30 Nov 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Diehards of Deep Dish - Album Review: Traditional Speciality Guaranteed

25 Sep 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

There is a long history of band members using pseudonyms, with Ramones probably being the most famous, and here we have a band who use pseudonyms for their pseudonyms, so we have Cheese (Joey Provolone), Tomato (Ryley Base), Wheat (Beef Richards), Mushrooms (Mattzarella Gibson) and Herbs (Herbie Handcooked). I thought Cafe Fistfight had probably taken the foodie elements to the extreme with songs such as King Hit Quiche, but here we have six songs all aimed at the pizza lovers among us. The lyrics, it must be said without any pun intended, are ridiculously cheesy, so much so that all the listeners can do is smile.

Among other styles, they list their music as being pizzacore and pizzawave, but for those of us who are less up to date with the food group/music crossover scene, I think the best way to think of these is as American pop punk with organ playing an important part. Only one of the songs is above 3 minutes in length, the closer Delivery Boy, which has a nod towards Dazed and Confused at the beginning, surprisingly enough. But before we get to that, we work through a whole series of well-constructed pop punk hardcore numbers which are simply great fun. They may have lyrics which are somewhat tongue in cheek, but what makes this work is that to back it up we have a tight band, whose songs never outstay their welcome, with each one being significantly different from the others. I can imagine Fun (At A Straight Edge Party) being a singalong moshing mess at a gig, while the lyrics of Cheesus Crust are guaranteed to upset churchgoers worldwide. This is nothing more than a fun release from start to finish, from what is obviously a party band who expect people to have a good time at their gigs.

This has been released in a 7" Pizza Box through Bandcamp that also gives access to the digital download. There are a few bands who have been linked to food and drink recently, with No Broadcast tying up with coffee, and Dead Favours tying up with beer, so is anyone up for Foodstock? Sometimes all we need from our music is to have it make us smile, and this is one of those times, backed up with strong hooks and melodies.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Diehards of Deep Dish

They're crispy, they're tender and they're fragrant!

Diehards of Deep Dish are a 5 sliced contingent of pizza and party lovers dedicated to worshipping the slice with gut-punching riffs and pizza-laden groove.

The band is Ashley McKinley, Ryley Hall, Michael Bradford, Matt Gibson, and Rik Gainsford, or better known as, respectively,

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Diehards of Deep Dish

Releases

Traditional Speciality Guaranteed
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

A Radical Sun - Single Review: Love Shakes
28 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Everyone in Auckland has been incredibly frustrated with the lockdown which has now stretched past 100 days, impacting everyone inside the borders. Obviously one group which have been unable to work are the gigging musicians, which has seen some of them go into the studio or even start new projects.
Read More...
Single/Video Review: The Not Okays - Bite Me
28 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The Not Okays are a band who originally formed a few years ago just to have some fun at the Emo nights put on at Ding Dong Lounge. They comprise Noriel Wong (guitar), Aaron Prictor (guitar, vocals), Lauren Kate Borhani (vocals), Caitlin Clark (bass) and Bahador Borhani (drums).
Read More...
Ellery Daines - Single Review: No-One
27 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Ellery Daines is a multi-instrumentalist, songwriter, producer, and mixing engineer from Nelson, now based in the Norwegian Arctic city of Tromsø. Over the last five years he wrote, recorded, and mixed his debut album, Failure Thirty Minutes Deep, scheduled for release in 2022 and No-One is the first single and is a truly solo affair as Ellery performed all instruments and vocal parts, as well as producing and mixing the song.
Read More...
The Sam Loveridge Band - Single/Video Review: I Wanna Dance
21 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Sam and the guys are back with the second single from the forthcoming album, Recovery, and if ever they were looking for radio play I can pretty much guarantee this will not be getting it with this one. The simple reason is that in the key part of the chorus, people get asked to go forth and multiply, and somehow, I don’t think the mainstream are quite ready for that yet.
Read More...
Gramsci - Single/Video Review: Ourselves
18 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I first came across Gramsci last year when they released the amazing album Inheritance, which was then followed up with a theatre performance which was stunning by all accounts (I was gutted not to be able to make it). But I am very late to the piece indeed, as Gramsci are the brainchild of Paul McLaney who is so productive that he has lost count of the works he has undertaken to date.
Read More...
Pervertor - Album Review: Putrid Dominion
18 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Wellington-based blackened thrash outfit Pervertor are back with their third-full length album, Putrid Dominion, some four years since Perverted Tales of Depravity. Since they released their first demo back in 2009 the band have had the same line-up throughout of Necroar (vocals), Inebriator (guitar), Carnage (bass), and Rots (drums).
Read More...
On Tick - Album Review: Nothing New
18 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
On Tick was formed by brothers Brendan (vocals and drums) and Aidan O'Loughlin (vocals, guitar), out of the ashes of their previous band, Evil Tomato. They decided to work as a rough and raw punk duo, adapting some of the older songs to their new style, a few of which can be heard here.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - Single Review: Take It Or Leave It
17 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I must confess to doing a little bit of a double take when I first saw a photo of these guys, as it looked like none of them were old enough to shave! A check of their bio and I was able to see that the band comprises Archie Orbell (16), Clarke West (16), Henry McConnell (16) & Otis Murphy (14) – when a group put their age into their bio you know they are young.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • OH MY GOD
    Adele
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • I DRINK WINE
    Adele
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • MY LITTLE LOVE
    Adele
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem