2 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Secrets Of The Sun - Album Review: Obon

19 Sep 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Obon is the debut album from alternative metal band Secrets of the Sun, a quartet based in Wellington. It has been a while in the making, in that the first single, Suffer With The Moon, was actually released a year ago while Wretched Tracks came out in February: both are included here. Although they are obviously a metal act, it is hard to further define their sound as while there are large elements of doom, there is also sludge, alternative, grunge, indie and a lot more going on in here. They build on the atmosphere, creating a soundscape of music with singer/guitarist Mina Perniskie at the heart, who has an unusual style. It is not an unusual within a song for her to use a limited selection of notes, keeping her vocals closely linked to the riffs, which means that everything hits the listener like a wall of sound with all layers mixed closely together. Due to this the instrument which often stands out are the drums of Joseph James, but even here the snare does not have the cut through one might expect.

All this is one of the reasons that Letter Home stands out so much, as it is quite at odds with the rest of the album around it. Here the guitars are picked, there is some space and lightness within it while we even get some harmony vocals. But for the most part Aimee Eastwood (guitar, keyboards, vocals) and Sarah Lyne (bass) keep it very heavy indeed, with a solid amount of distortion, throwing up a wall of sound. It is where they mix it up more that they are most effective, and towards the end of Wretched Tracks it changes to become something softer and more delicate, and the use of dynamics here is powerful indeed. This does not sound like a modern release but has roots not only to the Nineties’ grunge and indie metal scene, but all the way back to the Seventies. It is dark, oppressive, thought-provoking, yet there is always the impression that in the live environment they take it even further. One issue with the album is that there does need to be more dynamics, more contrast, so that the light emphasises the heavy and turns it into something even more monstrous, But when/if Auckland are out of lockdown I look forward to these guys coming up here to play at Dead Witch, as I can see that being a great night indeed.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Secrets Of The Sun

Hailing from Wellington, Secrets of the Sun have charmed with their dark, ethereal melodies and heavy soundscapes. Refusing to be held down to one genre, Secrets of the Sun use their music as an opportunity to explore sounds and styles with inspiration from a multitude of sources.

The band’s first single, Suffer with the Moon, released 25 November 2019 put Secrets of the Sun on the world stage, with plays on local and international radio stations alike.
Now with the imminent release of the new single Wretched Tracks, the band turn away from ethereal shoegaze to a darker, doom rock sound.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Secrets Of The Sun

Releases

Obon
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Xile @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 01/10/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So, it is back out on K Road again for another gig, but strangely enough I am sure this is the first time I have been at Whammy Bar in more than a year, and tonight it is for Xile’s album release show. It shows just what strange times we have been living in as I Am Your God has been out for a couple of years, but this was the first opportunity for them to get out and play, so they were making the most of it.
Read More...
Album Review: Dead Beat Boys
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I’ve always had a soft spot for punk, ever since it exploded in the UK and my dad told me he would kick me out if he ever found any of that music in my collection. I was just 14 when the Pistols were due to play in the next town over (they were banned instead), and it was the most exciting thing to happen in the local music scene until 1980 when Genesis kicked off their national tour with two dates in Paignton.
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: Temporary Insanity
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was very impressed with the last single I heard of Gabriel’s, 2021’s Lights Burn Low, so when I asked to review this, I was looking forward to it. As I noticed last time, this is full of class with very high production, and does not sound like the performance of a musician who has yet to release his debut EP (out soon).
Read More...
Gig Review: Investigator @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 30/09/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch for another night of rock ‘n’ roll. I have reviewed Investigator quite a lot and saw Crystalator support them the last time I saw them at the Cupid, but tonight the band opening was new to me, Glasshouse Keepers.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Sink or Swim
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Just the opening few bars of their new single lets the listener know that Dead Favours are back, and yet again they mean business. Charlie sets up an intricate backbeat, Kyle and Jared have their guitars in sync, and at the heart of it all is a filthy bassline with Alex providing melodies and countermelodies, so one is brought into the music long before Jared even starts singing!
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: I Talk Too Much
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Auckland trio Imposter Syndrome, which is based strongly on a riffed acoustic guitar (the sound of which is superb, congrats whoever engineered this), with vocals over the top. Due to its nature this has plenty of space within the arrangements as even when additional instruments are added they are sparse, so the concentration is always on the voice and the guitar.
Read More...
Old Salts - EP Review: Stories Told by the Sea
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Alt rockers Old Salts hail from the shores of Bream Bay, Northland, and features John Buckle (lead vocals, guitar) Scott Brown (lead guitar, BV) Marcus Jones (bass, BV), and Lucas Hargreaves (drums, BV). This four-track EP contains three previously released singles plus the new one, Casual Smoker, which they describe as being reminiscent of Barry Manilow meets RHCP.
Read More...
BO And the Constrictors - EP Review: Love
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
These guys are new to me, and when I checked them out, I realised they are from Dunedin, which is why I have not come across them yet on the Auckland circuit, but I do hope they can make it up here at some point as these three songs are a nice slice of rock, and they are doing something quite different with their sound. Named after lead singer/guitarist Boaz Anema, the band also comprises Dean Armitage (bass, backing vocals), Jacob Rutherford (slide guitar) and Callan Carne (drums).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem