19 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Finger Tight - Double Single Review: ineedsomespace vs. Polar Bears & Party Chairs

07 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

The other night I got a notification to say there was a new episode of The Distortion Transmission available on YouTube (subscribe to the Muzic.net.nz channel if you haven’t already), so I settled back to see who Will was interviewing this week. It turned out to be Sam 'Red' Rogers (vocals) and Jasher (bass) from Auckland band Finger Tight, but Red was completely different to the last time I saw him, so much so that I went off to check my review of Finger Tight when they supported Melanie as for a while I was quite confused and thought I had the wrong band in mind. You see, for those who have yet to experience this pop-punk band, we have a group of musicians who are incredibly tight, and then at the front there is this manic animal who will do whatever he can to get the crowd going. When I saw them, I described their music as pop punk with real balls (which was obviously appreciated as they have included it in the press release), but the recorded sound is often quite different to live, so what would this be like?

This double single starts with some turkeys (honest), and the sound of a dated video game, but that is soon swept away as Blink 182-influenced pop punk sweeps in as we kick into ineedsomespace. At just under four minutes this is a great summation of the band, as while they may musically not drop too far into metal, Red can step it up into hardcore style shouting, or singing perfectly in key as if he had not been a madman just before. The song also contains different sections, yet when we get to 2:44 it is an all on mosh with everyone bounding up and down. There is a lot going in the rhythm section of Jasher and James, who throw in lots of complexity yet keep it rooted, which then allows the twin guitars of Glenn and Jesse to mix it up.

Polar Bears & Party Chairs is simpler and more basic in many ways, and features James from the aforementioned Melanie. This is more like standard pop punk, with both Green Day and Blink 182 having an impact. That the two songs are so very different yet very related is definitely a strength, as is the way they veer more into metal than many bands playing in this genre. Certainly, they are heavier in the live environment, and it will be interesting to hear these songs when Auckland finally gets out of lockdown. I came away impressed on the night and feel exactly the same after hearing these two numbers. Finger Tight are definitely a band to keep an eye on.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Finger Tight

Finger Tight are a 5 piece outfit from West Auckland, that bring heavy themes (such as love loss, childhood trauma, and gravity) packaged in some relentlessly catchy hooks, riffs that are surprisingly technical, and beats that you can't help but air-drum along to. With a sound that's reminiscent of that one scene from American Pie, their genre ambiguity is best described as "not making up their mind between playing Pop-Punk, and something heavier."




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Finger Tight

Releases

There are no releases to display for Finger Tight.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
Gig Review: In The Shallows @ Spirit Festival - 05/05/2022
08 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I left work a little early on Thursday, and then fought my way from South Auckland, West to Kumeu Showgrounds, where Spirit Festival was taking place. In many ways this is a sister festival to Earthbeat which I attended last year in that it is very much for the alternative culture movement, with lots of stalls and a wonderful vibe.
Read More...
Gig Review: Imperial Slave @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 07/05/2022
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
And so, it came to pass I was back in Dead Witch for the second consecutive night, and my third gig in as many days, which really shows how the scene is ramping back up again under the orange settings. We have all been deprived of live music for so long, and bands are now dipping their toes back in the water while others are resetting dates which previously had been cancelled.
Read More...
Pull Down The Sun - Gig Review: Aotearoa Prog Alliance Tour @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 06/05/22
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This was the first night of the Aotearoa Prog Alliance tour, which is a showcase of progressive rock/metal over 9 shows in May, featuring three of Aotearoa's leading progressive rock/metal bands - Pull Down the Sun (Whanganui), Elidi (Christchurch), Claemus (Wellington) plus a local support at each stop. First up was Claemus, or at least a close approximation, as due to the wonderful lurgy which is COVID, plus a family commitment, the band was down to a duo of Taylor and Dan.
Read More...
Bleeding Afterglow - Album Review: Find Your Taboo
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back in 2004 guitarist Sharne Scarborough was looking for a new rhythm section for Just One Fix, and he asked Ant Ward and Gaylene ‘G-Force’ to join. Although the bassist and drummer had bumped into each other on the circuit they were not really friends, and G actually complained to Sharne at one point that she was not sure if she could handle Ant’s persistent innuendos.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Redwood St. Massive
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It’s not often that a song can take me straight back more than 40 years on the first time of hearing, only to reinforce that with repeated plays, but that is exactly what happened with this angry trio from Blenheim. This is stripped back music which has a great deal in common with the post punk Oi!
Read More...
Saint Mercury - Single Review: Ominous Warning (Ft. Shooless)
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Saint Mercury is the artist name for electronic producer Mark Linton who doesn’t see himself being at home in any particular genre but is more of a shapeshifter and on hearing this track one can understand why. Ominous Warning is his debut single, and he has given himself enough room to move around as it is more than five minutes in length.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem