19 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Power The Light - Single Review: Snowing

23 Sep 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Power The Light is Max Roskilly, an 18-year-old musician who is based in Auckland , and has been self-releasing music for the last four years already, including the album Blueprints a while back. This is his second single in recent months, following on from Skys where he showed an interest more in krautrock than in is normal indie-jazz style. Here he provides us music in a style he determines as ambient synth, but to my ears is what I would tend to think of as New Age. At a little more than seven minutes long, it commences to a backdrop of excited children playing, presumably in the snow. This continues throughout the whole piece, apart from the very final note at the end, where it seems somewhat jarring without it.

The piece comprises long held-down chords, constructed in gentle ripples, and the reverb on the synth combines perfectly with the children’s screams and shouts of delight in such a harmonious manner that one soon forgets which part is supposed to be the backdrop to the other, and instead the listener just drifts away into another world. There does not feel like there is any real direction, more that we are existing elsewhere as opposed to being taken on a journey. Some of the melodic themes are repeated, and there is a real feeling of forethought and careful deliberation on what notes are being played. In many ways this is quite simple music, yet when that is the case, it must be spot on as otherwise it can be quite jarring, and for me this works incredibly well. So much so, that when it finished, I realised I had gone almost into a trance and the real world felt quite noisy in contrast. It is certainly not the dynamic style of music I generally listen to, but there is something quite special about this.

 

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Power The Light

Power The Light is Max Roskilly: an 18-year-old musician who is based in Auckland, New Zealand. Power The Light is entirely a one-man effort: Max records, produces, mixes and masters himself in vein of his main inspirations King Gizzard, Mild High Club and Mac DeMarco. His music delves into aspects of jazz, indie, psychedelia and - more recently - synth music. It's instrumental nature has become the Power The Light signature, often leading to moments of beauty of sincerity.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Power The Light

Releases

Sky!
Year: 2021
Type: Album
The Sun House
Year: 2020
Type: EP
A Year's Summer
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Blueprints
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Colder Type Of Sun
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
Gig Review: In The Shallows @ Spirit Festival - 05/05/2022
08 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I left work a little early on Thursday, and then fought my way from South Auckland, West to Kumeu Showgrounds, where Spirit Festival was taking place. In many ways this is a sister festival to Earthbeat which I attended last year in that it is very much for the alternative culture movement, with lots of stalls and a wonderful vibe.
Read More...
Gig Review: Imperial Slave @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 07/05/2022
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
And so, it came to pass I was back in Dead Witch for the second consecutive night, and my third gig in as many days, which really shows how the scene is ramping back up again under the orange settings. We have all been deprived of live music for so long, and bands are now dipping their toes back in the water while others are resetting dates which previously had been cancelled.
Read More...
Pull Down The Sun - Gig Review: Aotearoa Prog Alliance Tour @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 06/05/22
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This was the first night of the Aotearoa Prog Alliance tour, which is a showcase of progressive rock/metal over 9 shows in May, featuring three of Aotearoa's leading progressive rock/metal bands - Pull Down the Sun (Whanganui), Elidi (Christchurch), Claemus (Wellington) plus a local support at each stop. First up was Claemus, or at least a close approximation, as due to the wonderful lurgy which is COVID, plus a family commitment, the band was down to a duo of Taylor and Dan.
Read More...
Bleeding Afterglow - Album Review: Find Your Taboo
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back in 2004 guitarist Sharne Scarborough was looking for a new rhythm section for Just One Fix, and he asked Ant Ward and Gaylene ‘G-Force’ to join. Although the bassist and drummer had bumped into each other on the circuit they were not really friends, and G actually complained to Sharne at one point that she was not sure if she could handle Ant’s persistent innuendos.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Redwood St. Massive
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It’s not often that a song can take me straight back more than 40 years on the first time of hearing, only to reinforce that with repeated plays, but that is exactly what happened with this angry trio from Blenheim. This is stripped back music which has a great deal in common with the post punk Oi!
Read More...
Saint Mercury - Single Review: Ominous Warning (Ft. Shooless)
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Saint Mercury is the artist name for electronic producer Mark Linton who doesn’t see himself being at home in any particular genre but is more of a shapeshifter and on hearing this track one can understand why. Ominous Warning is his debut single, and he has given himself enough room to move around as it is more than five minutes in length.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem