19 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

NahBo - Album Review: Ruptured

14 Sep 2021 // A review by Cathy Elizabeth
NahBo (Taranaki Ah Young-Grace) is breaking down creative barriers with their new album Ruptured. The intro track Download is a futuristic video game-esque prelude which sets the scene for what can only be described as the creation of a new genre (perhaps?) which I found very exciting.


Following on from the prelude is Figure, a track that resonated very much with me, being about recovery, and I love to hear it. The clever and unusual melodies combined with a unique kiwi vocal flow, convey jazz and soul undertones, but done in such a way as to become something different entirely.

What’s In A Name opens with birdsong and the sound of a trickling stream, which anchors NahBo to the natural earth as they wrestle with the deep and opposing forces of identity and heritage. I love the contrast of spoken word against the sung chorus, in a song full of contrasts, but overall one of strength and pride.

Then follows a succession of tracks which unleash a bit of a storm, a stream of consciousness, a tirade, that, while confronting and perhaps even a little intimidating, are clearly the heart and soul of an artist being poured out. There is anger and indignation. Reflections of past and present. A raging against the machine. A lot of which I share the sentiment of, and some that I don’t.

Ruptured is a cutting narrative that may not sit comfortably and prettily in the ear of every listener, but I believe in each person’s right to express themselves, nevertheless. It’s not for me to make commentary on, it’s for me to listen.

The album closes with the soothing instrumental after-care of Out Of Tune … again, unusual, creative, and unique. Just beautiful.

It gave me a lot of joy to hear someone creating and expressing so authentically and fearlessly. The use of snippets and samples in some of the tracks, the unusual timing signatures, the classical elements, all combined with spoken word and song, I mean it really is a completely new genre of music! I look forward to hearing more from NahBo in the future.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About NahBo

Astronesian native NahBo tries on the Soundcloud fuckboy aesthetic, is sad about colonisation, then makes beats about it.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for NahBo

Releases

Ruptured
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Cathy Elizabeth

Taiotims - Single Review: All For You
28 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
This charming track from Mataio Timaloa AKA Taiotims really put a smile on the dial today. With simple uncluttered beats and a nostalgic feel, backing close, intimate vocals that have been recorded in such a way as to capture that up-close-and-personal vibe, and the subject matter “A love letter to my significant other half” is so lovely to hear in Hip-Hop, or any style of music really, what’s not to love about it?
Read More...
Michele Ducray - Single/Video Review: Manifesto
06 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Christchurch-based pop artist Michele Ducray releases her sophomore single Manifesto, complete with slick video clip produced by Shae Sterling, courtesy of NZ On Air. This dark and intriguing track opens in a foreboding room, filled with polaroid pictures hung on strings, and a somewhat disturbed-seeming character sitting on a step, alone.
Read More...
Imugi - EP Review: It's OK To Be A Lil Alien
05 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Auckland-based Imugi is comprised of beatmaker/producer Carl Ruwhiu and songwriter/vocalist Yery Cho. With regular releases since 2017 and some big shows and festivals under their belt, Carl and Yery have carved out a space for themselves in the New Zealand music scene, and don’t look to be going anywhere anytime soon.
Read More...
TUi MAMAKi - EP Review: A L'Aube
11 Feb 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
What an absolute pleasure to dip my toes into the cool water beneath the pier with TUi MAMAKi, and listen to her beautifully immersive EP A L’Aube. The title track is described by TUi MAMAKi as “inspired by a dream in which I met my animus : we sat together on a pier and, feeling no need to speak, played music til dawn.
Read More...
Wubchaser - EP Review: Signal to Noise
29 Dec 2021 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Wubchaser is the electronic music project of Auckland-based sound engineer and producer Luke Finlay of Primal Mastering. Hailing from the alternative music scene and having previously played in metal bands, Finlay has more recently been doing live sound at big events such as RnV, Shipwrecked, Aum, and Splore.
Read More...
Fragile Colours - Album Review: Dancing With The Shadows (In Plato's Cave)
14 Dec 2021 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Studio project Fragile Colours released their second album Dancing With The Shadows (In Plato’s Cave) in June 2021, this time featuring Kamaea Harry on vocals. Nine out of the 10 tracks on the album were penned by Tim Julian specifically with Kamaea’s voice in mind after she sang most of the backing vocals on the previous album Southern Utopia.
Read More...
Fathom - Single Review: Mother Star
26 Nov 2021 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Mother Star is the debut single that introduces Fathom, solo project of Auckland-based Nancy Howie, to the world, with an extravagant and emphatic throwing back of the curtains, and a celebratory sense of letting the sun shine in. I suspect the incredibly creative and resourceful Howie has single-handedly ushered in the Age of Aquarius with this wholesome and uplifting alt-folk anthem.
Read More...
Cloudy - Single Review: Worth It
25 Nov 2021 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Kiwi-Austrian artist Cloudy’s new single Worth It ushers in a new sound and a new era for the Auckland-based singer/songwriter. Now accompanied by a full band, the vibe and the energy of the material has been lifted, and this has opened up exciting new songwriting territory for Claudia Paine and her upcoming EP.
Read More...
View All Articles By Cathy Elizabeth

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem