28 Jan 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Renee Millner - Single Review: So Much

01 Oct 2021 // A review by Lou Clement

Taranaki-based artist, Renee Millner, brings substantial quality to her music – it’s effortlessly sung, lyrically modest and full of emotional impact, because of her unique and skillful talent. Her new single So Much was self-penned and produced by Sam Johnson. Accompanying the release is the video, directed by Hugo Eaton, which provides a thought-provoking narrative to the track.

In its opening chords, So Much sounds like a classic rock - it’s uplifting, catchy and yet bluesy, then the chorus kicks in and we are in the depth of heartwarming feel-good music. Millner’s vocals sound like sandpaper and fire all at once. It is an earthy and expressive sound. Yet, she has range that brings the full punch of emotions, set up by lyrics like ‘don’t listen to the ones who haven’t lived their dreams themselves’. There are lyrics that seem to touch on angst, self-doubt and belief. I’d love to hear a stripped back acoustic version.

The video follows Millner, a seemingly invisible witness to the trials and tribulations of a young man making his way through some difficult decisions. It evokes the idea of the wandering minstrel, ministering to the everyman, with their poetry. The video is beautiful, delicately lit scenes of comradeship and conversation are shared, mainly set under the boughs of trees, and it ends with a welcome return to arms of loved ones. Idealism maybe, but I am ok with that. I love this song.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Renee Millner

Fly Me Back is the latest single from Taranaki-based artist, Renee Millner, released on March 31st. Accompanied by a lyric video, the single explores what it means to turn away from dark thoughts and emotions, and find the way back to a healthier place of curiosity and vitality rather than judgement and languor.

As Renee says in discussing the track’s meaning, “The point is that sometimes we feel like we’re in the grip of something dark and malignant, when really it’s us that’s doing the gripping. And if, in those moments, we can release our hold, we create room for lighter, healthier things to enter.”

The single follows on from February’s emotive Out Their Windows, a song written in 2020 themed around the need to maintain connectedness in a pandemic world of limited social contact.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Renee Millner

Releases

Fly Me Back
Year: 2022
Type: EP
In The World
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Lou Clement

Jason Parker - EP Review: How To Be Lonely
10 Dec 2022 // by Lou Clement
Jason Parker has recently released his 5-track EP, How To Be Lonely and in doing so, he has brought his life affirming pop to our speakers. Parker has a history in TV talent shows and they are one of my favourite things.
Read More...
Gig Review: Womb w/ Samara Alofa @ Wine Cellar, Auckland - 25/11/2022
28 Nov 2022 // by Lou Clement
Underground a bustling K-Road the Wine Cellar played host to Womb on Friday night, a three-piece comprised of siblings, Georgette Brown and twins Haz and Charlotte Forrester. Tonight, they celebrated the release of their new album, Dreaming of The Future Again.
Read More...
Gig Review: Goodnight My Darling w/ Ersha Island @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 10/11/2022
11 Nov 2022 // by Lou Clement
Goodnight My Darling played at Whammy Bar along with Ersha Island last night. Ersha Island are a sister-duo, playing a classic (but not often seen in their genres) accompaniment of violin and piano.
Read More...
Gig Review: No Cigar @ Galatos, Auckland - 5/11/2022
09 Nov 2022 // by Lou Clement
No Cigar played Auckland on the final date of their Bienvenido Album Release Tour. Nestled behind Karangahape Road, the venue, Galatos, was sold out and packed to the brim on an electric Saturday night.
Read More...
Gig Review: Troy Kingi and The Promises @ Powerstation, Auckland - 14/10/2022
17 Oct 2022 // by Lou Clement
Available on both vinyl and cassette, Troy Kingi’s (Te Arawa, Ngapuhi, Te Whanau-a-Apanui) new album, Year of The Ratbags and Their Musty Theme Songs, was debuted at the Powerstation, Auckland. It was a fun and fantastic return to live performance for 2022, following the years of COVID cancellations and absences.
Read More...
Gig Review: Nadia Reid & Jenny Mitchell @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 09/09/2022
11 Sep 2022 // by Lou Clement
Worth the wait might be the short summary of an epic and memorable evening with Nadia Reid with the Auckland Philharmonic Orchestra and support from Jenny Mitchell. Both acts were accompanied by their bands and a packed Auckland Town Hall cheered every song.
Read More...
Flaxxies - EP Review: Beach Rudes
04 Aug 2022 // by Lou Clement
Flaxxies release a four track EP, that heralds Spring with its’ playfulness and optimism. The band are a five piece who blend a number of influences: most obviously surf rock and reggae.
Read More...
Gig Review: NZ Music Month Wrap Party @ Tuning Fork - 31/05/2022
05 Jun 2022 // by Lou Clement
Live music is back with swagger as event numbers grow and crowds swarm for a crucial mark of ‘return to normal’ in Auckland. At the Tuning Fork, sandwiched between the Port and the central city streets, a diverse crowd gathered at this all-ages event, to mark the end of NZ Music month, 2022.
Read More...
View All Articles By Lou Clement

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • SOMETHING IN THE ORANGE
    Zach Bryan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem