19 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Aoturoa - Single/Video Review: Brothers Part I: Spirit

01 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Aoturoa is a new project from Tom Scrase, one of Aotearoa's leading drummers, who performs with the likes of dDub, Corrella and in the percussion ensemble Strike! Percussion. Brothers Part I: Spirit is taken from his debut album where it is combined with Brothers Part II: Earth as one piece of music nearly 7 minutes in length but here it has been reduced to 4. Tom produces music which he sees as working with other mediums such as dance, installation, or films, and here he has a percussive base on top of which there are multiple layers, but they are never dense, as there is plenty of space between the different elements. He brings ambient and textural soundscapes together with keyboards and multi-tracked vocals to take us on a journey.

When this played with the video, as opposed to the music on its own, it feels far more structured and relevant, as if it now has a purpose. The images are of different landscapes, with the camera moving slowly through the scenes, and there really is a feeling that the images and the audio belong together and that they have been chosen in such a way that each reflects the other and together they are stronger than each is individually. The first time I played this I felt it more like an art installation than either music or film, and the more I have watched and listened to this stronger that feeling has become. The two forms belong together, with each being less if the other one is missing. Not quite New Age, here we have a song about humanity's relationship to the planet and the eternal, in a manner which is almost meditative in manner.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Aoturoa

AOTUROA - WORLD OF LIGHT - NATURE

Having established himself as one of Aotearoa's leading drummers performing with the likes of dDub, Corrella and in New Zealand's premier percussion ensemble Strike! Percussion, Tom Scrase is forging a new path in composition under the moniker Aoturoa.

Creating sound design for dance, film and installation, this creative outlet sees elements of ambient, textural soundscapes blended with complex and hypnotic rhythms and field recordings. Dense and challenging, these sounds are manipulated while retaining the primal sense of connection that permeates Aoturoa's music.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Aoturoa

Releases

Aoturoa
Year: 2020
Type: EP
The Rebel Pink
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
Gig Review: In The Shallows @ Spirit Festival - 05/05/2022
08 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I left work a little early on Thursday, and then fought my way from South Auckland, West to Kumeu Showgrounds, where Spirit Festival was taking place. In many ways this is a sister festival to Earthbeat which I attended last year in that it is very much for the alternative culture movement, with lots of stalls and a wonderful vibe.
Read More...
Gig Review: Imperial Slave @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 07/05/2022
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
And so, it came to pass I was back in Dead Witch for the second consecutive night, and my third gig in as many days, which really shows how the scene is ramping back up again under the orange settings. We have all been deprived of live music for so long, and bands are now dipping their toes back in the water while others are resetting dates which previously had been cancelled.
Read More...
Pull Down The Sun - Gig Review: Aotearoa Prog Alliance Tour @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 06/05/22
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This was the first night of the Aotearoa Prog Alliance tour, which is a showcase of progressive rock/metal over 9 shows in May, featuring three of Aotearoa's leading progressive rock/metal bands - Pull Down the Sun (Whanganui), Elidi (Christchurch), Claemus (Wellington) plus a local support at each stop. First up was Claemus, or at least a close approximation, as due to the wonderful lurgy which is COVID, plus a family commitment, the band was down to a duo of Taylor and Dan.
Read More...
Bleeding Afterglow - Album Review: Find Your Taboo
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back in 2004 guitarist Sharne Scarborough was looking for a new rhythm section for Just One Fix, and he asked Ant Ward and Gaylene ‘G-Force’ to join. Although the bassist and drummer had bumped into each other on the circuit they were not really friends, and G actually complained to Sharne at one point that she was not sure if she could handle Ant’s persistent innuendos.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Redwood St. Massive
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It’s not often that a song can take me straight back more than 40 years on the first time of hearing, only to reinforce that with repeated plays, but that is exactly what happened with this angry trio from Blenheim. This is stripped back music which has a great deal in common with the post punk Oi!
Read More...
Saint Mercury - Single Review: Ominous Warning (Ft. Shooless)
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Saint Mercury is the artist name for electronic producer Mark Linton who doesn’t see himself being at home in any particular genre but is more of a shapeshifter and on hearing this track one can understand why. Ominous Warning is his debut single, and he has given himself enough room to move around as it is more than five minutes in length.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem