18 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Glenn Bodger - Album Review: I'll Leave The Light On

16 Sep 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Here we have the debut solo album from Glenn Bodger, who provided most of the instrumentation himself, although he has also been assisted by former Braintree bandmate Darryn Harkness, who helped with additional guitar, bass and keyboards where required. From the gentle, almost cautiously picked acoustic guitar notes on opener I’ll Leave The Light On, we are brought carefully into a world which is dated yet fresh, comfortable but new, as he mixes together different musical elements in an independent, alternative style which is often somehow commercial and others when they are definitely not. Looking for some musical comparisons? How about mixing Blur with Mumford & Sons and folk while also bringing in healthy doses of NZ-style Americana?

There is a lot going on here, but the arrangements feel free and uncluttered with space being an incredibly important element. Both Glenn and Darryn sound incredibly relaxed, as if there were no pressure during the recording which allowed them to really get into the flow and feel the music working through them. There is a passion and honesty which resonates with the listener, ensuring they want to stay on the journey through to the end. The most recent of the three singles taken from the album is the wonderfully titled All's Well Down Orwell's Well, which gets me every time I play it. It is a more up-tempo number, with some lovely psychedelic organ that makes it feel very dated indeed, but after he sings the words staying silent, it literally stops for a second with no warning, and each time, I look at the player to see if it is still working. That is just one of the elements which makes this such a fun album to listen to.

It is lo-fi and boutique, alternative and really real, and when an old slide gets brought into Saviour, one just says, why not? There are definitely touches which are reminiscent here and there of some of Jack White’s solo material, and one can easily imagine this taking place in an old barn somewhere. There is an earnestness and drive which is often missing from the mass created pap churned out by so many large record labels, combined with a grit and feeling of connection. The album is based around the acoustic guitar, and there are times when it is simply beautiful, creating very special moments and there are others where the ear is drawn to the vocals, to the great hooks and melodies being created. Glenn lives in Christchurch these days, but is originally from Auckland, so I can only hope that when the COVID madness is over he will come back up to his old stomping ground as this is a great album and I very much look forward to catching him perform it live.

If you enjoy real songs created in a folk/Americana/Alternative base with wonderful melodies, then this is for you.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Glenn Bodger

Originally from Auckland, Glenn Bodger is a Christchurch based alternative singer-songwriter who dabbles in the field of patchwork music videos and films. Once upon a time, Bodger was lead vocalist in Auckland band Braintree (EP released with Wildside Records).

Debut album I'll Leave The Light On to be released September 17th 2021.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Glenn Bodger

Releases

I'll Leave The Light On
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Sam Bartells - Single Review: Bring You Down
17 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Sam Bartells is back with his new single Bring You Down, which finds him taking quite a different approach to Where We'll Go, which also featured Mema Wilda. Whereas he normally sits quite happily within alt country, here we see him using that as a base and then moving in a much rockier direction.
Read More...
Jenny Mitchell - Single Review: Trouble Finds A Girl with Tami Neilson
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The Auckland Folk Festival earlier this year was an embarrassment of riches, with so many great Kiwi artists playing multiple sets, and I spent the weekend trying to soak in as much as possible. There is no doubt that one of the highlights was Jenny Mitchell, who with her sisters Nicola and Maegan, provided warm and emotional country music in a style which seemed very much at odds with her age.
Read More...
Bianca Rae - Single Review: Flower
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when the music world is very small indeed, which is why earlier this year I found myself at The Portland Public House in Auckland to see a singer-songwriter, having been put in contact by a fellow reviewer who is in the UK. Even though Bianca Rae was the support, and everything was running late, she refused to let anything get to her, and I thoroughly enjoyed her set.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Green Cones
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Following on from the single Pay, which I reviewed a few months back, Blue River Baby (BRBB) are back with the second single from their second album, which is due next year. We find them moving much more into a dub style, with Ree Thomson’s wonderfully clear vocals very much the centre of attention.
Read More...
Downfall of Humanity - EP Review: Deceit
10 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often that a band can say they have had the same line-up for more than 10 years, but Auckland metal act Downfall of Humanity can claim just that. Daniel Carleton (lead vocals), Alex Carleton (guitars, backing vocals), Bryce Patten (guitars, backing vocals), Ben Pegman (bass) and Ben Bakker (drums) have a reputation for always delivering the goods, and I count myself lucky to have caught them a few times in the last year.
Read More...
The Rocky Bay Midnights - Album Review: Songs About People We Know
10 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The Rocky Bay Midnights are a Waiheke Island-based group who first started some three years ago when Meredith Wilkie (vocals, percussion) and Kyla Dyresen (keyboard/piano) were both independently looking for musicians, to work with, and decided to form a band together. It took quite a while for them to settle on the current line-up of Simon McDowell (drums), Dione Denize (bass) and Julion Wright (guitar, saxophone) and now they have just released their debut album.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: Obsessed
07 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although Iveta & Simone have been around for a few years, this single is the first time I have come across them. When it commenced, I felt we were in for some sort of electronic dance music, but I soon realized that in many ways they remind me much more of the Eighties band Yazoo.
Read More...
Shihad - Album Review: Old Gods
07 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt that Shihad are the Kiwi rock band who should have broken America 20 years ago, and if it wasn’t for a series of unfortunate events such as the attack on the Twin Towers, which caused the band to change their name (Shihad being too close to Jihad, but while Pacifier may have seemed a good idea on paper, it wasn’t and they eventually switched back), or accidently upsetting virtually every record label at a showcase gig, then they would have been. The first time I saw Shihad was at Western Springs opening for AC/DC, and there is no doubt that the guys were blown away by the reaction, as it seemed that although everyone was there for the main event, they were all diehard Shihad fans as well, singing along to every song.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem