23 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Venom Dolls - Venom Dolls - EP Review: Venom Dolls

08 Sep 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Venom Dolls are an all-female indie punk trio who formed at the end of last year, and comprise lead guitarist Carawai Gao, drummer Summah Auvae, and vocalist/bassist Jessica Frank. From looking at their photos I can see they have played Dead Witch, so I am going to have to pay closer attention to the gig listings as I have been to that venue a lot this past year, but somehow have missed these guys. From their attitude and imagery, I expected them to be a brash and over the top punk outfit who are right in your face, and while that is more the case for A.L.A.B., that is actually the fourth number of their five-track 17-minute-long EP.  When their debut kicked off with Don’t Wanna Be, I had to do a doubletake as this is not what I expected at all. This was sweet, wonderful vocals, gently strummed electric, and even when they jumped into the song properly, there was still a huge amount of melody in what they are doing.

While this is melodic punk, it has much more in common with the NZ and UK scene that it does the modern American, as while there is polish, it somehow feels more real and genuine. I am sure there is more grit and fire in their live performances, and I note they thank Melanie for assistance in some of the recordings and I can only imagine the two of them playing together, as that would surely be a great night. There is a swagger in this, a confidence in songs such as No One Likes Mary Sue, which shows just how much work they have put in, given that they have been together for less than a year. The drums are rock solid at the back, the bass is tied in, there is some nice stuff happening on the guitar, and Jessica can be sweetness and light or provide a real edge, but always incredibly melodic and tuneful, which is sometimes used to provide a great contrast to what is happening musically underneath.    

There is also a great amount of variety within the five songs, and it is not unusual for them to have different sections within them, while the guitar solo in Woeman’s Lullaby is wonderful in its simplicity and the way it takes the song in a very different direction. There is a great deal of contrast in what they do, which allows them to build dynamics and have plenty of light and shade. Overall, this is a very promising start indeed, and I am really looking forward to hearing more. Solid, tight, and great fun.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Venom Dolls

Venom Dolls are a 3 piece all-female indie punk band formed at the end of 2020. Featuring a no-fucks-given attitude and a killer sound, they are shaking up the Tamaki Makaurau underground scene. The outfit consists of lead guitarist Carawai Gao, Summah the drummer Auvae, and vocalist/bassist Jessica Frank.

With a freshly released EP and host of experience performing at local venues, their fast paced, highly relatable tunes are sure to get you dancing/moshing/accidentally injuring your neighbour.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Venom Dolls

Releases

The Venom Dolls
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Album Review: Black Alpine
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Album Review: Obon
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Obon is the debut album from alternative metal band Secrets of the Sun, a quartet based in Wellington. It has been a while in the making, in that the first single, Suffer With The Moon, was actually released a year ago while Wretched Tracks came out in February: both are included here.
Read More...
Written By Wolves - EP Review: Secrets - The Collab Project
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Since I started writing for New Zealand’s #1 music site, https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Alien Weaponry - Album Review: Tangaroa
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt whatsoever that Alien Weaponry have captured the imagination not only of the New Zealand public, but metalheads worldwide, with their combination of groove and thrash metal mixing with their Maori heritage to create something very special indeed. There really is no other band quite like them, although I do sometimes find myself thinking of the impact of Sepultura and their Roots album, but one does need to remember that was Sepultura’s sixth album, some 12 years after their first release.
Read More...
Domingo Candelario - EP Review: Sin Palabras
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is always a very Cuban base to his music, Domingo has covered many different styles, as he transcends culture and language: music is about expressing emotions honestly and he tries to be as unique as he can.  As a child, his parents listened to a lot of Brazilian music, and he was fascinated by the way they used harmonies: it was so beautifully put together, so soft and in connection with the soul.
Read More...
Glenn Bodger - Album Review: I'll Leave The Light On
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Glenn Bodger, who provided most of the instrumentation himself, although he has also been assisted by former Braintree bandmate Darryn Harkness, who helped with additional guitar, bass and keyboards where required. From the gentle, almost cautiously picked acoustic guitar notes on opener I’ll Leave The Light On, we are brought carefully into a world which is dated yet fresh, comfortable but new, as he mixes together different musical elements in an independent, alternative style which is often somehow commercial and others when they are definitely not.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - EP Review: Fly Bird Fly
15 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Samantha Josephine's six-track Fly Bird Fly EP is less than 13 minutes long, but in many ways that makes total sense, as there is a feeling within this that we are being allowed into a secret and very personal world and that it would be intrusive to stay for too long. One can imagine Samantha performing in a corner, hoping that no-one will see or hear her, and when I read in her bio that only her girlfriend has seen her perform in the last year, and that even she is not allowed to be around when Samantha is writing, then it makes perfect sense.
Read More...
The Night - Single Review: Untouchable
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This cannot be right. According to the information I have in front of me, this Wellington-based band was formed from a group of music students in 2017, started performing live in 2018, and their ages now range from 15 to 18!
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem