1 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Finger Tight - Double Single Review: ineedsomespace vs. Polar Bears & Party Chairs

07 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

The other night I got a notification to say there was a new episode of The Distortion Transmission available on YouTube (subscribe to the Muzic.net.nz channel if you haven’t already), so I settled back to see who Will was interviewing this week. It turned out to be Sam 'Red' Rogers (vocals) and Jasher (bass) from Auckland band Finger Tight, but Red was completely different to the last time I saw him, so much so that I went off to check my review of Finger Tight when they supported Melanie as for a while I was quite confused and thought I had the wrong band in mind. You see, for those who have yet to experience this pop-punk band, we have a group of musicians who are incredibly tight, and then at the front there is this manic animal who will do whatever he can to get the crowd going. When I saw them, I described their music as pop punk with real balls (which was obviously appreciated as they have included it in the press release), but the recorded sound is often quite different to live, so what would this be like?

This double single starts with some turkeys (honest), and the sound of a dated video game, but that is soon swept away as Blink 182-influenced pop punk sweeps in as we kick into ineedsomespace. At just under four minutes this is a great summation of the band, as while they may musically not drop too far into metal, Red can step it up into hardcore style shouting, or singing perfectly in key as if he had not been a madman just before. The song also contains different sections, yet when we get to 2:44 it is an all on mosh with everyone bounding up and down. There is a lot going in the rhythm section of Jasher and James, who throw in lots of complexity yet keep it rooted, which then allows the twin guitars of Glenn and Jesse to mix it up.

Polar Bears & Party Chairs is simpler and more basic in many ways, and features James from the aforementioned Melanie. This is more like standard pop punk, with both Green Day and Blink 182 having an impact. That the two songs are so very different yet very related is definitely a strength, as is the way they veer more into metal than many bands playing in this genre. Certainly, they are heavier in the live environment, and it will be interesting to hear these songs when Auckland finally gets out of lockdown. I came away impressed on the night and feel exactly the same after hearing these two numbers. Finger Tight are definitely a band to keep an eye on.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Finger Tight

Finger Tight are a 5 piece outfit from West Auckland, that bring heavy themes (such as love loss, childhood trauma, and gravity) packaged in some relentlessly catchy hooks, riffs that are surprisingly technical, and beats that you can't help but air-drum along to. With a sound that's reminiscent of that one scene from American Pie, their genre ambiguity is best described as "not making up their mind between playing Pop-Punk, and something heavier."




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Finger Tight

Releases

There are no releases to display for Finger Tight.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Dark Divinity - Single Review: Left For Dead
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Formed in 2017 by drummer Ian Moir, melodic death metal act Dark Divinity have been through quite a lot in the last five years, as not only have they supported the likes of At The Gates, The Haunted, The Black Dahlia Murder and Psycroptic but have already released an EP, some singles and have of course been running the gamut of line-up changes. The most recent of these has seen the departure of singer Jolene Tempest and the return to a male singer in Jesse Wheeler, with the line-up completed by guitarist/bassist Paul Stewart and guitarist Jiji Aligno.
Read More...
Tryonics - Album Review: Fragmented
29 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tryonics is the solo project of Hap Richardson, formerly of My Little Pony, Go Victim and Freezer Child. It is completely a one-man affair as Hap not only provided all the music and vocals but also recorded and mixed it as well.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - Single Review: Carousel
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based Anxiety Club, taken from the forthcoming album Old Dreams, but anyone expecting more of their guitar-led music is going to be in for quite a surprise as there has been a major shift in their sound, caused by circumstance as much as by design. Like many bands unable to perform or tour over the pandemic, they used the downtime to focus on new songs, but that was not their only issue.
Read More...
Capital Theatre - Album Review: A Hero's Journey
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back in March last year I made my way to the Tuning Fork to catch a three-band bill, one of whom was Capital Theatre. At that point I had not heard any of their material, so was mightily impressed to discover they had recorded a concept album for their debut with Mike Clink (Guns ‘n’ Roses, Megadeth etc) in America, and that night they were playing it in sequence.
Read More...
Sam Bartells - Single Review: Good Intentions
23 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year I saw Sam Bartells at The Tuning Fork with a full band, and then a few weeks ago he was playing acoustically at a tiny venue in Ponsonby with just a keyboard player for support (what an incredible night that was). In some ways his latest single is a combination of those two very different facets, as the central core of his music is always his acoustic and vocals.
Read More...
South for Winter - EP Review: Acoustic Sessions
22 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this year I agreed to review a concert of the Nashville-based husband and wife duo of Nick Stone (vocals, guitar) and Dani Cichon (vocals, mandolin), without previously having heard any of their music and it is fair to say I was blown away. I was fortunate enough to see them on two consecutive nights, and the mix of Dani’s pure, clear vocals with Nick’s more classical tones was something to behold.
Read More...
Recitals - Single Review: Rock Dove
19 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Recitals are a 7-piece band based in both Te Whanganui-A-Tara (Wellington) and Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland) and comprise Xanthe Rook (bass, vocals), Tharushi Bowatte (trumpet), Carla Camilleri (keyboards, vocals), Olivia Wilding (cello), Christian Dimick (guitar, vocals), Josh Finegan (drums), and Sam Curtiss (guitar). Even before playing the first single from their debut album Orbit I (released at the end of August on Flying Nun Records) I was intrigued by the line-up as it is unusual to find both a trumpeter and cellist in the same band, and having now listened to the single I am still intrigued, but now it is because I am wondering what the album is like.
Read More...
Matt Joe Gow - Album Review: Break, Rattle and Roll
19 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
After touring and playing numerous festivals in support of Seven Years, Matt returned to the studio in 2018 to record the follow-up, Break, Rattle and Roll. Released to wide acclaim, it went one better than his previous release and was awarded Best Country Album in the 2019 Music Victoria Awards.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
  • STICKY
    Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem