23 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tempist Fujit - Single Review: Fallen

07 Sep 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

It has been a few years since Northland quartet Tempist Fujit (yes, the spelling is quite deliberate) have released a single, but they are back with Fallen, which is a great introduction to the band for anyone who has yet to come across them. The band are a hard rock outfit with a kick ass singer in Lisa Walters, who has a great ability to hit long notes and keep them pure and on pitch, yet also has plenty of emotion and breadth in her range. Here is someone who can really sing, and the song is designed as a vehicle for that, building throughout the verse and really kicking in at the chorus, before dropping back down for the second verse.

The change in pace allows us to really concentrate on the music beneath, which is a delight as while there is a commercial riff driving it all along, there is a great deal going on here. The multi-layered guitars can be clean or have just the right amount of pedal, and the solo is short and just right, but when paying attention to the bass one realizes that there are many different techniques being employed, some of which are more commonly used in funk, yet Raniera Littlejohn uses whatever is right for the moment.  The way he combines with guitarist Douglas Gordon is superb, with both weaving together to create a tapestry of sound, always commercial, yet building and complex.

While the production overall is strong, I do think the drums are just a little too bright and could have been dropped back a notch. Chris Butler is doing a great job, but the snare in particular is just a little too in your face, and consequently the sound is a little out of balance. However, this is a great song and one can only hope there is an album or EP to follow soon as this is melodic hard rock which demands to be played on repeat.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Tempist Fujit

Tempist Fujit (a play on the Latin word Tempus Fugit meaning Time Flies)

A 4-piece dynamic rock band from Northland New Zealand.

Having created a sound that captures a wide range of individual genres creatively placed into the bands signature solid rock style with powerful lead vocals and hard-hitting live performances, when thinking of new music and were to start Tempist Fujit is the place to look.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tempist Fujit

Releases

Time Flies
Year: 2018
Type: Album
No More Time
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Album Review: Black Alpine
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Album Review: Obon
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Obon is the debut album from alternative metal band Secrets of the Sun, a quartet based in Wellington. It has been a while in the making, in that the first single, Suffer With The Moon, was actually released a year ago while Wretched Tracks came out in February: both are included here.
Read More...
Written By Wolves - EP Review: Secrets - The Collab Project
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Since I started writing for New Zealand’s #1 music site, https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Alien Weaponry - Album Review: Tangaroa
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt whatsoever that Alien Weaponry have captured the imagination not only of the New Zealand public, but metalheads worldwide, with their combination of groove and thrash metal mixing with their Maori heritage to create something very special indeed. There really is no other band quite like them, although I do sometimes find myself thinking of the impact of Sepultura and their Roots album, but one does need to remember that was Sepultura’s sixth album, some 12 years after their first release.
Read More...
Domingo Candelario - EP Review: Sin Palabras
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is always a very Cuban base to his music, Domingo has covered many different styles, as he transcends culture and language: music is about expressing emotions honestly and he tries to be as unique as he can.  As a child, his parents listened to a lot of Brazilian music, and he was fascinated by the way they used harmonies: it was so beautifully put together, so soft and in connection with the soul.
Read More...
Glenn Bodger - Album Review: I'll Leave The Light On
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Glenn Bodger, who provided most of the instrumentation himself, although he has also been assisted by former Braintree bandmate Darryn Harkness, who helped with additional guitar, bass and keyboards where required. From the gentle, almost cautiously picked acoustic guitar notes on opener I’ll Leave The Light On, we are brought carefully into a world which is dated yet fresh, comfortable but new, as he mixes together different musical elements in an independent, alternative style which is often somehow commercial and others when they are definitely not.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - EP Review: Fly Bird Fly
15 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Samantha Josephine's six-track Fly Bird Fly EP is less than 13 minutes long, but in many ways that makes total sense, as there is a feeling within this that we are being allowed into a secret and very personal world and that it would be intrusive to stay for too long. One can imagine Samantha performing in a corner, hoping that no-one will see or hear her, and when I read in her bio that only her girlfriend has seen her perform in the last year, and that even she is not allowed to be around when Samantha is writing, then it makes perfect sense.
Read More...
The Night - Single Review: Untouchable
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This cannot be right. According to the information I have in front of me, this Wellington-based band was formed from a group of music students in 2017, started performing live in 2018, and their ages now range from 15 to 18!
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem