19 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Diehards of Deep Dish - Album Review: Traditional Speciality Guaranteed

25 Sep 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

There is a long history of band members using pseudonyms, with Ramones probably being the most famous, and here we have a band who use pseudonyms for their pseudonyms, so we have Cheese (Joey Provolone), Tomato (Ryley Base), Wheat (Beef Richards), Mushrooms (Mattzarella Gibson) and Herbs (Herbie Handcooked). I thought Cafe Fistfight had probably taken the foodie elements to the extreme with songs such as King Hit Quiche, but here we have six songs all aimed at the pizza lovers among us. The lyrics, it must be said without any pun intended, are ridiculously cheesy, so much so that all the listeners can do is smile.

Among other styles, they list their music as being pizzacore and pizzawave, but for those of us who are less up to date with the food group/music crossover scene, I think the best way to think of these is as American pop punk with organ playing an important part. Only one of the songs is above 3 minutes in length, the closer Delivery Boy, which has a nod towards Dazed and Confused at the beginning, surprisingly enough. But before we get to that, we work through a whole series of well-constructed pop punk hardcore numbers which are simply great fun. They may have lyrics which are somewhat tongue in cheek, but what makes this work is that to back it up we have a tight band, whose songs never outstay their welcome, with each one being significantly different from the others. I can imagine Fun (At A Straight Edge Party) being a singalong moshing mess at a gig, while the lyrics of Cheesus Crust are guaranteed to upset churchgoers worldwide. This is nothing more than a fun release from start to finish, from what is obviously a party band who expect people to have a good time at their gigs.

This has been released in a 7" Pizza Box through Bandcamp that also gives access to the digital download. There are a few bands who have been linked to food and drink recently, with No Broadcast tying up with coffee, and Dead Favours tying up with beer, so is anyone up for Foodstock? Sometimes all we need from our music is to have it make us smile, and this is one of those times, backed up with strong hooks and melodies.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Diehards of Deep Dish

They're crispy, they're tender and they're fragrant!

Diehards of Deep Dish are a 5 sliced contingent of pizza and party lovers dedicated to worshipping the slice with gut-punching riffs and pizza-laden groove.

The band is Ashley McKinley, Ryley Hall, Michael Bradford, Matt Gibson, and Rik Gainsford, or better known as, respectively,

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Diehards of Deep Dish

Releases

Traditional Speciality Guaranteed
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
Gig Review: In The Shallows @ Spirit Festival - 05/05/2022
08 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I left work a little early on Thursday, and then fought my way from South Auckland, West to Kumeu Showgrounds, where Spirit Festival was taking place. In many ways this is a sister festival to Earthbeat which I attended last year in that it is very much for the alternative culture movement, with lots of stalls and a wonderful vibe.
Read More...
Gig Review: Imperial Slave @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 07/05/2022
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
And so, it came to pass I was back in Dead Witch for the second consecutive night, and my third gig in as many days, which really shows how the scene is ramping back up again under the orange settings. We have all been deprived of live music for so long, and bands are now dipping their toes back in the water while others are resetting dates which previously had been cancelled.
Read More...
Pull Down The Sun - Gig Review: Aotearoa Prog Alliance Tour @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 06/05/22
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This was the first night of the Aotearoa Prog Alliance tour, which is a showcase of progressive rock/metal over 9 shows in May, featuring three of Aotearoa's leading progressive rock/metal bands - Pull Down the Sun (Whanganui), Elidi (Christchurch), Claemus (Wellington) plus a local support at each stop. First up was Claemus, or at least a close approximation, as due to the wonderful lurgy which is COVID, plus a family commitment, the band was down to a duo of Taylor and Dan.
Read More...
Bleeding Afterglow - Album Review: Find Your Taboo
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back in 2004 guitarist Sharne Scarborough was looking for a new rhythm section for Just One Fix, and he asked Ant Ward and Gaylene ‘G-Force’ to join. Although the bassist and drummer had bumped into each other on the circuit they were not really friends, and G actually complained to Sharne at one point that she was not sure if she could handle Ant’s persistent innuendos.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Redwood St. Massive
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It’s not often that a song can take me straight back more than 40 years on the first time of hearing, only to reinforce that with repeated plays, but that is exactly what happened with this angry trio from Blenheim. This is stripped back music which has a great deal in common with the post punk Oi!
Read More...
Saint Mercury - Single Review: Ominous Warning (Ft. Shooless)
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Saint Mercury is the artist name for electronic producer Mark Linton who doesn’t see himself being at home in any particular genre but is more of a shapeshifter and on hearing this track one can understand why. Ominous Warning is his debut single, and he has given himself enough room to move around as it is more than five minutes in length.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem