18 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Secrets Of The Sun - Album Review: Obon

19 Sep 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Obon is the debut album from alternative metal band Secrets of the Sun, a quartet based in Wellington. It has been a while in the making, in that the first single, Suffer With The Moon, was actually released a year ago while Wretched Tracks came out in February: both are included here. Although they are obviously a metal act, it is hard to further define their sound as while there are large elements of doom, there is also sludge, alternative, grunge, indie and a lot more going on in here. They build on the atmosphere, creating a soundscape of music with singer/guitarist Mina Perniskie at the heart, who has an unusual style. It is not an unusual within a song for her to use a limited selection of notes, keeping her vocals closely linked to the riffs, which means that everything hits the listener like a wall of sound with all layers mixed closely together. Due to this the instrument which often stands out are the drums of Joseph James, but even here the snare does not have the cut through one might expect.

All this is one of the reasons that Letter Home stands out so much, as it is quite at odds with the rest of the album around it. Here the guitars are picked, there is some space and lightness within it while we even get some harmony vocals. But for the most part Aimee Eastwood (guitar, keyboards, vocals) and Sarah Lyne (bass) keep it very heavy indeed, with a solid amount of distortion, throwing up a wall of sound. It is where they mix it up more that they are most effective, and towards the end of Wretched Tracks it changes to become something softer and more delicate, and the use of dynamics here is powerful indeed. This does not sound like a modern release but has roots not only to the Nineties’ grunge and indie metal scene, but all the way back to the Seventies. It is dark, oppressive, thought-provoking, yet there is always the impression that in the live environment they take it even further. One issue with the album is that there does need to be more dynamics, more contrast, so that the light emphasises the heavy and turns it into something even more monstrous, But when/if Auckland are out of lockdown I look forward to these guys coming up here to play at Dead Witch, as I can see that being a great night indeed.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Secrets Of The Sun

Hailing from Wellington, Secrets of the Sun have charmed with their dark, ethereal melodies and heavy soundscapes. Refusing to be held down to one genre, Secrets of the Sun use their music as an opportunity to explore sounds and styles with inspiration from a multitude of sources.

The band’s first single, Suffer with the Moon, released 25 November 2019 put Secrets of the Sun on the world stage, with plays on local and international radio stations alike.
Now with the imminent release of the new single Wretched Tracks, the band turn away from ethereal shoegaze to a darker, doom rock sound.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Secrets Of The Sun

Releases

Obon
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Sam Bartells - Single Review: Bring You Down
17 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Sam Bartells is back with his new single Bring You Down, which finds him taking quite a different approach to Where We'll Go, which also featured Mema Wilda. Whereas he normally sits quite happily within alt country, here we see him using that as a base and then moving in a much rockier direction.
Read More...
Jenny Mitchell - Single Review: Trouble Finds A Girl with Tami Neilson
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The Auckland Folk Festival earlier this year was an embarrassment of riches, with so many great Kiwi artists playing multiple sets, and I spent the weekend trying to soak in as much as possible. There is no doubt that one of the highlights was Jenny Mitchell, who with her sisters Nicola and Maegan, provided warm and emotional country music in a style which seemed very much at odds with her age.
Read More...
Bianca Rae - Single Review: Flower
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when the music world is very small indeed, which is why earlier this year I found myself at The Portland Public House in Auckland to see a singer-songwriter, having been put in contact by a fellow reviewer who is in the UK. Even though Bianca Rae was the support, and everything was running late, she refused to let anything get to her, and I thoroughly enjoyed her set.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Green Cones
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Following on from the single Pay, which I reviewed a few months back, Blue River Baby (BRBB) are back with the second single from their second album, which is due next year. We find them moving much more into a dub style, with Ree Thomson’s wonderfully clear vocals very much the centre of attention.
Read More...
Downfall of Humanity - EP Review: Deceit
10 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often that a band can say they have had the same line-up for more than 10 years, but Auckland metal act Downfall of Humanity can claim just that. Daniel Carleton (lead vocals), Alex Carleton (guitars, backing vocals), Bryce Patten (guitars, backing vocals), Ben Pegman (bass) and Ben Bakker (drums) have a reputation for always delivering the goods, and I count myself lucky to have caught them a few times in the last year.
Read More...
The Rocky Bay Midnights - Album Review: Songs About People We Know
10 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The Rocky Bay Midnights are a Waiheke Island-based group who first started some three years ago when Meredith Wilkie (vocals, percussion) and Kyla Dyresen (keyboard/piano) were both independently looking for musicians, to work with, and decided to form a band together. It took quite a while for them to settle on the current line-up of Simon McDowell (drums), Dione Denize (bass) and Julion Wright (guitar, saxophone) and now they have just released their debut album.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: Obsessed
07 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although Iveta & Simone have been around for a few years, this single is the first time I have come across them. When it commenced, I felt we were in for some sort of electronic dance music, but I soon realized that in many ways they remind me much more of the Eighties band Yazoo.
Read More...
Shihad - Album Review: Old Gods
07 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt that Shihad are the Kiwi rock band who should have broken America 20 years ago, and if it wasn’t for a series of unfortunate events such as the attack on the Twin Towers, which caused the band to change their name (Shihad being too close to Jihad, but while Pacifier may have seemed a good idea on paper, it wasn’t and they eventually switched back), or accidently upsetting virtually every record label at a showcase gig, then they would have been. The first time I saw Shihad was at Western Springs opening for AC/DC, and there is no doubt that the guys were blown away by the reaction, as it seemed that although everyone was there for the main event, they were all diehard Shihad fans as well, singing along to every song.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem