10 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Venom Dolls - Venom Dolls - EP Review: Venom Dolls

08 Sep 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Venom Dolls are an all-female indie punk trio who formed at the end of last year, and comprise lead guitarist Carawai Gao, drummer Summah Auvae, and vocalist/bassist Jessica Frank. From looking at their photos I can see they have played Dead Witch, so I am going to have to pay closer attention to the gig listings as I have been to that venue a lot this past year, but somehow have missed these guys. From their attitude and imagery, I expected them to be a brash and over the top punk outfit who are right in your face, and while that is more the case for A.L.A.B., that is actually the fourth number of their five-track 17-minute-long EP.  When their debut kicked off with Don’t Wanna Be, I had to do a doubletake as this is not what I expected at all. This was sweet, wonderful vocals, gently strummed electric, and even when they jumped into the song properly, there was still a huge amount of melody in what they are doing.

While this is melodic punk, it has much more in common with the NZ and UK scene that it does the modern American, as while there is polish, it somehow feels more real and genuine. I am sure there is more grit and fire in their live performances, and I note they thank Melanie for assistance in some of the recordings and I can only imagine the two of them playing together, as that would surely be a great night. There is a swagger in this, a confidence in songs such as No One Likes Mary Sue, which shows just how much work they have put in, given that they have been together for less than a year. The drums are rock solid at the back, the bass is tied in, there is some nice stuff happening on the guitar, and Jessica can be sweetness and light or provide a real edge, but always incredibly melodic and tuneful, which is sometimes used to provide a great contrast to what is happening musically underneath.    

There is also a great amount of variety within the five songs, and it is not unusual for them to have different sections within them, while the guitar solo in Woeman’s Lullaby is wonderful in its simplicity and the way it takes the song in a very different direction. There is a great deal of contrast in what they do, which allows them to build dynamics and have plenty of light and shade. Overall, this is a very promising start indeed, and I am really looking forward to hearing more. Solid, tight, and great fun.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Venom Dolls

Venom Dolls are a 3 piece all-female indie punk band formed at the end of 2020. Featuring a no-fucks-given attitude and a killer sound, they are shaking up the Tamaki Makaurau underground scene. The outfit consists of lead guitarist Carawai Gao, Summah the drummer Auvae, and vocalist/bassist Jessica Frank.

With a freshly released EP and host of experience performing at local venues, their fast paced, highly relatable tunes are sure to get you dancing/moshing/accidentally injuring your neighbour.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Venom Dolls

Releases

The Venom Dolls
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
Gig Review: Antagonist A.D. @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/07/2022
31 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Once more into the breach dear friends, as I made my way into the city for the third night in a row. I knew this was going to be the most dramatic gig of the week and was one I had been looking forward to for months.
Read More...
Gig Review: Reb Fountain @ Town Hall, Auckland - 29/07/2022
30 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back into central Auckland for the second consecutive evening, this time to see an artist for whom I have great admiration for the first time, and whose latest album, Iris, was rightfully in my Top Ten of 2021. Until last month it had been years since I had been in Auckland Town Hall for a gig, but here I was again, this time for one of the series of Auckland Elemental events, and I could see lighting gantries across much of the venue so knew we were in for quite some night.
Read More...
Gig Review: Capital Theatre @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 28/07/2022
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to the Tuning Fork on a school night, whatever next?! Mind you, it was for a special occasion as Capital Theatre were back in town and it has been way too long since I last saw them play (thanks Covid).
Read More...
Infinity Ritual - EP Review: Infinity Ritual
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from New Plymouth trio Adam Colless (guitars, vocals), Jason Karam (bass, vocals, mellotron) and Mark Thomas (drums and percussion). The four songs, 23 minutes in length, show a band who are bringing together groove metal with stoner, displaying plenty of bottom end with rich distortion.
Read More...
Sea Mouse - EP Review: Evil Heart
27 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is a time in many music lover’s lives when they finally fall into the caress of the blues. Everyone has their own genre they prefer, but the best blues is that which really calls to the listener on an emotional level, and for me that means two very different strands, and my favourite depends on what I am feeling like on any particular day.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem