10 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Soda - EP Review: Nineteen Ninety Seven

05 Sep 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

In the Nineties, guitarist and singer Scott Pilgrim had a band in Melbourne called Soda, who released the Pan EP. Fast forward 23 years and he walked into Warwick Donald’s control room and saw a multi-track tape deck which could play the original tape of that recording. A week later and he and Warwick were listening to songs which has not been heard in more than two decades. This inspired Scott to play the songs again, so he called on Dan Hearn (drummer) and a young bass student of his, Reilly Frost and asked if they'd like to be part of a Soda concert. In August 2020 they played all the songs from Soda’s final Melbourne gig, and it went so well they decided to keep the band going. Soon afterwards they were joined by Hayden Overton (synth, guitar) and they have now headed into Warwick’s studio to record the follow-up EP. The decision was taken to do it as a live set, straight to tape with no overdubs, just a single 8-hour session and a 30-minute time limit.

The result is a five-song set, lasting fifteen minutes, with four originals and a cover of Beck’s Ramona. That the cover does not particularly stand out among the rest of the material gives a really good idea of the style of alternative rock/pop being undertaken by these Wellingtonians. They have a clear and clean sound in the guitar, which combines well with the vocals. These comes across best in Sarsaparilla, which commences with just Scott accompanying himself before the rest of the band comes in. The bass is warm and fluid, the drums providing a strong backbeat while never overpowering and the synth sound is very early Eighties. This combination of sounds and styles shows just how much Scott has been influenced by the scene from 25+ years ago but given that was when the band were originally performing perhaps that is not much of a surprise.

There are great hooks throughout, and the EP is one which really grows on the listener the more it is played. They are looking to record a live album later in the year, and I for one hope they will manage to make it up to Auckland at some point as this is catchy and fun material which somehow sounds dated yet fresh, alternative yet mainstream. I certainly look forward to hearing more from these guys in the future.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Soda

Soda is a synth/pop/rock four piece 90's retro original band.

Soda started life as a three-piece power pop band in Melbourne in 1996.
After a brief interruption of 23 years and a relocation to NZ, Soda are now playing across Wellington promoting their new EP Nineteen Ninety Seven.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Soda

Releases

Nineteen Ninety Seven
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
Gig Review: Antagonist A.D. @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/07/2022
31 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Once more into the breach dear friends, as I made my way into the city for the third night in a row. I knew this was going to be the most dramatic gig of the week and was one I had been looking forward to for months.
Read More...
Gig Review: Reb Fountain @ Town Hall, Auckland - 29/07/2022
30 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back into central Auckland for the second consecutive evening, this time to see an artist for whom I have great admiration for the first time, and whose latest album, Iris, was rightfully in my Top Ten of 2021. Until last month it had been years since I had been in Auckland Town Hall for a gig, but here I was again, this time for one of the series of Auckland Elemental events, and I could see lighting gantries across much of the venue so knew we were in for quite some night.
Read More...
Gig Review: Capital Theatre @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 28/07/2022
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to the Tuning Fork on a school night, whatever next?! Mind you, it was for a special occasion as Capital Theatre were back in town and it has been way too long since I last saw them play (thanks Covid).
Read More...
Infinity Ritual - EP Review: Infinity Ritual
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from New Plymouth trio Adam Colless (guitars, vocals), Jason Karam (bass, vocals, mellotron) and Mark Thomas (drums and percussion). The four songs, 23 minutes in length, show a band who are bringing together groove metal with stoner, displaying plenty of bottom end with rich distortion.
Read More...
Sea Mouse - EP Review: Evil Heart
27 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is a time in many music lover’s lives when they finally fall into the caress of the blues. Everyone has their own genre they prefer, but the best blues is that which really calls to the listener on an emotional level, and for me that means two very different strands, and my favourite depends on what I am feeling like on any particular day.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem