18 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Roulettes - Album Review: Demosphere

08 Sep 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

One may be able to discern from the title that the latest release from Roulettes (they dropped the “The” a while back) is taken from a series of demos and home recordings. Since forming the band in the early 2000’s there have been some additional musicians here and there, but the core has always been Justin McLean (guitars, vox, bass, piano and drum sequencing) with Ben Grant (bass, vox, drum sequencing, synths, and mixing). It is hard to understand that firstly this is the work of a duo, as it sounds like a full band, and the fact that they not only were never in the same studio together, but both recorded independently at home, one in Auckland, NZ, and one in Hanoi, Vietnam, just blows the mind.

One can imagine this album actually being released on a label such as JAM Records, as this is solid power pop with hints of psychedelia and more than the odd musical reference to the mighty Todd Rundgren, yet somehow also having an indie bent which makes it feel all that much more real. 11 songs, 32 minutes in length, this is a collection of songs where each one would work incredibly well on the radio, packed full of hooks, great vocals and harmonies. As with their last EP, there is a tribute to Andrew Brough (Straightjacket Fits) who passed away last year, as while he was Justin’s stepbrother, he was also a mentor to both Justin and Ben when they were in Funhouse. They have recorded two of his numbers in Whatever Comes To Mind and Something’s Changing, with both songs given their own treatment so that they fit in neatly with their own material.

At times they come across almost like The Beatles, at others there are hints of The Byrds, with pop numbers which sound as if they are more like passed by classics of years gone by as opposed to brand new recordings. At times there is a lo-fi element to the songs, as such as on Fading Sun, yet this is obviously a deliberate effect with riffing U2-style guitar in the background, as at others they are bright and in your face. One cannot help but play this with a smile on the face as it is music without aggression, songs which are easy to listen without ever becoming easy listening, and just so much fun. This is an album which will come to life in the summer, played on the beach, where people just want to party.

This really is a wonderful power pop album, and anyone who enjoys that genre of music will get a great deal from this.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Roulettes

Roulettes was formed by Ben and Justin in Auckland in the early 2000's from the ashes of sonic Dunedin Rock n Roll bands (Funhouse, Bike). They released two EPs (You Want It and Unread Books) before settling on Mark Queenin (Bike, Garageland) on drums and recording their debut album, The Roulettes.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Roulettes

Releases

Demosphere
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Rocket To You
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Venus Burns
Year: 2017
Type: Album
The Roulettes
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Unread Books
Year: 2010
Type: EP
You Want It
Year: 2009
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
Black Sands - Single Review: Apocalypse of Eden
22 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
To my mind this single is long overdue, as I have been lucky enough to catch these guys play live a few times this year and they always put on an amazing show. Comprising Cameron Owens (guitars), Ruaidri Keens (guitars), Matt Hammond (bass) and James Trimmer (drums) they are one of those very rare breeds, a hard-hitting metal act with no need for a singer.
Read More...
Kev's Top 10's - 2021
20 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2021 has been a strange year, of that there has been no doubt whatsoever, but although everyone in Auckland is champing at the bit to be let out into the real world, it is probably best to remind ourselves that until we went into lockdown in August we were the envy of the world with festivals, plenty of beer, and the country being totally open (apart from the borders). At that time, I had been to more than 30 gigs, and was on course to hit 50 for the year, never thinking for a minute that August would be the last time I saw a band play live.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - Album Review: The Finished Touch
19 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is a direct continuation of the work displayed by Samantha on the Fly Bird Fly EP which came out a few months ago, except this time around she has managed to secure the services of drummers Mars Slater Vitai and Olive Konai, who between them share the duties on this 16-track 39-minute-long album. They fit in well with the ethos and spirit of Samantha, not attempting to bring in any finesse of polish, but instead keeping to the very lo-fi and naïve approach demonstrated by the singer/guitarist.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem