2 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

On Tick - Single Review: Nothing New

21 Sep 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

On Tick is the brainchild of brothers Brendan (vocals and drums) and Aidan O'Loughlin (vocals, guitar), and was formed from the ashes of their previous musical outfit, Evil Tomato, who began as a band in 2012. They came across 5-string bassist Matt Hammond when they heard the demoes for Black Sands, which he not only produced but played on, and he joined forces to work with them on the album and to allow them to play in the Ding Dong Battle of the Bands. This is where I came across them, and have caught them playing live numerous times since, and am always impressed by their energy and musicality. Talk to any of the guys when they are not playing, and they are gently spoken and pleasant, but when they are on stage then they are something very different indeed.

This is complex hardcore punk, with riffs, melody and musicality, which will surprise those who feel music like this is all about speed and aggression with little else going for it. True, Aidan is a shouter, this is punk after all, but the edge has been taken off in the studio and the guitars layered to become a solid attack, driven from underneath by Brendan and Matt. There is also plenty of contrast within the four minutes as at times it is slowed down, and in one section we even get rimshots and gentle picking, as well as some melody, but it is all designed so that when they come back in then it is even harder and heavier than previously. Music is all about dynamics and contrast, and the guys understand that hitting in the face all the time doesn’t really work, best to go for the ribs as well and then back up top when the time is right. Full of the passion and power one has come to expect from these guys, this is a solid debut which lines us up for the album of the same name which will be out later this year.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About On Tick

Three piece band from Auckland belting out heavy tunes for your pleasure.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for On Tick

Releases

There are no releases to display for On Tick.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Xile @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 01/10/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So, it is back out on K Road again for another gig, but strangely enough I am sure this is the first time I have been at Whammy Bar in more than a year, and tonight it is for Xile’s album release show. It shows just what strange times we have been living in as I Am Your God has been out for a couple of years, but this was the first opportunity for them to get out and play, so they were making the most of it.
Read More...
Album Review: Dead Beat Boys
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I’ve always had a soft spot for punk, ever since it exploded in the UK and my dad told me he would kick me out if he ever found any of that music in my collection. I was just 14 when the Pistols were due to play in the next town over (they were banned instead), and it was the most exciting thing to happen in the local music scene until 1980 when Genesis kicked off their national tour with two dates in Paignton.
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: Temporary Insanity
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was very impressed with the last single I heard of Gabriel’s, 2021’s Lights Burn Low, so when I asked to review this, I was looking forward to it. As I noticed last time, this is full of class with very high production, and does not sound like the performance of a musician who has yet to release his debut EP (out soon).
Read More...
Gig Review: Investigator @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 30/09/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch for another night of rock ‘n’ roll. I have reviewed Investigator quite a lot and saw Crystalator support them the last time I saw them at the Cupid, but tonight the band opening was new to me, Glasshouse Keepers.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Sink or Swim
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Just the opening few bars of their new single lets the listener know that Dead Favours are back, and yet again they mean business. Charlie sets up an intricate backbeat, Kyle and Jared have their guitars in sync, and at the heart of it all is a filthy bassline with Alex providing melodies and countermelodies, so one is brought into the music long before Jared even starts singing!
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: I Talk Too Much
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Auckland trio Imposter Syndrome, which is based strongly on a riffed acoustic guitar (the sound of which is superb, congrats whoever engineered this), with vocals over the top. Due to its nature this has plenty of space within the arrangements as even when additional instruments are added they are sparse, so the concentration is always on the voice and the guitar.
Read More...
Old Salts - EP Review: Stories Told by the Sea
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Alt rockers Old Salts hail from the shores of Bream Bay, Northland, and features John Buckle (lead vocals, guitar) Scott Brown (lead guitar, BV) Marcus Jones (bass, BV), and Lucas Hargreaves (drums, BV). This four-track EP contains three previously released singles plus the new one, Casual Smoker, which they describe as being reminiscent of Barry Manilow meets RHCP.
Read More...
BO And the Constrictors - EP Review: Love
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
These guys are new to me, and when I checked them out, I realised they are from Dunedin, which is why I have not come across them yet on the Auckland circuit, but I do hope they can make it up here at some point as these three songs are a nice slice of rock, and they are doing something quite different with their sound. Named after lead singer/guitarist Boaz Anema, the band also comprises Dean Armitage (bass, backing vocals), Jacob Rutherford (slide guitar) and Callan Carne (drums).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem