18 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Comf - Single Review: Do You Feat. Ilena

12 Sep 2021 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Water, Clay, and Ceramic. If the sonic possibilities of these three textures are the question, then Comf’s triptych of EPs, The Texture Tapes, are the proposed hypothesis.

While I can’t speak of the results of the experiment as a whole, part one of part one, the lead single Do You, is an exercise in the weaving together of contrasts.

It’s a breakup song, set to a sexy-time slow jam. It’s high-concept, yet the audio equivalent of the Tumblr aesthetic. It has Comf’s signature James Blake-esque baritone, against Ilena’s ethereal falsetto. The samples are simultaneously smooth, and abrasive. Just like water in different conditions, I suppose.

The presentation is a bit too modern, fashionable, and ephemeral for a nihilistic dad-rocker such as me. It’s not my genre. That’s not to say it won’t be a hit with the vaporwave generation. This is the sound of the mainstream, but I haven’t bathed in those waters for a decade at least. I’m not the target audience, and that’s ok. Not everything has to cater to my tastes. It’s a hard lesson to learn in our egocentric culture sometimes.

Despite feeling aged-out of the loop and irrelevant, I gave it my attention. I watched the RadioActive live set and saw the passion and enthusiasm that goes into performing the songs. I read the poetry of the lyrics, played with the companion website, and listened to the care put into crafting the work. I might not fully get it, but I can still appreciate it.

5 of 5 stars.

You can find Do You on the Comf Bandcamp.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Comf

Comf is the solo project of sonic artist and electronic music lover Jazz Kane. With an appreciation and fascination for a diversity of genre, Comf connects their own personal experiences with manipulated samples of anything and everything, to tell a story that is a constant state of re-evaluation.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Comf

Releases

There are no releases to display for Comf.

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Hazza Making Noise - EP Review: Vengeful Millennial
05 Sep 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
You’re sitting in an average suburban home. A family is sitting at the dinner table in front of you.
Read More...
Scalper - Single Review: Silence Speaks
24 Jul 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Hard to believe it’s been seven years since I heard my first Scalper track My Blood Your Blood. Harder to believe it was only last year I reviewed Scalper’s The Beast & The Beauty.
Read More...
Personal Igloo - Single Review: Material Girl
01 Jul 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
No. This is not a Madonna cover.
Read More...
Hazza Making Noise - Single Review: NoMoreGaps
16 Mar 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
I sometimes wonder what would have happened if Kurt Cobain survived. Would he have kept making music and what would it sound like?
Read More...
You, Me, Everybody - Album Review: Southern Sky
16 Feb 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Deep within the matryoshka doll that is the country genre is a bluegrass doll in cosplay. Sitting on the fire escape of a rundown apartment building, dry buck wheat stem between its teeth, and a rock band shirt, progressive bluegrass is the genre that ran away from its home in the Appalachians and fell in with a different crowd.
Read More...
Kev Rowland - Book Review: The Progressive Underground vol 1 - 3
27 Jan 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
It is an odd circumstance, to be in the position of reviewing reviews. Reviews are one person’s personal, subjective opinion.
Read More...
Scalper - Album Review: The Beast and The Beauty
20 Nov 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
I have reviewed more releases than I have patience to count. Many of the musicians I’ve heard have disappeared from my consciousness and the scene soon after, but there are a few that make such an impression that they stick with me.
Read More...
The Hopkinsville Goblins - Album Review: Hit The # Key
24 Oct 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
“Little Green Men Harass Kentucky Farm Family”. A headline that captured the imaginations of a nation, coined the term for extra-terrestrial visitors, and inspiring Pokemon, films, and musicals.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • GIRLS WANT GIRLS
    Drake feat. Lil Baby
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
  • CHAMPAGNE POETRY
    Drake
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WAY 2 SEXY
    Drake, Future And Young Thug
  • HURRICANE
    Kanye West
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem