16 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Stephen Galvin - Album Review: Modal Behaviour

02 Sep 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Stephen Galvin is a multi-instrumentalist who was invited to teach at the New Zealand Guitar Academy at the tender age of 23, before opening his own teaching studio in 1984. Since then, he has performed in bands of different genres, as well as teaching music to thousands of Aucklanders. This album was recorded in just two days with the assistance of David Feehan and his band, and while the correct description of the album is that of “jazz”, that it itself covers a multitude of styles and he certainly crosses through many in this album of mostly instrumentals, with just two with vocals within the ten songs.

The album commences with one of the vocal tracks, Django, which is a tribute to the mighty Django Reinhardt. Surely anyone who enjoys jazz has gone back in time to investigate the incredible Quintette du Hot Club de France which Reinhardt formed with violinist Stéphane Grappelli, and this song not only tells the story of his life and that awful fire in words, but Galvin captures some of his famous style. Cleverly, he used a fretless bass instead of a guitar, which avoids any direct comparison and allows one to enjoy the song for what it is. From here on in we move through different contemporary jazz styles and even some blues, but there is never a feeling of rush, and instead one of clever arrangements and scoring. This is particularly true in Woody Would, where Stephen allows others to take solos, and then everyone comes in on the runs to bring it all home.

There are times when we move more into Latin territory such as the title cut, which has its base in the cha cha (being the father of a dancer I can attest that this is by far the most interesting number I have ever come across in that style), or even into blues, but always with the same control and clarity of thought in the lead melodies with strong support. This is not something which will challenge the listener, but instead is something that fans of all types of jazz can sit back and enjoy. The production is clear, with good separation, yet one always knows this was recorded by a band playing together as opposed to being spliced together from lots of different sessions, as it breathes and really lives.

If I could change just one thing about the album, that would be to move Django away from the beginning, just because it feels so very different from the rest of the songs, and someone who listened to just that may feel it is indicative of the rest of the material. Whatever the sequence though, this is a refreshing and delightful album.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Stephen Galvin

Stephen Galvin plays, guitar, bass, drums and vocals.

He is is an experienced, registered and qualified teacher of Music.

"I started playing jazz in my later teen years, and when I was 24 started working with the NZ Guitar Academy in Auckland, for which I wrote a course in guitar and bass playing. That led to me forming my own studio when I was 27, and that’s been my full-time occupation since then. So gig life has been a pleasant sideline to teaching and I’ve played in orchestras, church groups, music theatre, a lot of jazz gigs, private and café gigs, cover bands – ...”

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Stephen Galvin

Releases

Modal Behaviour
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Scapegoat - Album Review: Reality and the Hanging Tree
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Rene Black can often be found out and about on the Auckland scene, either playing in the premier NZ Sabbath tribute band After Forever, or just supporting other bands and enjoying the vibe. We regularly bump into each other at our favourite dive, Ding Dong Lounge, but whereas that is a relatively new place for me, Rene has been on the circuit for years as he was also drummer and founding member of both His Masters Voice and {Cripple Mr.
Read More...
Caitlin - EP Review: States
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from young Christchurch-based indie-pop musician Caitlin (Caitlin Bradley) who is currently studying at Ara Music Arts in the city. She took the songs to Ryan Chin (Fisherman), and together with Will McGillivray (Goodwill), Thomas Isbister, and Shaun Malloch they worked to capture her innocent vocals and songs in a manner which brings together lots of different styles.
Read More...
Corduroy. - Single Review: Ozone
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Ozone is the latest single from Wellington-based band Corduroy., and is taken from their forthcoming EP, Halftime Oranges.
Read More...
Mim Jensen - Single Review: Germaphobe
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut single from Otautahi artist Mim Jensen, and a load of fun it is too. It commences with jangly guitar and Mim’s vocals, and soon we are taken into commercial indie rock which has definite nods back to the likes of Fur Patrol.
Read More...
Moone - Single Review: I Am Who I Am
10 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are some people who come into this world and put the rest of us to shame as to what they achieve, and undoubtedly one of those was Eva McGauley, who at the age of 15 was diagnosed with terminal cancer, to which she succumbed a little more than 3 years later. Eva was involved with the Wellington Rape Crisis Organisation, was an intern with the Green Party, ran her own charity 'Eva's Wish' raising more than $70,000 to help sexual abused survivors, was involved in the '200 Women Who will change the way you see the world' book and exhibition and was nominated for Youth Wellingtonian of the year award, among others.
Read More...
Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem