20 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Black Alpine - Album Review: Black Alpine

19 Sep 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses! Black Alpine has been together since 2014 and released The Lightning EP in 2016 before they moved to Melbourne in 2017, returning to Auckland earlier this year. The band are Adam Farr (vocals, guitar, keyboards), Aidan Courtnell (lead guitar), Banjo Paterson (bass) and Zel Kust (drums). The album was recorded while they were going through some changes and Zel was not involved and instead they were provided by Adam and Aidan along with Jimmy Campi.  

Here we have 11 songs, one of which is a reworking of a number which appeared on the EP (Peru), and throughout we get goodtime hard rock which is an amalgamation of Eighties melodic rock and Seventies hard rock, guaranteed to bring a smile to the face. Even the small bass solo and drum break in Bad Pot add to the overall feel, while the harmonica is a touch of genius. It is impossible not to play this album without a smile on the face and I am mortified that I missed the launch gig, especially as it was held at my second home, Dead Witch. Once we get back to gigs in Auckland then this is a band I am going to look out for as this is pure fun from beginning to end. They have plenty of great hooks, are rooted in the blues swagger from back in the day, are great musicians, while Adam has a wonderful voice. They are not as belligerent and sleazy, but for some reason they remind of Quireboys, and that can only be from the sense of pure joy which comes from this album. It is not possible to play this without a smile on the face, they have that Mötley Crüe feel, with really melodic material and catchy hooks and choruses.

Another massive positive on this album is that they mix it up, so that while it is always a joy, they are putting different styles and elements within it, so there is real depth and more for the listener to enjoy and discover. True, in some ways it is not exactly multi-dimensional, but if you want music to have a party with then these are your guys. I can imagine Holy Water being played with everyone singing along with the “aahs” and arms in the air, and it is a blast from start to end.   

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Black Alpine

Loud Old-School Hard Rock band based in Auckland New Zealand.

Album streaming everywhere!


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Black Alpine

Releases

Black Alpine
Year: 2021
Type: Album
The Lightning EP
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Eurenza - EP Review: Good Luck... You're Gonna Need It
19 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Eurenza were originally formed seven years ago as Timeless, but eventually decided to go with a more uncommon name, and now have delivered their first five-track EP. Interestingly, much of this was recorded some time ago in preparation for an album, but they instead decided to go with the strongest tracks instead and cut it back.
Read More...
Sam Bartells - Single Review: Bring You Down
17 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Sam Bartells is back with his new single Bring You Down, which finds him taking quite a different approach to Where We'll Go, which also featured Mema Wilda. Whereas he normally sits quite happily within alt country, here we see him using that as a base and then moving in a much rockier direction.
Read More...
Jenny Mitchell - Single Review: Trouble Finds A Girl with Tami Neilson
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The Auckland Folk Festival earlier this year was an embarrassment of riches, with so many great Kiwi artists playing multiple sets, and I spent the weekend trying to soak in as much as possible. There is no doubt that one of the highlights was Jenny Mitchell, who with her sisters Nicola and Maegan, provided warm and emotional country music in a style which seemed very much at odds with her age.
Read More...
Bianca Rae - Single Review: Flower
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when the music world is very small indeed, which is why earlier this year I found myself at The Portland Public House in Auckland to see a singer-songwriter, having been put in contact by a fellow reviewer who is in the UK. Even though Bianca Rae was the support, and everything was running late, she refused to let anything get to her, and I thoroughly enjoyed her set.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Green Cones
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Following on from the single Pay, which I reviewed a few months back, Blue River Baby (BRBB) are back with the second single from their second album, which is due next year. We find them moving much more into a dub style, with Ree Thomson’s wonderfully clear vocals very much the centre of attention.
Read More...
Downfall of Humanity - EP Review: Deceit
10 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often that a band can say they have had the same line-up for more than 10 years, but Auckland metal act Downfall of Humanity can claim just that. Daniel Carleton (lead vocals), Alex Carleton (guitars, backing vocals), Bryce Patten (guitars, backing vocals), Ben Pegman (bass) and Ben Bakker (drums) have a reputation for always delivering the goods, and I count myself lucky to have caught them a few times in the last year.
Read More...
The Rocky Bay Midnights - Album Review: Songs About People We Know
10 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The Rocky Bay Midnights are a Waiheke Island-based group who first started some three years ago when Meredith Wilkie (vocals, percussion) and Kyla Dyresen (keyboard/piano) were both independently looking for musicians, to work with, and decided to form a band together. It took quite a while for them to settle on the current line-up of Simon McDowell (drums), Dione Denize (bass) and Julion Wright (guitar, saxophone) and now they have just released their debut album.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: Obsessed
07 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although Iveta & Simone have been around for a few years, this single is the first time I have come across them. When it commenced, I felt we were in for some sort of electronic dance music, but I soon realized that in many ways they remind me much more of the Eighties band Yazoo.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem