8 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

FRE3DOM - Single Review: On and On

20 Sep 2021 // A review by Paul Goddard

Who is pissed off right now?

No?

Not you?

Not even a little bit?

NZ is often the envy of the rest of the world. A crazy little place that usually starts in the UK and ends at Australia. 2020 was fucked up. 2021 will hopefully be a little less fucked up.

I want to say thank you to Fre3dom for capturing a slice of pissed-offness for us all to reflect on.

Their new single On and On enters the room like a slightly annoyed younger brother of The Chats without the humour. Stripped back with a tongue firmly removed from the cheek.

With vocals and lyrics to the fore and a nod to classic 4 bar rock n roll On and On drives a simple message home. The chorus is the hook - an earworm that is a sneaky bastard slipping in quietly but digging deep and refusing to leave.

With On and On Fre3dom aren’t trying to burn down the world. They are capturing a moment. People will reflect. People will sing along. This is music as it is meant to be.

This is a statement. A snapshot of a time and a place. A call-out rather than a call to arms. It's a 4/5 for me.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About FRE3DOM

FRE3DOM are a Independent Dunedin Indie Rock band drawing Influence's from Bands like The Stone Roses, Oasis, and U2. They formed in June 2020 and have been playing shows and festival dates around NZ. They have recorded singles and their first EP called Do You Know What I Mean? with producer Steve Harrop at Sublime Studios. These boys are young, loud , and say what needs to be said in a charming poetic way. With catchy lyrics and melodic hooks they are a fresh new band keeping it real and standing up for what they believe and produce exciting live shows around the country.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for FRE3DOM

Releases

There are no releases to display for FRE3DOM.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Album Review: Sex Dad's Greatest Hits: The Very Best Of Sex Dad
27 Dec 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Feeling bloated and underwhelmed. Listening to mainstream radio in the car as I left my phone at home.
Read More...
Marrow Neck - EP Review: Made Up
23 Nov 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Sitting here in a very wet and cold, rainy UK watching the oldies falling out of the local Wetherspoons where they have been on the piss since 9am (yep the UK is weird it's only the old people who can afford to get pissed all day).I am reflecting on the past as I listen to the latest EP Made Up from Auckland-based Mark Hannington.
Read More...
Amanaki - EP Review: Tempest
03 Nov 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Hardcore.It tends to mean extreme.
Read More...
Big Scout - Album Review: Council Sport
18 Aug 2022 // by Paul Goddard
It’s finally here. The first Long Player from Blenheim noisy buggers Big Scout.
Read More...
Memory Foam - Album Review: Steel Magnolias
28 Jun 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Did you know that Memory Foam creates a matrix of cells through which air can move? Me neither.
Read More...
Mojo Alice - Single Review: Sad Face
26 Apr 2022 // by Paul Goddard
If there is a phrase I can't stand right now it's "let's get ready for the new normal."Fuck that.
Read More...
Nuggiez - Single Review: The Creeps
08 Mar 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Zeitgeist.One of my favourite words.
Read More...
Saurian - Single Review: Ice Cream Man
18 Feb 2022 // by Paul Goddard
I am going to say it. This might be controversial but the best Ice Cream is a simple Vanilla Whip in a cone.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • PLAYERS
    Coi Leray
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem