19 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Black Alpine - Album Review: Black Alpine

19 Sep 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses! Black Alpine has been together since 2014 and released The Lightning EP in 2016 before they moved to Melbourne in 2017, returning to Auckland earlier this year. The band are Adam Farr (vocals, guitar, keyboards), Aidan Courtnell (lead guitar), Banjo Paterson (bass) and Zel Kust (drums). The album was recorded while they were going through some changes and Zel was not involved and instead they were provided by Adam and Aidan along with Jimmy Campi.  

Here we have 11 songs, one of which is a reworking of a number which appeared on the EP (Peru), and throughout we get goodtime hard rock which is an amalgamation of Eighties melodic rock and Seventies hard rock, guaranteed to bring a smile to the face. Even the small bass solo and drum break in Bad Pot add to the overall feel, while the harmonica is a touch of genius. It is impossible not to play this album without a smile on the face and I am mortified that I missed the launch gig, especially as it was held at my second home, Dead Witch. Once we get back to gigs in Auckland then this is a band I am going to look out for as this is pure fun from beginning to end. They have plenty of great hooks, are rooted in the blues swagger from back in the day, are great musicians, while Adam has a wonderful voice. They are not as belligerent and sleazy, but for some reason they remind of Quireboys, and that can only be from the sense of pure joy which comes from this album. It is not possible to play this without a smile on the face, they have that Mötley Crüe feel, with really melodic material and catchy hooks and choruses.

Another massive positive on this album is that they mix it up, so that while it is always a joy, they are putting different styles and elements within it, so there is real depth and more for the listener to enjoy and discover. True, in some ways it is not exactly multi-dimensional, but if you want music to have a party with then these are your guys. I can imagine Holy Water being played with everyone singing along with the “aahs” and arms in the air, and it is a blast from start to end.   

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Black Alpine

Loud Old-School Hard Rock band based in Auckland New Zealand.

Album streaming everywhere!


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Black Alpine

Releases

Black Alpine
Year: 2021
Type: Album
The Lightning EP
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
Gig Review: In The Shallows @ Spirit Festival - 05/05/2022
08 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I left work a little early on Thursday, and then fought my way from South Auckland, West to Kumeu Showgrounds, where Spirit Festival was taking place. In many ways this is a sister festival to Earthbeat which I attended last year in that it is very much for the alternative culture movement, with lots of stalls and a wonderful vibe.
Read More...
Gig Review: Imperial Slave @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 07/05/2022
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
And so, it came to pass I was back in Dead Witch for the second consecutive night, and my third gig in as many days, which really shows how the scene is ramping back up again under the orange settings. We have all been deprived of live music for so long, and bands are now dipping their toes back in the water while others are resetting dates which previously had been cancelled.
Read More...
Pull Down The Sun - Gig Review: Aotearoa Prog Alliance Tour @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 06/05/22
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This was the first night of the Aotearoa Prog Alliance tour, which is a showcase of progressive rock/metal over 9 shows in May, featuring three of Aotearoa's leading progressive rock/metal bands - Pull Down the Sun (Whanganui), Elidi (Christchurch), Claemus (Wellington) plus a local support at each stop. First up was Claemus, or at least a close approximation, as due to the wonderful lurgy which is COVID, plus a family commitment, the band was down to a duo of Taylor and Dan.
Read More...
Bleeding Afterglow - Album Review: Find Your Taboo
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back in 2004 guitarist Sharne Scarborough was looking for a new rhythm section for Just One Fix, and he asked Ant Ward and Gaylene ‘G-Force’ to join. Although the bassist and drummer had bumped into each other on the circuit they were not really friends, and G actually complained to Sharne at one point that she was not sure if she could handle Ant’s persistent innuendos.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Redwood St. Massive
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It’s not often that a song can take me straight back more than 40 years on the first time of hearing, only to reinforce that with repeated plays, but that is exactly what happened with this angry trio from Blenheim. This is stripped back music which has a great deal in common with the post punk Oi!
Read More...
Saint Mercury - Single Review: Ominous Warning (Ft. Shooless)
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Saint Mercury is the artist name for electronic producer Mark Linton who doesn’t see himself being at home in any particular genre but is more of a shapeshifter and on hearing this track one can understand why. Ominous Warning is his debut single, and he has given himself enough room to move around as it is more than five minutes in length.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem