30 Nov 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Glenn Bodger - Album Review: I'll Leave The Light On

16 Sep 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Here we have the debut solo album from Glenn Bodger, who provided most of the instrumentation himself, although he has also been assisted by former Braintree bandmate Darryn Harkness, who helped with additional guitar, bass and keyboards where required. From the gentle, almost cautiously picked acoustic guitar notes on opener I’ll Leave The Light On, we are brought carefully into a world which is dated yet fresh, comfortable but new, as he mixes together different musical elements in an independent, alternative style which is often somehow commercial and others when they are definitely not. Looking for some musical comparisons? How about mixing Blur with Mumford & Sons and folk while also bringing in healthy doses of NZ-style Americana?

There is a lot going on here, but the arrangements feel free and uncluttered with space being an incredibly important element. Both Glenn and Darryn sound incredibly relaxed, as if there were no pressure during the recording which allowed them to really get into the flow and feel the music working through them. There is a passion and honesty which resonates with the listener, ensuring they want to stay on the journey through to the end. The most recent of the three singles taken from the album is the wonderfully titled All's Well Down Orwell's Well, which gets me every time I play it. It is a more up-tempo number, with some lovely psychedelic organ that makes it feel very dated indeed, but after he sings the words staying silent, it literally stops for a second with no warning, and each time, I look at the player to see if it is still working. That is just one of the elements which makes this such a fun album to listen to.

It is lo-fi and boutique, alternative and really real, and when an old slide gets brought into Saviour, one just says, why not? There are definitely touches which are reminiscent here and there of some of Jack White’s solo material, and one can easily imagine this taking place in an old barn somewhere. There is an earnestness and drive which is often missing from the mass created pap churned out by so many large record labels, combined with a grit and feeling of connection. The album is based around the acoustic guitar, and there are times when it is simply beautiful, creating very special moments and there are others where the ear is drawn to the vocals, to the great hooks and melodies being created. Glenn lives in Christchurch these days, but is originally from Auckland, so I can only hope that when the COVID madness is over he will come back up to his old stomping ground as this is a great album and I very much look forward to catching him perform it live.

If you enjoy real songs created in a folk/Americana/Alternative base with wonderful melodies, then this is for you.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Glenn Bodger

Originally from Auckland, Glenn Bodger is a Christchurch based alternative singer-songwriter who dabbles in the field of patchwork music videos and films. Once upon a time, Bodger was lead vocalist in Auckland band Braintree (EP released with Wildside Records).

Debut album I'll Leave The Light On to be released September 17th 2021.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Glenn Bodger

Releases

I'll Leave The Light On
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

A Radical Sun - Single Review: Love Shakes
28 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Everyone in Auckland has been incredibly frustrated with the lockdown which has now stretched past 100 days, impacting everyone inside the borders. Obviously one group which have been unable to work are the gigging musicians, which has seen some of them go into the studio or even start new projects.
Read More...
Single/Video Review: The Not Okays - Bite Me
28 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The Not Okays are a band who originally formed a few years ago just to have some fun at the Emo nights put on at Ding Dong Lounge. They comprise Noriel Wong (guitar), Aaron Prictor (guitar, vocals), Lauren Kate Borhani (vocals), Caitlin Clark (bass) and Bahador Borhani (drums).
Read More...
Ellery Daines - Single Review: No-One
27 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Ellery Daines is a multi-instrumentalist, songwriter, producer, and mixing engineer from Nelson, now based in the Norwegian Arctic city of Tromsø. Over the last five years he wrote, recorded, and mixed his debut album, Failure Thirty Minutes Deep, scheduled for release in 2022 and No-One is the first single and is a truly solo affair as Ellery performed all instruments and vocal parts, as well as producing and mixing the song.
Read More...
The Sam Loveridge Band - Single/Video Review: I Wanna Dance
21 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Sam and the guys are back with the second single from the forthcoming album, Recovery, and if ever they were looking for radio play I can pretty much guarantee this will not be getting it with this one. The simple reason is that in the key part of the chorus, people get asked to go forth and multiply, and somehow, I don’t think the mainstream are quite ready for that yet.
Read More...
Gramsci - Single/Video Review: Ourselves
18 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I first came across Gramsci last year when they released the amazing album Inheritance, which was then followed up with a theatre performance which was stunning by all accounts (I was gutted not to be able to make it). But I am very late to the piece indeed, as Gramsci are the brainchild of Paul McLaney who is so productive that he has lost count of the works he has undertaken to date.
Read More...
Pervertor - Album Review: Putrid Dominion
18 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Wellington-based blackened thrash outfit Pervertor are back with their third-full length album, Putrid Dominion, some four years since Perverted Tales of Depravity. Since they released their first demo back in 2009 the band have had the same line-up throughout of Necroar (vocals), Inebriator (guitar), Carnage (bass), and Rots (drums).
Read More...
On Tick - Album Review: Nothing New
18 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
On Tick was formed by brothers Brendan (vocals and drums) and Aidan O'Loughlin (vocals, guitar), out of the ashes of their previous band, Evil Tomato. They decided to work as a rough and raw punk duo, adapting some of the older songs to their new style, a few of which can be heard here.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - Single Review: Take It Or Leave It
17 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I must confess to doing a little bit of a double take when I first saw a photo of these guys, as it looked like none of them were old enough to shave! A check of their bio and I was able to see that the band comprises Archie Orbell (16), Clarke West (16), Henry McConnell (16) & Otis Murphy (14) – when a group put their age into their bio you know they are young.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • OH MY GOD
    Adele
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • I DRINK WINE
    Adele
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • MY LITTLE LOVE
    Adele
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem