22 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

InDuna - Single Review: Strange Fruits

08 Sep 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

InDuna's approach to Hip-Hop/Rap is something that listeners should pay attention to. It fits into what kind of feels as almost progressive in regards to the styles it compasses. For example, the bells that kick of the track combined with the slow laid back beat, deep bass and ear-catching snare drum filled with reverb, all hint at what we know of trap music. But it's not. It has almost a dubstep vibe to it as well, yet it's not that either.

There is a world sound to the delivery of the vocal and the overall track which is something of a signature to InDuna's sound. This can be heard in other tracks released before. And again, like other tracks, this is catchy enough to have you singing the Strange Fruits chorus.

Minimalist, while also being full sounding, this is another release from InDuna who wants to set the record straight that he is an artist in the truest sense of the word. From the way it is produced, the lyrics, the vocal delivery.... the whole package... there is a vision heard across his tracks which is works well. Strange Fruits is another fine track to add to his growing collection.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About InDuna

South African self-taught artist and producer InDuna (in-Doo-nah) takes flavours straight from his homeland and incorporates them into his Afropop infused soul sound. Inspired by the likes of Brenda Fassie and Ladysmith Black Mambazo, InDuna expresses himself and his experiences of growing up in a third world society through his music.

Born in South Africa, he had a rough childhood spending much of his early years growing up in the slums of Johannesburg and Limpopo. After moving into an orphanage at the age of eight, he was given the opportunity at fourteen to move to New Zealand.

InDuna started his music journey when he fell in love with music for the first time after hearing Brenda Fassie’s Nomakanjani. “It felt like love at first sight, but with music.” However, he only took an interest in producing his own music after high school. For the most part, music production has been an effective therapy for him to vent his emotions and to help cope with his past and present experiences. “The reason I started doing music was because I needed a way to handle my emotions and regular therapy wasn’t doing it for me.”

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for InDuna

Releases

Dreams of an Underdog
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone
13 May 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Ego Prison
28 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
I'm getting to hear more Will McClean... yes please!
Read More...
Hans. - EP Review: Kimyuntak
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Hailing from Auckland, New Zealand, Hans. is an exciting Korean artist that has been dubbed by VICE Magazine as "One of the rising stars of New Zealand Hip Hop.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Diary Entries Vol 1
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
This is a great album. Even at 30 mins long, the overall feel and vibe of it is fantastic.
Read More...
Jeivenchy - Album Review: Fatal Attraction
31 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Jeivenchy, not to be confused with “Givenchy”, is a singer/songwriter based in Wellington, New Zealand. His debut album Seenzoned introduced his melodramatic lyrics, 80's inspired vocals and catchy choruses.
Read More...
Partyboi Pan - Single Review: Mystical Barz
16 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Partyboi Pan is the founder of The Mason, a vision to upgrade the very idea of what parties are with the sole purpose of showcasing local passions and talents.His latest track Mystical Barz opens with a dialogue that really sets the mood for the track.
Read More...
Phil Stoodley - Single/Video Review: Shame Shame
08 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Phil Stoodley, Shame Shame, is a fantastic track that is not only catchy but has such a vibe to it that you will be hitting repeat over and over. With a solid bass line propping up the main guitar riff, the drums hold it all together and allow for Phil's vocals to sit neatly in place, which by the way sound real and authentic.
Read More...
Old Salts - Single Review: Take a Breather
27 Jan 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Old Salts are an alternative rock band that are set to leave listeners buzzed with the release of their debut single Take a Breather.Citing influences as Primus and Them Crooked Vultures, you can definitely hear this in the way the song, not only sounds but how it is written and arranged.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem