18 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Renee Millner - Single Review: So Much

01 Oct 2021 // A review by Lou Clement

Taranaki-based artist, Renee Millner, brings substantial quality to her music – it’s effortlessly sung, lyrically modest and full of emotional impact, because of her unique and skillful talent. Her new single So Much was self-penned and produced by Sam Johnson. Accompanying the release is the video, directed by Hugo Eaton, which provides a thought-provoking narrative to the track.

In its opening chords, So Much sounds like a classic rock - it’s uplifting, catchy and yet bluesy, then the chorus kicks in and we are in the depth of heartwarming feel-good music. Millner’s vocals sound like sandpaper and fire all at once. It is an earthy and expressive sound. Yet, she has range that brings the full punch of emotions, set up by lyrics like ‘don’t listen to the ones who haven’t lived their dreams themselves’. There are lyrics that seem to touch on angst, self-doubt and belief. I’d love to hear a stripped back acoustic version.

The video follows Millner, a seemingly invisible witness to the trials and tribulations of a young man making his way through some difficult decisions. It evokes the idea of the wandering minstrel, ministering to the everyman, with their poetry. The video is beautiful, delicately lit scenes of comradeship and conversation are shared, mainly set under the boughs of trees, and it ends with a welcome return to arms of loved ones. Idealism maybe, but I am ok with that. I love this song.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Renee Millner

Fly Me Back is the latest single from Taranaki-based artist, Renee Millner, released on March 31st. Accompanied by a lyric video, the single explores what it means to turn away from dark thoughts and emotions, and find the way back to a healthier place of curiosity and vitality rather than judgement and languor.

As Renee says in discussing the track’s meaning, “The point is that sometimes we feel like we’re in the grip of something dark and malignant, when really it’s us that’s doing the gripping. And if, in those moments, we can release our hold, we create room for lighter, healthier things to enter.”

The single follows on from February’s emotive Out Their Windows, a song written in 2020 themed around the need to maintain connectedness in a pandemic world of limited social contact.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Renee Millner

Releases

There are no releases to display for Renee Millner.

Other Reviews By Lou Clement

Something Zesty - Single/Video Review: Fishtank
27 Jul 2021 // by Lou Clement
Something Zesty have launched their new video for Fishtank, their latest single which was released earlier this year. The track itself is catchy with warm electric guitar chords framing the laidback lyrics -  dare I say it – it’s refreshing.
Read More...
OddJive - Album Review: Hell Yeah Nah
31 May 2021 // by Lou Clement
Multi-genre mining act OddJive released their second album in May 2021, and the release is accompanied by vibrant, beautiful artwork by Alex Hoare. Titled Hell Yeah Nah, it is birthed by the five members of the band and promoted as a work created with the ongoing support of friends and family.
Read More...
Gig Review: Merk @ Cassette 9, Auckland - 15/05/2021
18 May 2021 // by Lou Clement
Merk is Mark Perkins and he played alongside four accompanying musicians for this his first headline tour, celebrating the recent release of his second album Infinite Youth.The first date of his tour was at Auckland’s Cassette 9, nestled above Vulcan Lane on a busy Saturday night.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dr.Reknaw @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 16/04/2021
19 Apr 2021 // by Lou Clement
Epic eight-piece, Dr.Reknaw, took to the stage at Anthology Lounge on a wet Friday evening for their only Auckland gig.
Read More...
Dr.Reknaw - Album Review: Rektified
14 Apr 2021 // by Lou Clement
Dr.Reknaw are an eight-piece psychedelic group who happily straddle genres: funk, soul, hip-hop and dub.
Read More...
Something Zesty - Album Review: Funk’t Up
06 Mar 2021 // by Lou Clement
Something Zesty is a musical project from solo-artist Iain Chamberlain and Funk’t Up, released in early 2021, is his debut album. It offers a mix of easy going funk riffs and enjoyable guitar-infused tracks overlaid with urban vocals.
Read More...
Single Review: Cherry Blind
16 Dec 2020 // by Lou Clement
Cherry Blind's new single; a pace, energy and a dash of screamo. I recently attended a punk-weekender: two days of what seemed like seven minute sets, where there were really only fans and no bystanders and bands that moved from one song to the next as quickly as the flip of a pancake.
Read More...
Gig Review: Avantdale Bowling Club @ Hollywood Avondale, Auckland - 23/10/2020
25 Oct 2020 // by Lou Clement
Multi-genre bending Avantdale Bowling Club played to a sold out crowd, breaking in, what seemed like the first long weekend in a very long time, at them Hollywood Avondale. Their most recent release, earlier in 2020 was LIVE, it does what it says on the tin.
Read More...
View All Articles By Lou Clement

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem