2 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

OdESSA - Single Review: It's Gonna Get Better

30 Sep 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

They may have disbanded in 2009 after seven years and three albums, but Wellington-based OdESSA are back. Given that lyricist/vocalist Matthew Pender had been living in London for an extended period, it was never thought that this would ever happen, but he returned from overseas just two days before New Zealand went into lockdown last year. As bassist Paul Mouncey says, I had a box of old OdESSA cassettes tapes, unfinished songs, and music from over twelve years ago, and suddenly three months with nothing to do. It took some doing, but eventually Paul convinced Matthew that time was right for a revival, but instead of sticking to the original four-piece they have now doubled in size, added keyboards and horns, (care of Richter City Rebels). In addition, Grammy-winning artist Mireya Ramos found herself in New Zealand when the lockdown came into force, so she stayed, playing festivals, and collaborating with the likes of Troy Kingi and OdESSA, and here she appears as guest vocalist, duetting with Matthew.

Although this is the first time the song has been recorded in a studio, a live version did appear on their third album, Bring Me The Head of Pepe Lopez, but it has now been totally reimagined and reworked with the extended line-up. Here we have a song which settles into the groove right from the beginning, with a powerful horn introduction giving way to Mireya throwing her voice around with ease. Matthew joins in, blending his voice with hers before taking the lead himself. This back and forth continues throughout the song, with the bass often providing the melody, guitar coming in and out, keyboards having a wonderful organ backdrop, and the horns resting up or coming in hard. This is a feel-good song, one where the listener finds themselves with a smile and moving to the beat without even realising what they are doing.

The two singers work incredibly well together, and one can imagine them in the studio recording at the same time and just bouncing, as this never sounds as if they were recording at different times. When they move up into the bridge, the vocal lift is simply wonderful. It sounds as if this song is going to heavily extended in the live setting, with everyone having their turn, and it is packed full of warmth, soul, funk, jazz and pure unadulterated fun.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About OdESSA

OdESSA have a solid reputation as one of New Zealand’s most exciting live bands. Their addictive blend of Rock RnB, electrifying grooves and phenomenal energy are sure to grab your attention.

OdESSA kick along the dusty centre-line where Rock 'n' Roll and R 'n' B first cross-mutated, with memorable songs played inside out – night after night.

OdESSA is a fluid and inventive rhythm section, with searing licks and dirty guitar grooves, polished off with strong, soulful vocals – playing wild to hot, sweaty crowds going crazy in a heady swirl of streetlights and hormones – exactly the way it's supposed to be. The 2021 edition has the addition of a horn section and keyboards.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for OdESSA

Releases

Bring Me The Head Of Pepe Lopez
Year: 2010
Type: Album
The Prize
Year: 2007
Type: Album
Oak Park Avenue
Year: 2005
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Xile @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 01/10/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So, it is back out on K Road again for another gig, but strangely enough I am sure this is the first time I have been at Whammy Bar in more than a year, and tonight it is for Xile’s album release show. It shows just what strange times we have been living in as I Am Your God has been out for a couple of years, but this was the first opportunity for them to get out and play, so they were making the most of it.
Read More...
Album Review: Dead Beat Boys
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I’ve always had a soft spot for punk, ever since it exploded in the UK and my dad told me he would kick me out if he ever found any of that music in my collection. I was just 14 when the Pistols were due to play in the next town over (they were banned instead), and it was the most exciting thing to happen in the local music scene until 1980 when Genesis kicked off their national tour with two dates in Paignton.
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: Temporary Insanity
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was very impressed with the last single I heard of Gabriel’s, 2021’s Lights Burn Low, so when I asked to review this, I was looking forward to it. As I noticed last time, this is full of class with very high production, and does not sound like the performance of a musician who has yet to release his debut EP (out soon).
Read More...
Gig Review: Investigator @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 30/09/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch for another night of rock ‘n’ roll. I have reviewed Investigator quite a lot and saw Crystalator support them the last time I saw them at the Cupid, but tonight the band opening was new to me, Glasshouse Keepers.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Sink or Swim
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Just the opening few bars of their new single lets the listener know that Dead Favours are back, and yet again they mean business. Charlie sets up an intricate backbeat, Kyle and Jared have their guitars in sync, and at the heart of it all is a filthy bassline with Alex providing melodies and countermelodies, so one is brought into the music long before Jared even starts singing!
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: I Talk Too Much
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Auckland trio Imposter Syndrome, which is based strongly on a riffed acoustic guitar (the sound of which is superb, congrats whoever engineered this), with vocals over the top. Due to its nature this has plenty of space within the arrangements as even when additional instruments are added they are sparse, so the concentration is always on the voice and the guitar.
Read More...
Old Salts - EP Review: Stories Told by the Sea
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Alt rockers Old Salts hail from the shores of Bream Bay, Northland, and features John Buckle (lead vocals, guitar) Scott Brown (lead guitar, BV) Marcus Jones (bass, BV), and Lucas Hargreaves (drums, BV). This four-track EP contains three previously released singles plus the new one, Casual Smoker, which they describe as being reminiscent of Barry Manilow meets RHCP.
Read More...
BO And the Constrictors - EP Review: Love
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
These guys are new to me, and when I checked them out, I realised they are from Dunedin, which is why I have not come across them yet on the Auckland circuit, but I do hope they can make it up here at some point as these three songs are a nice slice of rock, and they are doing something quite different with their sound. Named after lead singer/guitarist Boaz Anema, the band also comprises Dean Armitage (bass, backing vocals), Jacob Rutherford (slide guitar) and Callan Carne (drums).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem