4 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Comf - Single Review: Do You Feat. Ilena

12 Sep 2021 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Water, Clay, and Ceramic. If the sonic possibilities of these three textures are the question, then Comf’s triptych of EPs, The Texture Tapes, are the proposed hypothesis.

While I can’t speak of the results of the experiment as a whole, part one of part one, the lead single Do You, is an exercise in the weaving together of contrasts.

It’s a breakup song, set to a sexy-time slow jam. It’s high-concept, yet the audio equivalent of the Tumblr aesthetic. It has Comf’s signature James Blake-esque baritone, against Ilena’s ethereal falsetto. The samples are simultaneously smooth, and abrasive. Just like water in different conditions, I suppose.

The presentation is a bit too modern, fashionable, and ephemeral for a nihilistic dad-rocker such as me. It’s not my genre. That’s not to say it won’t be a hit with the vaporwave generation. This is the sound of the mainstream, but I haven’t bathed in those waters for a decade at least. I’m not the target audience, and that’s ok. Not everything has to cater to my tastes. It’s a hard lesson to learn in our egocentric culture sometimes.

Despite feeling aged-out of the loop and irrelevant, I gave it my attention. I watched the RadioActive live set and saw the passion and enthusiasm that goes into performing the songs. I read the poetry of the lyrics, played with the companion website, and listened to the care put into crafting the work. I might not fully get it, but I can still appreciate it.

5 of 5 stars.

You can find Do You on the Comf Bandcamp.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Comf

Comf is the solo project of sonic artist and electronic music lover Jazz Kane. With an appreciation and fascination for a diversity of genre, Comf connects their own personal experiences with manipulated samples of anything and everything, to tell a story that is a constant state of re-evaluation.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Comf

Releases

Water
Year: 2021
Type: EP
Clay
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Rhombus - Album Review: After Party
26 May 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
I was wearing a New Zealand Music Month hoodie the other week. Upon seeing it, my niece gleefully exclaimed “You’ve got the year I was born on your hoodie.
Read More...
Fear Up Harsh - Album Review: Fear Up Harsh (II)
28 Mar 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
There is a rumour that, when played simultaneously, Fear Up Harsh (II) syncs perfectly with Jim Jarmusch’s The Limits of Control. The rumour is a lie of course, like many rumours are, but you’d be forgiven for believing it.
Read More...
Western Dip - Album Review: Warm Ups
08 Feb 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
It’s been over a decade since I thought “I might listen to some techno”. Probably longer since EDM was even called techno… And even then, the genre was never the main event.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Single Review: Closer
08 Dec 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Here is yet another track that takes me back to the early-90;s. The days of our family following Vince Leatherby, the Happy Wanderer, around the Kiwi country music circuit.
Read More...
The Hopkinsville Goblins - Album Review: Mundivagrants
12 Oct 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Mundivagrants is a weird release. Probably one of the strangest I’ve had to review.
Read More...
Jeivenchy - Single Review: 360
29 Sep 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Take some heartbreak. Write it down.
Read More...
Hazza Making Noise - EP Review: Vengeful Millennial
05 Sep 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
You’re sitting in an average suburban home. A family is sitting at the dinner table in front of you.
Read More...
Scalper - Single Review: Silence Speaks
24 Jul 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Hard to believe it’s been seven years since I heard my first Scalper track My Blood Your Blood. Harder to believe it was only last year I reviewed Scalper’s The Beast & The Beauty.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem