2 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Aoturoa - Single/Video Review: Brothers Part I: Spirit

01 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Aoturoa is a new project from Tom Scrase, one of Aotearoa's leading drummers, who performs with the likes of dDub, Corrella and in the percussion ensemble Strike! Percussion. Brothers Part I: Spirit is taken from his debut album where it is combined with Brothers Part II: Earth as one piece of music nearly 7 minutes in length but here it has been reduced to 4. Tom produces music which he sees as working with other mediums such as dance, installation, or films, and here he has a percussive base on top of which there are multiple layers, but they are never dense, as there is plenty of space between the different elements. He brings ambient and textural soundscapes together with keyboards and multi-tracked vocals to take us on a journey.

When this played with the video, as opposed to the music on its own, it feels far more structured and relevant, as if it now has a purpose. The images are of different landscapes, with the camera moving slowly through the scenes, and there really is a feeling that the images and the audio belong together and that they have been chosen in such a way that each reflects the other and together they are stronger than each is individually. The first time I played this I felt it more like an art installation than either music or film, and the more I have watched and listened to this stronger that feeling has become. The two forms belong together, with each being less if the other one is missing. Not quite New Age, here we have a song about humanity's relationship to the planet and the eternal, in a manner which is almost meditative in manner.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Aoturoa

AOTUROA - WORLD OF LIGHT - NATURE

Having established himself as one of Aotearoa's leading drummers performing with the likes of dDub, Corrella and in New Zealand's premier percussion ensemble Strike! Percussion, Tom Scrase is forging a new path in composition under the moniker Aoturoa.

Creating sound design for dance, film and installation, this creative outlet sees elements of ambient, textural soundscapes blended with complex and hypnotic rhythms and field recordings. Dense and challenging, these sounds are manipulated while retaining the primal sense of connection that permeates Aoturoa's music.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Aoturoa

Releases

Aoturoa
Year: 2020
Type: EP
The Rebel Pink
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Xile @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 01/10/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So, it is back out on K Road again for another gig, but strangely enough I am sure this is the first time I have been at Whammy Bar in more than a year, and tonight it is for Xile’s album release show. It shows just what strange times we have been living in as I Am Your God has been out for a couple of years, but this was the first opportunity for them to get out and play, so they were making the most of it.
Read More...
Album Review: Dead Beat Boys
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I’ve always had a soft spot for punk, ever since it exploded in the UK and my dad told me he would kick me out if he ever found any of that music in my collection. I was just 14 when the Pistols were due to play in the next town over (they were banned instead), and it was the most exciting thing to happen in the local music scene until 1980 when Genesis kicked off their national tour with two dates in Paignton.
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: Temporary Insanity
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was very impressed with the last single I heard of Gabriel’s, 2021’s Lights Burn Low, so when I asked to review this, I was looking forward to it. As I noticed last time, this is full of class with very high production, and does not sound like the performance of a musician who has yet to release his debut EP (out soon).
Read More...
Gig Review: Investigator @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 30/09/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch for another night of rock ‘n’ roll. I have reviewed Investigator quite a lot and saw Crystalator support them the last time I saw them at the Cupid, but tonight the band opening was new to me, Glasshouse Keepers.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Sink or Swim
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Just the opening few bars of their new single lets the listener know that Dead Favours are back, and yet again they mean business. Charlie sets up an intricate backbeat, Kyle and Jared have their guitars in sync, and at the heart of it all is a filthy bassline with Alex providing melodies and countermelodies, so one is brought into the music long before Jared even starts singing!
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: I Talk Too Much
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Auckland trio Imposter Syndrome, which is based strongly on a riffed acoustic guitar (the sound of which is superb, congrats whoever engineered this), with vocals over the top. Due to its nature this has plenty of space within the arrangements as even when additional instruments are added they are sparse, so the concentration is always on the voice and the guitar.
Read More...
Old Salts - EP Review: Stories Told by the Sea
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Alt rockers Old Salts hail from the shores of Bream Bay, Northland, and features John Buckle (lead vocals, guitar) Scott Brown (lead guitar, BV) Marcus Jones (bass, BV), and Lucas Hargreaves (drums, BV). This four-track EP contains three previously released singles plus the new one, Casual Smoker, which they describe as being reminiscent of Barry Manilow meets RHCP.
Read More...
BO And the Constrictors - EP Review: Love
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
These guys are new to me, and when I checked them out, I realised they are from Dunedin, which is why I have not come across them yet on the Auckland circuit, but I do hope they can make it up here at some point as these three songs are a nice slice of rock, and they are doing something quite different with their sound. Named after lead singer/guitarist Boaz Anema, the band also comprises Dean Armitage (bass, backing vocals), Jacob Rutherford (slide guitar) and Callan Carne (drums).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem