18 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Empress - EP Review: Trash Dynasty

10 Sep 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Empress were formed by guitarist/singer Lora Thompson and drummer Craig Gilliver after the demise of their previous project, Cheshire Grimm with whom they toured the length of NZ, played with international acts and local superstars, as well as releasing material along the way. The lead track from this EP, Sailing the Seas of Grease, was actually released towards the end of 2020 but it has taken until now for their six-track 23-minute-long debut EP to made available. I am always interested in how bands describe their own music, as it can give valuable pointers into how they view themselves, and when I saw them say that it was as "If Chelsea Wolf and the Melvins had a reggae baby and fed it to Courtney Love", I knew it would be fun.

There is bass on the EP, providing a thicker bottom end, but when the guys play it is just the duo, and while I cannot hear much reggae in here, there is no doubt the DIY indie punk sound of bands like The Melvins have had a massive impact, into which you could also add the likes of The Pixies, plus plenty of CBGB aggression, all of which contrasts greatly with the Lora’s vocals. These are often delicate and quite at odds with the repeated crunching sound taking place underneath, with her melodic pop sensibilities quite at odds with the music. However, there are also times when she becomes far punkier in outlook, with a real edge and sense of menace. The music is often repetitive and basic, which causes an almost hypnotic state in the listener, with the vocals at one level and quote removed from the layers below. The bass and drums often play the same line, while the drums are hooked in, and they all hit the beat hard.

Not only is Mental Health Inquiry the longest son on the EP, at more than five minutes in length, but it is also the most complex as it moves through many different musical styles. This is one number where the dub can be heard, yet there is a lengthy section which is reminiscent of something far trippier and more distorted, straight out of the Sixties garage scene. This is honest music, not trying to be anything it isn’t, with the guys laying it all out there, take it or leave it. Theftones is another highlight, with Lora being gentle and almost delicate in the beginning, yet by the end it is far more frantic as they hit for the jugular. Overall, there is a lot of variety within the six songs, all with passion and enthusiasm, and I bet these guys are a load of fun in concert. Until Tamaki Makaurau gets out of lockdown I’ll just have to keep playing this = raw, jagged and real.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Empress

Empress are a high-energy, heavy 2-piece hailing from Auckland and Hamilton. They describe their sound as "If Chelsea Wolf and the Melvins had a reggae baby and fed it to Courtney Love".

The band grew from the ashes of both members previous project, Cheshire Grimm, who formed in 2012 and disbanded in 2018, with a long list of achievements to their name in that time, including supports for countless NZ & international acts, 2 EPs released, 2 Australian tours and countless NZ shows incl 2 headlining tours of both the North and South Islands.

Empress, though comprised only of front-woman Lora and rhythm section Craig, is a substantially heavier and chunkier sound.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Empress

Releases

Trash Dynasty
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
Black Sands - Single Review: Apocalypse of Eden
22 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
To my mind this single is long overdue, as I have been lucky enough to catch these guys play live a few times this year and they always put on an amazing show. Comprising Cameron Owens (guitars), Ruaidri Keens (guitars), Matt Hammond (bass) and James Trimmer (drums) they are one of those very rare breeds, a hard-hitting metal act with no need for a singer.
Read More...
Kev's Top 10's - 2021
20 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2021 has been a strange year, of that there has been no doubt whatsoever, but although everyone in Auckland is champing at the bit to be let out into the real world, it is probably best to remind ourselves that until we went into lockdown in August we were the envy of the world with festivals, plenty of beer, and the country being totally open (apart from the borders). At that time, I had been to more than 30 gigs, and was on course to hit 50 for the year, never thinking for a minute that August would be the last time I saw a band play live.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - Album Review: The Finished Touch
19 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is a direct continuation of the work displayed by Samantha on the Fly Bird Fly EP which came out a few months ago, except this time around she has managed to secure the services of drummers Mars Slater Vitai and Olive Konai, who between them share the duties on this 16-track 39-minute-long album. They fit in well with the ethos and spirit of Samantha, not attempting to bring in any finesse of polish, but instead keeping to the very lo-fi and naïve approach demonstrated by the singer/guitarist.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem