19 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Plum Green - Album Review: Somnambulist

25 Sep 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Born in a squat in England, raised in New Zealand, and presently residing in Melbourne, here we have the latest release from dream folk artist Plum Green. I have not previously come across any of her other albums, but somehow, I can see I need to undertake some investigations as this is a very special album indeed. Her wonderful vocals are at the forefront of everything she does, often accompanied by her acoustic guitar, yet the vocals are often multi-layered and there are bowed soundscapes which makes for an arrangement with everything channelling her vocals. A variety of different instruments are featured including classical strings and the Melbourne Town Hall Grand Organ, (apparently the largest musical instrument in the Southern Hemisphere it says here).

As soon as I heard this, I was taken back to Talitha Rise and her incredible album, An Abandoned Orchid House, as this has a similar approach, with the clarity of vocals giving us a feeling of fragility, yet the accompaniment has wonderful strength and depth. This is music which must never be played in a car or while operating heavy machinery, as it transports the listener to a different plane and existence, and when it ends there is a real feeling of loss while the listener comes to terms that the journey is over, and we are back to normality. Over the last few years, I have been fortunate enough to come across some incredible singers, and I never cease to be amazed (and angry) at how much incredible talent is ignored by the mainstream media. In a fair world we would all be shouting about this album, Plum Green would be featured on TV and radio, but we all know the world we live in is not fair and musical ability and talent does not mean success.

This is an incredibly thoughtful and thought-provoking album, which lifts us away from the mundane, and helps us understand the world in a totally different manner. No percussion, and often no bass, the different layers of vocals, acoustic guitar, and soundscapes combine to produce something which is simply exceptional. Let us hope that Melbourne soon manages to come out of the horror of Covid (they will soon take the record for the longest lockdown anywhere in the world), and that we see Plum Green and guitarist Daniel Cross back over here playing again, as that promises to be a very special event indeed. To be played on headphones when one has the time to listen, really listen, and for the normal world to just pass on by.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Plum Green

Born in a squat in Brixton, growing up in New Zealand and presently residing in Melbourne, Australia, Plum Green combines elements of folk, grunge, goth, and post-rock with her dark lyrical prose. With a focus on crafting intimate live shows her performances are striking and uplifting. Plum's musical releases have been described as a collection of dark textures with lyricism containing intriguing subject matter. Described as luscious, dark and deeply literate, Plum Green's music and lyrics have always had this mix of youthful wisdom, naïve worldliness, a corrupt innocent, which makes them heady and intriguing. Plum has released three EP's – Plum Green, The Red, Karma and the album Rushes.

Plum and her band recently finished recording a full-length album at the all-analogue Sound Recordings studio in Castlemaine. They have released the first single from this album Baby Bird, and named the album Sound Recordings after the studio they recorded in. Baby Bird is available now as a digital single, as well as a 7” record which includes the b-side Little Black Pain on Bandcamp. Sound Recordings will be released in February 2019 on a variety of digital formats on the internet. Physical sales (CDs) of Sound Recordings will be released in New Zealand in February with two performances in the major New Zealand cities of Wellington and Auckland. Plum and the band also have plans for a second European tour in 2020.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Plum Green

Releases

Somnambulistic
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Sound Recordings
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Karma
Year: 2016
Type: EP
Rushes
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Live Acoustic
Year: 2011
Type: EP
The Red
Year: 2010
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
Gig Review: In The Shallows @ Spirit Festival - 05/05/2022
08 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I left work a little early on Thursday, and then fought my way from South Auckland, West to Kumeu Showgrounds, where Spirit Festival was taking place. In many ways this is a sister festival to Earthbeat which I attended last year in that it is very much for the alternative culture movement, with lots of stalls and a wonderful vibe.
Read More...
Gig Review: Imperial Slave @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 07/05/2022
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
And so, it came to pass I was back in Dead Witch for the second consecutive night, and my third gig in as many days, which really shows how the scene is ramping back up again under the orange settings. We have all been deprived of live music for so long, and bands are now dipping their toes back in the water while others are resetting dates which previously had been cancelled.
Read More...
Pull Down The Sun - Gig Review: Aotearoa Prog Alliance Tour @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 06/05/22
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This was the first night of the Aotearoa Prog Alliance tour, which is a showcase of progressive rock/metal over 9 shows in May, featuring three of Aotearoa's leading progressive rock/metal bands - Pull Down the Sun (Whanganui), Elidi (Christchurch), Claemus (Wellington) plus a local support at each stop. First up was Claemus, or at least a close approximation, as due to the wonderful lurgy which is COVID, plus a family commitment, the band was down to a duo of Taylor and Dan.
Read More...
Bleeding Afterglow - Album Review: Find Your Taboo
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back in 2004 guitarist Sharne Scarborough was looking for a new rhythm section for Just One Fix, and he asked Ant Ward and Gaylene ‘G-Force’ to join. Although the bassist and drummer had bumped into each other on the circuit they were not really friends, and G actually complained to Sharne at one point that she was not sure if she could handle Ant’s persistent innuendos.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Redwood St. Massive
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It’s not often that a song can take me straight back more than 40 years on the first time of hearing, only to reinforce that with repeated plays, but that is exactly what happened with this angry trio from Blenheim. This is stripped back music which has a great deal in common with the post punk Oi!
Read More...
Saint Mercury - Single Review: Ominous Warning (Ft. Shooless)
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Saint Mercury is the artist name for electronic producer Mark Linton who doesn’t see himself being at home in any particular genre but is more of a shapeshifter and on hearing this track one can understand why. Ominous Warning is his debut single, and he has given himself enough room to move around as it is more than five minutes in length.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem