7 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Roulettes - Album Review: Demosphere

08 Sep 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

One may be able to discern from the title that the latest release from Roulettes (they dropped the “The” a while back) is taken from a series of demos and home recordings. Since forming the band in the early 2000’s there have been some additional musicians here and there, but the core has always been Justin McLean (guitars, vox, bass, piano and drum sequencing) with Ben Grant (bass, vox, drum sequencing, synths, and mixing). It is hard to understand that firstly this is the work of a duo, as it sounds like a full band, and the fact that they not only were never in the same studio together, but both recorded independently at home, one in Auckland, NZ, and one in Hanoi, Vietnam, just blows the mind.

One can imagine this album actually being released on a label such as JAM Records, as this is solid power pop with hints of psychedelia and more than the odd musical reference to the mighty Todd Rundgren, yet somehow also having an indie bent which makes it feel all that much more real. 11 songs, 32 minutes in length, this is a collection of songs where each one would work incredibly well on the radio, packed full of hooks, great vocals and harmonies. As with their last EP, there is a tribute to Andrew Brough (Straightjacket Fits) who passed away last year, as while he was Justin’s stepbrother, he was also a mentor to both Justin and Ben when they were in Funhouse. They have recorded two of his numbers in Whatever Comes To Mind and Something’s Changing, with both songs given their own treatment so that they fit in neatly with their own material.

At times they come across almost like The Beatles, at others there are hints of The Byrds, with pop numbers which sound as if they are more like passed by classics of years gone by as opposed to brand new recordings. At times there is a lo-fi element to the songs, as such as on Fading Sun, yet this is obviously a deliberate effect with riffing U2-style guitar in the background, as at others they are bright and in your face. One cannot help but play this with a smile on the face as it is music without aggression, songs which are easy to listen without ever becoming easy listening, and just so much fun. This is an album which will come to life in the summer, played on the beach, where people just want to party.

This really is a wonderful power pop album, and anyone who enjoys that genre of music will get a great deal from this.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Roulettes

Roulettes was formed by Ben and Justin in Auckland in the early 2000's from the ashes of sonic Dunedin Rock n Roll bands (Funhouse, Bike). They released two EPs (You Want It and Unread Books) before settling on Mark Queenin (Bike, Garageland) on drums and recording their debut album, The Roulettes.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Roulettes

Releases

Demosphere
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Rocket To You
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Venus Burns
Year: 2017
Type: Album
The Roulettes
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Unread Books
Year: 2010
Type: EP
You Want It
Year: 2009
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Sonic Delusion - Single/Video Review: Fingertips
06 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this year I was fortunate enough to come across the incredible album When Turkeys Fly by Turkey The Bird which meant I was determined to see them when they came to Auckland and had an amazing evening. One member of that trio is André Manella, who has also been touring as Sonic Delusion, and over the last eight years he has played more than 800 shows and released five albums.
Read More...
Gig Review: T-Bone @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 03/07/2022
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to Tuning Fork for an early start with doors opening at 5:30 and the whole thing expected to be over by 9:30! I was so glad that Al from Hoop sent me the running times in the morning otherwise I would have missed their set altogether as well as possibly missing the beginning of T-Bone!
Read More...
EP Review: Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
What we have here is the debut collaboration from Ange.Mac and Shaun Garea.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pale Flag @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/07/2022
02 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight, I was supposed to be at The Tuning Fork for Ekko Park and Jordan Luck but the dreaded Covid had cast its spell and the gig was cancelled earlier in the week. I did a quick check to see what was on at Dead Witch and discovered there was a four-band bill and knowing three of them I could see it was going to be a good night so decided to head that way.
Read More...
Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you).
Read More...
Ed Waaka - Single Review: E Kura
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It did not take long for me to fall in love with this song, probably the first 30 seconds I guess, as there is something about it which grabs hold the listener, puts them in a safe place, and lets the singer bare their soul. Soul, yes, this is full of it in a musical sense as well as an emotional one, and when I discovered he was singing about the upcoming birth of his first daughter, whether he would be a good father, and the need to reconnect to his Maori heritage it made a great deal of sense.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - Single Review: Crush
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the lead single from Danica Bryant’s forthcoming EP, Ego Death, and if this is fully representative, then that is something to look out for. For a young artist she has already had considerable success, mentoring with Bic Runga while also gaining a support slot for Elton John on his ‘Farewell Yellow Brick Road’ tour, and while she has already tasted success on the NZ Hot Singles Chart, I am sure this is going to head the same way.
Read More...
Tia Ward - EP Review: Me and Me Too
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut EP from Hawkes Bay singer Tia Ward, following on from two singles which were released ahead of time, Under Wraps and Paint Dry, both of which are included here. The first thing which the listener notices are her vocals, which are both understated yet firmly to the fore.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem