2 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Black Alpine - Album Review: Black Alpine

19 Sep 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses! Black Alpine has been together since 2014 and released The Lightning EP in 2016 before they moved to Melbourne in 2017, returning to Auckland earlier this year. The band are Adam Farr (vocals, guitar, keyboards), Aidan Courtnell (lead guitar), Banjo Paterson (bass) and Zel Kust (drums). The album was recorded while they were going through some changes and Zel was not involved and instead they were provided by Adam and Aidan along with Jimmy Campi.  

Here we have 11 songs, one of which is a reworking of a number which appeared on the EP (Peru), and throughout we get goodtime hard rock which is an amalgamation of Eighties melodic rock and Seventies hard rock, guaranteed to bring a smile to the face. Even the small bass solo and drum break in Bad Pot add to the overall feel, while the harmonica is a touch of genius. It is impossible not to play this album without a smile on the face and I am mortified that I missed the launch gig, especially as it was held at my second home, Dead Witch. Once we get back to gigs in Auckland then this is a band I am going to look out for as this is pure fun from beginning to end. They have plenty of great hooks, are rooted in the blues swagger from back in the day, are great musicians, while Adam has a wonderful voice. They are not as belligerent and sleazy, but for some reason they remind of Quireboys, and that can only be from the sense of pure joy which comes from this album. It is not possible to play this without a smile on the face, they have that Mötley Crüe feel, with really melodic material and catchy hooks and choruses.

Another massive positive on this album is that they mix it up, so that while it is always a joy, they are putting different styles and elements within it, so there is real depth and more for the listener to enjoy and discover. True, in some ways it is not exactly multi-dimensional, but if you want music to have a party with then these are your guys. I can imagine Holy Water being played with everyone singing along with the “aahs” and arms in the air, and it is a blast from start to end.   

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Black Alpine

Loud Old-School Hard Rock band based in Auckland New Zealand.

Album streaming everywhere!


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Black Alpine

Releases

Black Alpine
Year: 2021
Type: Album
The Lightning EP
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Xile @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 01/10/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So, it is back out on K Road again for another gig, but strangely enough I am sure this is the first time I have been at Whammy Bar in more than a year, and tonight it is for Xile’s album release show. It shows just what strange times we have been living in as I Am Your God has been out for a couple of years, but this was the first opportunity for them to get out and play, so they were making the most of it.
Read More...
Album Review: Dead Beat Boys
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I’ve always had a soft spot for punk, ever since it exploded in the UK and my dad told me he would kick me out if he ever found any of that music in my collection. I was just 14 when the Pistols were due to play in the next town over (they were banned instead), and it was the most exciting thing to happen in the local music scene until 1980 when Genesis kicked off their national tour with two dates in Paignton.
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: Temporary Insanity
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was very impressed with the last single I heard of Gabriel’s, 2021’s Lights Burn Low, so when I asked to review this, I was looking forward to it. As I noticed last time, this is full of class with very high production, and does not sound like the performance of a musician who has yet to release his debut EP (out soon).
Read More...
Gig Review: Investigator @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 30/09/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch for another night of rock ‘n’ roll. I have reviewed Investigator quite a lot and saw Crystalator support them the last time I saw them at the Cupid, but tonight the band opening was new to me, Glasshouse Keepers.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Sink or Swim
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Just the opening few bars of their new single lets the listener know that Dead Favours are back, and yet again they mean business. Charlie sets up an intricate backbeat, Kyle and Jared have their guitars in sync, and at the heart of it all is a filthy bassline with Alex providing melodies and countermelodies, so one is brought into the music long before Jared even starts singing!
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: I Talk Too Much
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Auckland trio Imposter Syndrome, which is based strongly on a riffed acoustic guitar (the sound of which is superb, congrats whoever engineered this), with vocals over the top. Due to its nature this has plenty of space within the arrangements as even when additional instruments are added they are sparse, so the concentration is always on the voice and the guitar.
Read More...
Old Salts - EP Review: Stories Told by the Sea
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Alt rockers Old Salts hail from the shores of Bream Bay, Northland, and features John Buckle (lead vocals, guitar) Scott Brown (lead guitar, BV) Marcus Jones (bass, BV), and Lucas Hargreaves (drums, BV). This four-track EP contains three previously released singles plus the new one, Casual Smoker, which they describe as being reminiscent of Barry Manilow meets RHCP.
Read More...
BO And the Constrictors - EP Review: Love
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
These guys are new to me, and when I checked them out, I realised they are from Dunedin, which is why I have not come across them yet on the Auckland circuit, but I do hope they can make it up here at some point as these three songs are a nice slice of rock, and they are doing something quite different with their sound. Named after lead singer/guitarist Boaz Anema, the band also comprises Dean Armitage (bass, backing vocals), Jacob Rutherford (slide guitar) and Callan Carne (drums).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem