2 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Moonflower - Single Review: Karma

05 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Moonflower are one of those really rare bands, where the drummer is also the lead singer. They are normally described as being an incredibly tight outfit heavily inspired by 60's and 70's soul/rock and blues, but to be honest that is not what I am listening to. Written and recorded when Nicole (vocals, drums) was waiting for her first ever operation, here we have a number which is based all around gentle electric piano and a drum beat, with her wonderful vocals over the top. It is delicate, reflective, with a pace which is almost funeral. There are some sounds which are more from the dance field, and that is probably due to the influence of Nicole’s brother-in-law 'Big Guts Billy', who normally works in Hip Hop, who agreed to mix and master it.

Here we have a song that greatly benefits from being played on headphones, as it is deliberately quiet, and it would be wrong to play it too loudly. We get taken into the song, which is full of space, yet whereas some tracks feel like they are meandering with no purpose, this really feels that there is a sense of direction, but it is just that no-one is in any particular hurry to get to the destination. Apparently, Nicole originally came up with the song and messed about it just to stay busy and not to worry about the forthcoming operation, but the end result is something which has a spark and presence within it. There is a steel within the silk and gossamer, with the knowledge that the everything is deliberately restrained and although the band could burst out at any second, they choose not to, which makes it even more powerful.   

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Moonflower

Moonflower, from Christchurch, NZ is vocalist/songwriter/drummer Nicole Schaap, guitarist Hamish Ellis and bassist Josh Fairless. They create an exciting sound inspired by 60's and 70's soul and classic rock, with a heavy twist. Powerhouse vocalist Nicole has a voice that takes you back to the times of Aretha Franklin, Grace Slick (Jefferson Airplane) and Ann Wilson (Heart). Her lyrics have deep meanings and societal messages, often about animal rights, humans and what they're doing to the environment.

The journey of Moonflower started in 2017.They recorded and released their debut album Dark Lullabies in 2019. Moonflower toured NZ the following months after the release and have been releasing singles as a 3-piece band.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Moonflower

Releases

Dark Lullabies
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Xile @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 01/10/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So, it is back out on K Road again for another gig, but strangely enough I am sure this is the first time I have been at Whammy Bar in more than a year, and tonight it is for Xile’s album release show. It shows just what strange times we have been living in as I Am Your God has been out for a couple of years, but this was the first opportunity for them to get out and play, so they were making the most of it.
Read More...
Album Review: Dead Beat Boys
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I’ve always had a soft spot for punk, ever since it exploded in the UK and my dad told me he would kick me out if he ever found any of that music in my collection. I was just 14 when the Pistols were due to play in the next town over (they were banned instead), and it was the most exciting thing to happen in the local music scene until 1980 when Genesis kicked off their national tour with two dates in Paignton.
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: Temporary Insanity
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was very impressed with the last single I heard of Gabriel’s, 2021’s Lights Burn Low, so when I asked to review this, I was looking forward to it. As I noticed last time, this is full of class with very high production, and does not sound like the performance of a musician who has yet to release his debut EP (out soon).
Read More...
Gig Review: Investigator @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 30/09/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch for another night of rock ‘n’ roll. I have reviewed Investigator quite a lot and saw Crystalator support them the last time I saw them at the Cupid, but tonight the band opening was new to me, Glasshouse Keepers.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Sink or Swim
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Just the opening few bars of their new single lets the listener know that Dead Favours are back, and yet again they mean business. Charlie sets up an intricate backbeat, Kyle and Jared have their guitars in sync, and at the heart of it all is a filthy bassline with Alex providing melodies and countermelodies, so one is brought into the music long before Jared even starts singing!
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: I Talk Too Much
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Auckland trio Imposter Syndrome, which is based strongly on a riffed acoustic guitar (the sound of which is superb, congrats whoever engineered this), with vocals over the top. Due to its nature this has plenty of space within the arrangements as even when additional instruments are added they are sparse, so the concentration is always on the voice and the guitar.
Read More...
Old Salts - EP Review: Stories Told by the Sea
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Alt rockers Old Salts hail from the shores of Bream Bay, Northland, and features John Buckle (lead vocals, guitar) Scott Brown (lead guitar, BV) Marcus Jones (bass, BV), and Lucas Hargreaves (drums, BV). This four-track EP contains three previously released singles plus the new one, Casual Smoker, which they describe as being reminiscent of Barry Manilow meets RHCP.
Read More...
BO And the Constrictors - EP Review: Love
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
These guys are new to me, and when I checked them out, I realised they are from Dunedin, which is why I have not come across them yet on the Auckland circuit, but I do hope they can make it up here at some point as these three songs are a nice slice of rock, and they are doing something quite different with their sound. Named after lead singer/guitarist Boaz Anema, the band also comprises Dean Armitage (bass, backing vocals), Jacob Rutherford (slide guitar) and Callan Carne (drums).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem