19 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

FRE3DOM - Single Review: On and On

20 Sep 2021 // A review by Paul Goddard

Who is pissed off right now?

No?

Not you?

Not even a little bit?

NZ is often the envy of the rest of the world. A crazy little place that usually starts in the UK and ends at Australia. 2020 was fucked up. 2021 will hopefully be a little less fucked up.

I want to say thank you to Fre3dom for capturing a slice of pissed-offness for us all to reflect on.

Their new single On and On enters the room like a slightly annoyed younger brother of The Chats without the humour. Stripped back with a tongue firmly removed from the cheek.

With vocals and lyrics to the fore and a nod to classic 4 bar rock n roll On and On drives a simple message home. The chorus is the hook - an earworm that is a sneaky bastard slipping in quietly but digging deep and refusing to leave.

With On and On Fre3dom aren’t trying to burn down the world. They are capturing a moment. People will reflect. People will sing along. This is music as it is meant to be.

This is a statement. A snapshot of a time and a place. A call-out rather than a call to arms. It's a 4/5 for me.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About FRE3DOM

FRE3DOM are a Independent Dunedin Indie Rock band drawing Influence's from Bands like The Stone Roses, Oasis, and U2. They formed in June 2020 and have been playing shows and festival dates around NZ. They have recorded singles and their first EP called Do You Know What I Mean? with producer Steve Harrop at Sublime Studios. These boys are young, loud , and say what needs to be said in a charming poetic way. With catchy lyrics and melodic hooks they are a fresh new band keeping it real and standing up for what they believe and produce exciting live shows around the country.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for FRE3DOM

Releases

There are no releases to display for FRE3DOM.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Mojo Alice - Single Review: Sad Face
26 Apr 2022 // by Paul Goddard
If there is a phrase I can't stand right now it's "let's get ready for the new normal."Fuck that.
Read More...
Nuggiez - Single Review: The Creeps
08 Mar 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Zeitgeist.One of my favourite words.
Read More...
Saurian - Single Review: Ice Cream Man
18 Feb 2022 // by Paul Goddard
I am going to say it. This might be controversial but the best Ice Cream is a simple Vanilla Whip in a cone.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: A Long Time Coming
23 Dec 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Life's a journey.Different phases, ranging from feeling bulletproof to feeling paranoid to eventually feeling resigned to whatever happens.
Read More...
Captain Festus McBoyle's Travellin' Variety Show - Single/Video Review: Love Song 4 Lucy
06 Sep 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes we need a distraction, and a reminder of the basic core reasons as to why we exist.Sometimes, perhaps now more than ever, we need to be reminded of the simple joy that comes with being who we are and of the love that we share with other people.
Read More...
Album Review: Thunderground
18 Mar 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Headphones in, let's go.So the drummer keeps beat, guitars wail and scream, the singer....
Read More...
FRE3DOM - Single Review: Back To The Beginning
12 Mar 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Looking back to move forward. Musicians have done this from the beginning.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Seas of Fallen Concern
21 Jan 2021 // by Paul Goddard
I like to be transported. Moved to a different place.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem