23 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Soda - EP Review: Nineteen Ninety Seven

05 Sep 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

In the Nineties, guitarist and singer Scott Pilgrim had a band in Melbourne called Soda, who released the Pan EP. Fast forward 23 years and he walked into Warwick Donald’s control room and saw a multi-track tape deck which could play the original tape of that recording. A week later and he and Warwick were listening to songs which has not been heard in more than two decades. This inspired Scott to play the songs again, so he called on Dan Hearn (drummer) and a young bass student of his, Reilly Frost and asked if they'd like to be part of a Soda concert. In August 2020 they played all the songs from Soda’s final Melbourne gig, and it went so well they decided to keep the band going. Soon afterwards they were joined by Hayden Overton (synth, guitar) and they have now headed into Warwick’s studio to record the follow-up EP. The decision was taken to do it as a live set, straight to tape with no overdubs, just a single 8-hour session and a 30-minute time limit.

The result is a five-song set, lasting fifteen minutes, with four originals and a cover of Beck’s Ramona. That the cover does not particularly stand out among the rest of the material gives a really good idea of the style of alternative rock/pop being undertaken by these Wellingtonians. They have a clear and clean sound in the guitar, which combines well with the vocals. These comes across best in Sarsaparilla, which commences with just Scott accompanying himself before the rest of the band comes in. The bass is warm and fluid, the drums providing a strong backbeat while never overpowering and the synth sound is very early Eighties. This combination of sounds and styles shows just how much Scott has been influenced by the scene from 25+ years ago but given that was when the band were originally performing perhaps that is not much of a surprise.

There are great hooks throughout, and the EP is one which really grows on the listener the more it is played. They are looking to record a live album later in the year, and I for one hope they will manage to make it up to Auckland at some point as this is catchy and fun material which somehow sounds dated yet fresh, alternative yet mainstream. I certainly look forward to hearing more from these guys in the future.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Soda

Soda is a synth/pop/rock four piece 90's retro original band.

Soda started life as a three-piece power pop band in Melbourne in 1996.
After a brief interruption of 23 years and a relocation to NZ, Soda are now playing across Wellington promoting their new EP Nineteen Ninety Seven.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Soda

Releases

Nineteen Ninety Seven
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Album Review: Black Alpine
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Album Review: Obon
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Obon is the debut album from alternative metal band Secrets of the Sun, a quartet based in Wellington. It has been a while in the making, in that the first single, Suffer With The Moon, was actually released a year ago while Wretched Tracks came out in February: both are included here.
Read More...
Written By Wolves - EP Review: Secrets - The Collab Project
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Since I started writing for New Zealand’s #1 music site, https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Alien Weaponry - Album Review: Tangaroa
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt whatsoever that Alien Weaponry have captured the imagination not only of the New Zealand public, but metalheads worldwide, with their combination of groove and thrash metal mixing with their Maori heritage to create something very special indeed. There really is no other band quite like them, although I do sometimes find myself thinking of the impact of Sepultura and their Roots album, but one does need to remember that was Sepultura’s sixth album, some 12 years after their first release.
Read More...
Domingo Candelario - EP Review: Sin Palabras
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is always a very Cuban base to his music, Domingo has covered many different styles, as he transcends culture and language: music is about expressing emotions honestly and he tries to be as unique as he can.  As a child, his parents listened to a lot of Brazilian music, and he was fascinated by the way they used harmonies: it was so beautifully put together, so soft and in connection with the soul.
Read More...
Glenn Bodger - Album Review: I'll Leave The Light On
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Glenn Bodger, who provided most of the instrumentation himself, although he has also been assisted by former Braintree bandmate Darryn Harkness, who helped with additional guitar, bass and keyboards where required. From the gentle, almost cautiously picked acoustic guitar notes on opener I’ll Leave The Light On, we are brought carefully into a world which is dated yet fresh, comfortable but new, as he mixes together different musical elements in an independent, alternative style which is often somehow commercial and others when they are definitely not.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - EP Review: Fly Bird Fly
15 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Samantha Josephine's six-track Fly Bird Fly EP is less than 13 minutes long, but in many ways that makes total sense, as there is a feeling within this that we are being allowed into a secret and very personal world and that it would be intrusive to stay for too long. One can imagine Samantha performing in a corner, hoping that no-one will see or hear her, and when I read in her bio that only her girlfriend has seen her perform in the last year, and that even she is not allowed to be around when Samantha is writing, then it makes perfect sense.
Read More...
The Night - Single Review: Untouchable
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This cannot be right. According to the information I have in front of me, this Wellington-based band was formed from a group of music students in 2017, started performing live in 2018, and their ages now range from 15 to 18!
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem