19 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sam V - Single/Video Review: Wired

10 Sep 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Sam V's newest track Wired is another demonstration of how Sam keeps refining his sound. His vision has been getting more focused over time, based on his previous tracks like Cotton Candy which is actually a Y$O track, and Up Up Down. There is a soul sound, infused with funk, in those tracks. Yet with Wired, it is very much stripped back.

Starting with a beautiful sounding guitar idea that runs throughout the track, the song really shines with Sam's vocals. They are crisp, clean, refined and showcase his vocal abilities. In the second verse, there are some words sung in quick succession which never take away from the song. In fact, it mixes it up a bit. This is where the vocals open up to include more backing and where the beat show ups for a moment. The back and forth between what is there, and what isn't, required a few listens to really appreciate how well this track is produced.

The track also features a live orchestral arrangement in collaboration with Reuben Goetz-Wylie. The strings never overstay their welcome. They really augment and add where needed. The accompanying video truly adds to the song, stripped back and putting into the visuals the idea that he is wired a certain way. It's a nice touch.

Clocking in at just over 2 mins, one could argue that we would want to hear more of this track. I would have loved to have heard a bridge, or something more. It feels as the track ends just as it gets started. Whether or not, this is a creative decision to allow for a more expressive and experimental live performance is unknown. Either way, the track serves its purpose and sounds fantastic.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Sam V

Sam V makes music and stuff (normally they call it R&B but not always).

He's lightskin.

* 22 Years old

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sam V

Releases

Cruisin'
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Big Sima - Album Review: Stereotypes of a Polynesian Misunderstood
04 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Currently one of the most active NZ Hip-Hop artists on the live circuit, The Underground King AKA Big Sima is no stranger to the big stage. During his come-up, he has played support for everyone from Busta Rhymes to Bone Thugs 'n Harmony, Guru (Gangstarr), Mobb Deep and Cypress Hill.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: So Sexy
03 Jul 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Y$O returns with a new funky and R&B-infused track So Sexy.From the moment the track starts, I can feel that there is a lot of influence from N.
Read More...
Single/Video Review: Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG - Brothers
04 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new video from Makaveli-C Feat. SNRXG takes Hip-Hop and puts some New Zealand flavour in it.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Close My Eyes
01 Jun 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Paul The Kid is an extremely diverse artist, combining an eclectic mix of contemporary genres with prominent themes of hip-hop, dance and reggae to create absolute bangers. Paul is most at home performing live and his shows generate an eccentric energy that invites the audience to get involved in the party.
Read More...
EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone
13 May 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Ego Prison
28 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
I'm getting to hear more Will McClean... yes please!
Read More...
Hans. - EP Review: Kimyuntak
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Hailing from Auckland, New Zealand, Hans. is an exciting Korean artist that has been dubbed by VICE Magazine as "One of the rising stars of New Zealand Hip Hop.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Diary Entries Vol 1
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
This is a great album. Even at 30 mins long, the overall feel and vibe of it is fantastic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem