19 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Louis Ross - Single Review: Here To Help

27 Sep 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Local Tauranga DJ and Producer Louis Ross has created a new song Here to Help to bring awareness to mental health issues ahead of Mental Health Awareness Week. After losing his father and Grandma within a few months of each other and navigating his way through loss and grief, Louis is combining his own mental health struggles with his love of music to help others.  Louis started writing Here to Help, to let people know that they aren’t alone, that there is help out there, and that they have people they can turn to whenever they need it.

The beat really moves you and brings your mood up.  There are some synths covered in reverb in the back which almost give a nod to the sound from early Shapeshifter tracks.  Louis is a 25-year-old DJ and producer at the time of this writing and with the sound, feel and overall quality of the track, there is a lot to enjoy.  For one, it sounds fantastic.  The grooving bass line, the drum feel, synths and saxophone work well together in creating a sense of moving up and on from whatever is happening in your life at the time.  And the vocal production is clear, in all cases of rap and singing.  The track Here to Help features rappers Sunshine Ted and Zap, along with singer Lisa Westerby and Matt Bizzle provides some beautiful saxophone playing that weaves through the rap in the verses.  It does feel at times that the saxophone feels busy in the verses where my focus should be squarely on the lyrics and vocals, but overall there is still dynamics there to give changes to the verse and the chorus.  As the song uses the same set of chords throughout, having these sections stand out by leaving instruments out of them allows for the chorus to open up more.  This definitely happens in the second verse.

Overall, Louis knows what he is doing and has a great team behind him here with a strong song and a powerful message. 

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Louis Ross

Louis Ross is a 24 year old Producer/DJ and singer songwriter from Tauranga, New Zealand. Born in the UK, Louis grew up with music all around him from his Dad playing guitar and teaching him at the age of 7. To his Mother who use to be an opera singer known as Sharon Elizabeth Soprano. It wasn't until Louis found the passion to be a DJ when he moved overseas back to England. His specialty as a DJ is House and DnB but can mix nearly anything.

Producing started roughly 2 years ago with his first successful song being That Funky Kinda Beat which lead to a few opportunities. He's met the likes of Gray Bartlett and was nominated to perform at the VNZMA (Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards) 2019 after party. Safe to say Louis is on the right path.

His genres of music consists of House, Tropical House, Hip-Hop/RnB and DnB. He can sing, play guitar/drums, DJ and produce.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Louis Ross

Releases

There are no releases to display for Louis Ross.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone
13 May 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Ego Prison
28 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
I'm getting to hear more Will McClean... yes please!
Read More...
Hans. - EP Review: Kimyuntak
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Hailing from Auckland, New Zealand, Hans. is an exciting Korean artist that has been dubbed by VICE Magazine as "One of the rising stars of New Zealand Hip Hop.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Diary Entries Vol 1
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
This is a great album. Even at 30 mins long, the overall feel and vibe of it is fantastic.
Read More...
Jeivenchy - Album Review: Fatal Attraction
31 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Jeivenchy, not to be confused with “Givenchy”, is a singer/songwriter based in Wellington, New Zealand. His debut album Seenzoned introduced his melodramatic lyrics, 80's inspired vocals and catchy choruses.
Read More...
Partyboi Pan - Single Review: Mystical Barz
16 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Partyboi Pan is the founder of The Mason, a vision to upgrade the very idea of what parties are with the sole purpose of showcasing local passions and talents.His latest track Mystical Barz opens with a dialogue that really sets the mood for the track.
Read More...
Phil Stoodley - Single/Video Review: Shame Shame
08 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Phil Stoodley, Shame Shame, is a fantastic track that is not only catchy but has such a vibe to it that you will be hitting repeat over and over. With a solid bass line propping up the main guitar riff, the drums hold it all together and allow for Phil's vocals to sit neatly in place, which by the way sound real and authentic.
Read More...
Old Salts - Single Review: Take a Breather
27 Jan 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Old Salts are an alternative rock band that are set to leave listeners buzzed with the release of their debut single Take a Breather.Citing influences as Primus and Them Crooked Vultures, you can definitely hear this in the way the song, not only sounds but how it is written and arranged.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem