7 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Empress - EP Review: Trash Dynasty

10 Sep 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Empress were formed by guitarist/singer Lora Thompson and drummer Craig Gilliver after the demise of their previous project, Cheshire Grimm with whom they toured the length of NZ, played with international acts and local superstars, as well as releasing material along the way. The lead track from this EP, Sailing the Seas of Grease, was actually released towards the end of 2020 but it has taken until now for their six-track 23-minute-long debut EP to made available. I am always interested in how bands describe their own music, as it can give valuable pointers into how they view themselves, and when I saw them say that it was as "If Chelsea Wolf and the Melvins had a reggae baby and fed it to Courtney Love", I knew it would be fun.

There is bass on the EP, providing a thicker bottom end, but when the guys play it is just the duo, and while I cannot hear much reggae in here, there is no doubt the DIY indie punk sound of bands like The Melvins have had a massive impact, into which you could also add the likes of The Pixies, plus plenty of CBGB aggression, all of which contrasts greatly with the Lora’s vocals. These are often delicate and quite at odds with the repeated crunching sound taking place underneath, with her melodic pop sensibilities quite at odds with the music. However, there are also times when she becomes far punkier in outlook, with a real edge and sense of menace. The music is often repetitive and basic, which causes an almost hypnotic state in the listener, with the vocals at one level and quote removed from the layers below. The bass and drums often play the same line, while the drums are hooked in, and they all hit the beat hard.

Not only is Mental Health Inquiry the longest son on the EP, at more than five minutes in length, but it is also the most complex as it moves through many different musical styles. This is one number where the dub can be heard, yet there is a lengthy section which is reminiscent of something far trippier and more distorted, straight out of the Sixties garage scene. This is honest music, not trying to be anything it isn’t, with the guys laying it all out there, take it or leave it. Theftones is another highlight, with Lora being gentle and almost delicate in the beginning, yet by the end it is far more frantic as they hit for the jugular. Overall, there is a lot of variety within the six songs, all with passion and enthusiasm, and I bet these guys are a load of fun in concert. Until Tamaki Makaurau gets out of lockdown I’ll just have to keep playing this = raw, jagged and real.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Empress

Empress are a high-energy, heavy 2-piece hailing from Auckland and Hamilton. They describe their sound as "If Chelsea Wolf and the Melvins had a reggae baby and fed it to Courtney Love".

The band grew from the ashes of both members previous project, Cheshire Grimm, who formed in 2012 and disbanded in 2018, with a long list of achievements to their name in that time, including supports for countless NZ & international acts, 2 EPs released, 2 Australian tours and countless NZ shows incl 2 headlining tours of both the North and South Islands.

Empress, though comprised only of front-woman Lora and rhythm section Craig, is a substantially heavier and chunkier sound.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Empress

Releases

Trash Dynasty
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Sonic Delusion - Single/Video Review: Fingertips
06 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this year I was fortunate enough to come across the incredible album When Turkeys Fly by Turkey The Bird which meant I was determined to see them when they came to Auckland and had an amazing evening. One member of that trio is André Manella, who has also been touring as Sonic Delusion, and over the last eight years he has played more than 800 shows and released five albums.
Read More...
Gig Review: T-Bone @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 03/07/2022
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to Tuning Fork for an early start with doors opening at 5:30 and the whole thing expected to be over by 9:30! I was so glad that Al from Hoop sent me the running times in the morning otherwise I would have missed their set altogether as well as possibly missing the beginning of T-Bone!
Read More...
EP Review: Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
What we have here is the debut collaboration from Ange.Mac and Shaun Garea.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pale Flag @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/07/2022
02 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight, I was supposed to be at The Tuning Fork for Ekko Park and Jordan Luck but the dreaded Covid had cast its spell and the gig was cancelled earlier in the week. I did a quick check to see what was on at Dead Witch and discovered there was a four-band bill and knowing three of them I could see it was going to be a good night so decided to head that way.
Read More...
Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you).
Read More...
Ed Waaka - Single Review: E Kura
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It did not take long for me to fall in love with this song, probably the first 30 seconds I guess, as there is something about it which grabs hold the listener, puts them in a safe place, and lets the singer bare their soul. Soul, yes, this is full of it in a musical sense as well as an emotional one, and when I discovered he was singing about the upcoming birth of his first daughter, whether he would be a good father, and the need to reconnect to his Maori heritage it made a great deal of sense.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - Single Review: Crush
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the lead single from Danica Bryant’s forthcoming EP, Ego Death, and if this is fully representative, then that is something to look out for. For a young artist she has already had considerable success, mentoring with Bic Runga while also gaining a support slot for Elton John on his ‘Farewell Yellow Brick Road’ tour, and while she has already tasted success on the NZ Hot Singles Chart, I am sure this is going to head the same way.
Read More...
Tia Ward - EP Review: Me and Me Too
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut EP from Hawkes Bay singer Tia Ward, following on from two singles which were released ahead of time, Under Wraps and Paint Dry, both of which are included here. The first thing which the listener notices are her vocals, which are both understated yet firmly to the fore.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem