30 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Venom Dolls - Venom Dolls - EP Review: Venom Dolls

08 Sep 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Venom Dolls are an all-female indie punk trio who formed at the end of last year, and comprise lead guitarist Carawai Gao, drummer Summah Auvae, and vocalist/bassist Jessica Frank. From looking at their photos I can see they have played Dead Witch, so I am going to have to pay closer attention to the gig listings as I have been to that venue a lot this past year, but somehow have missed these guys. From their attitude and imagery, I expected them to be a brash and over the top punk outfit who are right in your face, and while that is more the case for A.L.A.B., that is actually the fourth number of their five-track 17-minute-long EP.  When their debut kicked off with Don’t Wanna Be, I had to do a doubletake as this is not what I expected at all. This was sweet, wonderful vocals, gently strummed electric, and even when they jumped into the song properly, there was still a huge amount of melody in what they are doing.

While this is melodic punk, it has much more in common with the NZ and UK scene that it does the modern American, as while there is polish, it somehow feels more real and genuine. I am sure there is more grit and fire in their live performances, and I note they thank Melanie for assistance in some of the recordings and I can only imagine the two of them playing together, as that would surely be a great night. There is a swagger in this, a confidence in songs such as No One Likes Mary Sue, which shows just how much work they have put in, given that they have been together for less than a year. The drums are rock solid at the back, the bass is tied in, there is some nice stuff happening on the guitar, and Jessica can be sweetness and light or provide a real edge, but always incredibly melodic and tuneful, which is sometimes used to provide a great contrast to what is happening musically underneath.    

There is also a great amount of variety within the five songs, and it is not unusual for them to have different sections within them, while the guitar solo in Woeman’s Lullaby is wonderful in its simplicity and the way it takes the song in a very different direction. There is a great deal of contrast in what they do, which allows them to build dynamics and have plenty of light and shade. Overall, this is a very promising start indeed, and I am really looking forward to hearing more. Solid, tight, and great fun.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Venom Dolls

Venom Dolls are a 3 piece all-female indie punk band formed at the end of 2020. Featuring a no-fucks-given attitude and a killer sound, they are shaking up the Tamaki Makaurau underground scene. The outfit consists of lead guitarist Carawai Gao, Summah the drummer Auvae, and vocalist/bassist Jessica Frank.

With a freshly released EP and host of experience performing at local venues, their fast paced, highly relatable tunes are sure to get you dancing/moshing/accidentally injuring your neighbour.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Venom Dolls

Releases

The Venom Dolls
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

The Sam Loveridge Band - Album Review: Recovery
27 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Some albums are intense, some are incredibly hard work and only open up (sometimes, if at all) after a great many plays, and others will never be destined for mainstream radio play as there is nothing there to attract the masses. Then there are albums like this one, where all you need to do is check out the cover to have an idea of what it is going to be like inside.
Read More...
Melanie - EP Review: ABCD
25 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Since releasing their debut EP back in 2018, Auckland pop/punk outfit Melanie have been making quite a name for themselves in the old-fashioned way of doing things, namely playing anywhere and everywhere, and having total belief in themselves and their music. When I first saw them, I was impressed that here was an unsigned band who had invested in having their debut album pressed in vinyl and had a few different t-shirts available as well as some other merch including stickers.
Read More...
Gig Review: Checaine & After Forever @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 22/01/2022
23 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As normal I got in early to the venue, then soon left again to have a beer up the road with the guys from Checaine. I was mightily impressed as they had brought a bus up from Hamilton with a load of fans onboard – one way of guaranteeing playing in a strange town in front of a friendly crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • WE DON'T TALK ABOUT BRUNO
    Various
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem