19 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Odds & Ends - Single Review: Picture

31 Aug 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

The picture on the album cover is a picture, neat! That got me thinking the guys probably had a sense of humour and when I saw they describe themselves as a perfect fruit salad; filled with juicy melodies, tasty songs, and sweet, sweet harmonies, then I was sure of it. Bands with a strong sense of humour who enjoy each other’s company and having a blast tend to produce really strong songs, and Odds & Ends are yet more proof, as this is a delight from start to finish. It has been a couple of years since their last release, but this Auckland-based quartet are back with a real bang. This is alternative rock based pop, which is just full of twists and turns, all ensuring the song comes to a climax.

It commences with a gently picked electric, the rest of the band come in quickly, then just as rapidly drop away so that it is just singer Koen Aldershof and drummer Max Earnshaw. Gradually everyone comes back in, building through to the first chorus, where guitars are riffing, and there are plenty of vocals. Again, it falls away after that, although not as low as it was previously, and the build is not quite as dramatic although the second chorus is even more sweeping. One gets the impression that with a different production then we would be listening to some Foo Fighters here, but they have emphasised the pop side, although that could well be quite different in the live environment. I am positive that this where this song will really come to life, with band and audience being one great sweaty mess by the end. I am definitely looking forward to catch these guys once lockdown is over.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Odds & Ends

With four principal songwriters and influences drawn from alt-rock, indie-pop, jazz, and funk, Odds & Ends are truly unique. The four musicians’ fusion of genres makes for a cohesiveness moving through the many sides this four-piece possesses. With countless local shows under their belt, these four musicians are ready to take on whatever challenge is tossed at their feet.

"If there is one thing I have noticed in the past time with the guys it’s that Odds and Ends put on shows that are anything but cliche. With numerous influences, we tie genres together from indie all the way to funk." ~ Max Earnshaw

Based in the depths of Auckland, New Zealand, Odds & Ends pride themselves in the fusion of multiple melodies and harmonies at the high-energy level of their live performance. All this is achieved while the four friends stay completely human, down to earth, and are the friendliest band you will meet in today’s scene.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Odds & Ends

Releases

Odds & Ends
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Written By Wolves - EP Review: Secrets - The Collab Project
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Since I started writing for New Zealand’s #1 music site, https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Alien Weaponry - Album Review: Tangaroa
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt whatsoever that Alien Weaponry have captured the imagination not only of the New Zealand public, but metalheads worldwide, with their combination of groove and thrash metal mixing with their Maori heritage to create something very special indeed. There really is no other band quite like them, although I do sometimes find myself thinking of the impact of Sepultura and their Roots album, but one does need to remember that was Sepultura’s sixth album, some 12 years after their first release.
Read More...
Domingo Candelario - EP Review: Sin Palabras
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is always a very Cuban base to his music, Domingo has covered many different styles, as he transcends culture and language: music is about expressing emotions honestly and he tries to be as unique as he can.  As a child, his parents listened to a lot of Brazilian music, and he was fascinated by the way they used harmonies: it was so beautifully put together, so soft and in connection with the soul.
Read More...
Glenn Bodger - Album Review: I'll Leave The Light On
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Glenn Bodger, who provided most of the instrumentation himself, although he has also been assisted by former Braintree bandmate Darryn Harkness, who helped with additional guitar, bass and keyboards where required. From the gentle, almost cautiously picked acoustic guitar notes on opener I’ll Leave The Light On, we are brought carefully into a world which is dated yet fresh, comfortable but new, as he mixes together different musical elements in an independent, alternative style which is often somehow commercial and others when they are definitely not.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - EP Review: Fly Bird Fly
15 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Samantha Josephine's six-track Fly Bird Fly EP is less than 13 minutes long, but in many ways that makes total sense, as there is a feeling within this that we are being allowed into a secret and very personal world and that it would be intrusive to stay for too long. One can imagine Samantha performing in a corner, hoping that no-one will see or hear her, and when I read in her bio that only her girlfriend has seen her perform in the last year, and that even she is not allowed to be around when Samantha is writing, then it makes perfect sense.
Read More...
The Night - Single Review: Untouchable
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This cannot be right. According to the information I have in front of me, this Wellington-based band was formed from a group of music students in 2017, started performing live in 2018, and their ages now range from 15 to 18!
Read More...
Channeled - EP Review: Perception
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
As I have said previously, 2020 was a breakthrough year for Channeled, as Ben Ruegg recorded the second album and formed an operational live band to make it more than just a studio project. They made it through to the final of the Ding Dong Lounge Battle of the Bands and set up a headline show at the same venue with Cafe Fistfight and Mariner as support to celebrate the release of I Heard Penelope Sing, but then disaster struck with Ben being rushed to hospital following a Grand Mal seizure.
Read More...
Empress - EP Review: Trash Dynasty
10 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Empress were formed by guitarist/singer Lora Thompson and drummer Craig Gilliver after the demise of their previous project, Cheshire Grimm with whom they toured the length of NZ, played with international acts and local superstars, as well as releasing material along the way. The lead track from this EP, Sailing the Seas of Grease, was actually released towards the end of 2020 but it has taken until now for their six-track 23-minute-long debut EP to made available.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem