19 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Empress - EP Review: Trash Dynasty

10 Sep 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Empress were formed by guitarist/singer Lora Thompson and drummer Craig Gilliver after the demise of their previous project, Cheshire Grimm with whom they toured the length of NZ, played with international acts and local superstars, as well as releasing material along the way. The lead track from this EP, Sailing the Seas of Grease, was actually released towards the end of 2020 but it has taken until now for their six-track 23-minute-long debut EP to made available. I am always interested in how bands describe their own music, as it can give valuable pointers into how they view themselves, and when I saw them say that it was as "If Chelsea Wolf and the Melvins had a reggae baby and fed it to Courtney Love", I knew it would be fun.

There is bass on the EP, providing a thicker bottom end, but when the guys play it is just the duo, and while I cannot hear much reggae in here, there is no doubt the DIY indie punk sound of bands like The Melvins have had a massive impact, into which you could also add the likes of The Pixies, plus plenty of CBGB aggression, all of which contrasts greatly with the Lora’s vocals. These are often delicate and quite at odds with the repeated crunching sound taking place underneath, with her melodic pop sensibilities quite at odds with the music. However, there are also times when she becomes far punkier in outlook, with a real edge and sense of menace. The music is often repetitive and basic, which causes an almost hypnotic state in the listener, with the vocals at one level and quote removed from the layers below. The bass and drums often play the same line, while the drums are hooked in, and they all hit the beat hard.

Not only is Mental Health Inquiry the longest son on the EP, at more than five minutes in length, but it is also the most complex as it moves through many different musical styles. This is one number where the dub can be heard, yet there is a lengthy section which is reminiscent of something far trippier and more distorted, straight out of the Sixties garage scene. This is honest music, not trying to be anything it isn’t, with the guys laying it all out there, take it or leave it. Theftones is another highlight, with Lora being gentle and almost delicate in the beginning, yet by the end it is far more frantic as they hit for the jugular. Overall, there is a lot of variety within the six songs, all with passion and enthusiasm, and I bet these guys are a load of fun in concert. Until Tamaki Makaurau gets out of lockdown I’ll just have to keep playing this = raw, jagged and real.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Empress

Empress are a high-energy, heavy 2-piece hailing from Auckland and Hamilton. They describe their sound as "If Chelsea Wolf and the Melvins had a reggae baby and fed it to Courtney Love".

The band grew from the ashes of both members previous project, Cheshire Grimm, who formed in 2012 and disbanded in 2018, with a long list of achievements to their name in that time, including supports for countless NZ & international acts, 2 EPs released, 2 Australian tours and countless NZ shows incl 2 headlining tours of both the North and South Islands.

Empress, though comprised only of front-woman Lora and rhythm section Craig, is a substantially heavier and chunkier sound.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Empress

Releases

Trash Dynasty
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Written By Wolves - EP Review: Secrets - The Collab Project
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Since I started writing for New Zealand’s #1 music site, https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Alien Weaponry - Album Review: Tangaroa
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt whatsoever that Alien Weaponry have captured the imagination not only of the New Zealand public, but metalheads worldwide, with their combination of groove and thrash metal mixing with their Maori heritage to create something very special indeed. There really is no other band quite like them, although I do sometimes find myself thinking of the impact of Sepultura and their Roots album, but one does need to remember that was Sepultura’s sixth album, some 12 years after their first release.
Read More...
Domingo Candelario - EP Review: Sin Palabras
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is always a very Cuban base to his music, Domingo has covered many different styles, as he transcends culture and language: music is about expressing emotions honestly and he tries to be as unique as he can.  As a child, his parents listened to a lot of Brazilian music, and he was fascinated by the way they used harmonies: it was so beautifully put together, so soft and in connection with the soul.
Read More...
Glenn Bodger - Album Review: I'll Leave The Light On
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Glenn Bodger, who provided most of the instrumentation himself, although he has also been assisted by former Braintree bandmate Darryn Harkness, who helped with additional guitar, bass and keyboards where required. From the gentle, almost cautiously picked acoustic guitar notes on opener I’ll Leave The Light On, we are brought carefully into a world which is dated yet fresh, comfortable but new, as he mixes together different musical elements in an independent, alternative style which is often somehow commercial and others when they are definitely not.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - EP Review: Fly Bird Fly
15 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Samantha Josephine's six-track Fly Bird Fly EP is less than 13 minutes long, but in many ways that makes total sense, as there is a feeling within this that we are being allowed into a secret and very personal world and that it would be intrusive to stay for too long. One can imagine Samantha performing in a corner, hoping that no-one will see or hear her, and when I read in her bio that only her girlfriend has seen her perform in the last year, and that even she is not allowed to be around when Samantha is writing, then it makes perfect sense.
Read More...
The Night - Single Review: Untouchable
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This cannot be right. According to the information I have in front of me, this Wellington-based band was formed from a group of music students in 2017, started performing live in 2018, and their ages now range from 15 to 18!
Read More...
Channeled - EP Review: Perception
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
As I have said previously, 2020 was a breakthrough year for Channeled, as Ben Ruegg recorded the second album and formed an operational live band to make it more than just a studio project. They made it through to the final of the Ding Dong Lounge Battle of the Bands and set up a headline show at the same venue with Cafe Fistfight and Mariner as support to celebrate the release of I Heard Penelope Sing, but then disaster struck with Ben being rushed to hospital following a Grand Mal seizure.
Read More...
Venom Dolls - EP Review: Venom Dolls
08 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Venom Dolls are an all-female indie punk trio who formed at the end of last year, and comprise lead guitarist Carawai Gao, drummer Summah Auvae, and vocalist/bassist Jessica Frank. From looking at their photos I can see they have played Dead Witch, so I am going to have to pay closer attention to the gig listings as I have been to that venue a lot this past year, but somehow have missed these guys.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem