Green Day and Blink 182 having an impact. That the two songs are so very different yet very related is definitely a strength, as is the way they veer more into metal than many bands playing in this genre. Certainly, they are heavier in the live environment, and it will be interesting to hear these songs when Auckland finally gets out of lockdown. I came away impressed on the night and feel exactly the same after hearing these two numbers. Finger Tight are definitely a band to keep an eye on.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Finger Tight

Finger Tight are a 5 piece outfit from West Auckland, that bring heavy themes (such as love loss, childhood trauma, and gravity) packaged in some relentlessly catchy hooks, riffs that are surprisingly technical, and beats that you can't help but air-drum along to. With a sound that's reminiscent of that one scene from American Pie, their genre ambiguity is best described as "not making up their mind between playing Pop-Punk, and something heavier."




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Finger Tight

Releases

There are no releases to display for Finger Tight.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Sam Bartells - Single Review: Bring You Down
17 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Sam Bartells is back with his new single Bring You Down, which finds him taking quite a different approach to Where We'll Go, which also featured Mema Wilda. Whereas he normally sits quite happily within alt country, here we see him using that as a base and then moving in a much rockier direction.
Read More...
Jenny Mitchell - Single Review: Trouble Finds A Girl with Tami Neilson
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The Auckland Folk Festival earlier this year was an embarrassment of riches, with so many great Kiwi artists playing multiple sets, and I spent the weekend trying to soak in as much as possible. There is no doubt that one of the highlights was Jenny Mitchell, who with her sisters Nicola and Maegan, provided warm and emotional country music in a style which seemed very much at odds with her age.
Read More...
Bianca Rae - Single Review: Flower
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when the music world is very small indeed, which is why earlier this year I found myself at The Portland Public House in Auckland to see a singer-songwriter, having been put in contact by a fellow reviewer who is in the UK. Even though Bianca Rae was the support, and everything was running late, she refused to let anything get to her, and I thoroughly enjoyed her set.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Green Cones
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Following on from the single Pay, which I reviewed a few months back, Blue River Baby (BRBB) are back with the second single from their second album, which is due next year. We find them moving much more into a dub style, with Ree Thomson’s wonderfully clear vocals very much the centre of attention.
Read More...
Downfall of Humanity - EP Review: Deceit
10 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often that a band can say they have had the same line-up for more than 10 years, but Auckland metal act Downfall of Humanity can claim just that. Daniel Carleton (lead vocals), Alex Carleton (guitars, backing vocals), Bryce Patten (guitars, backing vocals), Ben Pegman (bass) and Ben Bakker (drums) have a reputation for always delivering the goods, and I count myself lucky to have caught them a few times in the last year.
Read More...
The Rocky Bay Midnights - Album Review: Songs About People We Know
10 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The Rocky Bay Midnights are a Waiheke Island-based group who first started some three years ago when Meredith Wilkie (vocals, percussion) and Kyla Dyresen (keyboard/piano) were both independently looking for musicians, to work with, and decided to form a band together. It took quite a while for them to settle on the current line-up of Simon McDowell (drums), Dione Denize (bass) and Julion Wright (guitar, saxophone) and now they have just released their debut album.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: Obsessed
07 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although Iveta & Simone have been around for a few years, this single is the first time I have come across them. When it commenced, I felt we were in for some sort of electronic dance music, but I soon realized that in many ways they remind me much more of the Eighties band Yazoo.
Read More...
Shihad - Album Review: Old Gods
07 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt that Shihad are the Kiwi rock band who should have broken America 20 years ago, and if it wasn’t for a series of unfortunate events such as the attack on the Twin Towers, which caused the band to change their name (Shihad being too close to Jihad, but while Pacifier may have seemed a good idea on paper, it wasn’t and they eventually switched back), or accidently upsetting virtually every record label at a showcase gig, then they would have been. The first time I saw Shihad was at Western Springs opening for AC/DC, and there is no doubt that the guys were blown away by the reaction, as it seemed that although everyone was there for the main event, they were all diehard Shihad fans as well, singing along to every song.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem