30 Nov 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

FRE3DOM - Single Review: On and On

20 Sep 2021 // A review by Paul Goddard

Who is pissed off right now?

No?

Not you?

Not even a little bit?

NZ is often the envy of the rest of the world. A crazy little place that usually starts in the UK and ends at Australia. 2020 was fucked up. 2021 will hopefully be a little less fucked up.

I want to say thank you to Fre3dom for capturing a slice of pissed-offness for us all to reflect on.

Their new single On and On enters the room like a slightly annoyed younger brother of The Chats without the humour. Stripped back with a tongue firmly removed from the cheek.

With vocals and lyrics to the fore and a nod to classic 4 bar rock n roll On and On drives a simple message home. The chorus is the hook - an earworm that is a sneaky bastard slipping in quietly but digging deep and refusing to leave.

With On and On Fre3dom aren’t trying to burn down the world. They are capturing a moment. People will reflect. People will sing along. This is music as it is meant to be.

This is a statement. A snapshot of a time and a place. A call-out rather than a call to arms. It's a 4/5 for me.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About FRE3DOM

FRE3DOM are a Independent Dunedin Indie Rock band drawing Influence's from Bands like The Stone Roses, Oasis, and U2. They formed in June 2020 and have been playing shows and festival dates around NZ. They have recorded singles and their first EP called Do You Know What I Mean? with producer Steve Harrop at Sublime Studios. These boys are young, loud , and say what needs to be said in a charming poetic way. With catchy lyrics and melodic hooks they are a fresh new band keeping it real and standing up for what they believe and produce exciting live shows around the country.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for FRE3DOM

Releases

There are no releases to display for FRE3DOM.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Captain Festus McBoyle's Travellin' Variety Show - Single/Video Review: Love Song 4 Lucy
06 Sep 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes we need a distraction, and a reminder of the basic core reasons as to why we exist.Sometimes, perhaps now more than ever, we need to be reminded of the simple joy that comes with being who we are and of the love that we share with other people.
Read More...
Album Review: Thunderground
18 Mar 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Headphones in, let's go.So the drummer keeps beat, guitars wail and scream, the singer....
Read More...
FRE3DOM - Single Review: Back To The Beginning
12 Mar 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Looking back to move forward. Musicians have done this from the beginning.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Seas of Fallen Concern
21 Jan 2021 // by Paul Goddard
I like to be transported. Moved to a different place.
Read More...
Manzo - Single Review: Working Class Hero (John Lennon Cover)
05 Dec 2020 // by Paul Goddard
In 1946 John Lennon almost became a Kiwi. His estranged father took him to Blackpool with the intention of heading over with John to start a new life in NZ.
Read More...
The Avondale Spiders - Single Review: Black Magik Pills
05 Nov 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Do you miss anything at the moment?The world is in a crazy place and it is easy to not want to look forward when the future doesn’t look so bright.
Read More...
Coffin Club - Single Review: Gaslight
08 Oct 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Gaslight (or rather Gaslighting) has become a bit of a buzz word recently and sits perfectly as the title for this short sharp shock of fuzzed up punk from Auckland three piece Coffin Club.Unlike a real Gaslight, this song is no slow burner.
Read More...
The Response - Single Review: All Of My Flaws
24 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Smooth.A word that sounds just as good as it looks.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • OH MY GOD
    Adele
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • I DRINK WINE
    Adele
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • MY LITTLE LOVE
    Adele
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem