15 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Odds & Ends - Single Review: Picture

31 Aug 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

The picture on the album cover is a picture, neat! That got me thinking the guys probably had a sense of humour and when I saw they describe themselves as a perfect fruit salad; filled with juicy melodies, tasty songs, and sweet, sweet harmonies, then I was sure of it. Bands with a strong sense of humour who enjoy each other’s company and having a blast tend to produce really strong songs, and Odds & Ends are yet more proof, as this is a delight from start to finish. It has been a couple of years since their last release, but this Auckland-based quartet are back with a real bang. This is alternative rock based pop, which is just full of twists and turns, all ensuring the song comes to a climax.

It commences with a gently picked electric, the rest of the band come in quickly, then just as rapidly drop away so that it is just singer Koen Aldershof and drummer Max Earnshaw. Gradually everyone comes back in, building through to the first chorus, where guitars are riffing, and there are plenty of vocals. Again, it falls away after that, although not as low as it was previously, and the build is not quite as dramatic although the second chorus is even more sweeping. One gets the impression that with a different production then we would be listening to some Foo Fighters here, but they have emphasised the pop side, although that could well be quite different in the live environment. I am positive that this where this song will really come to life, with band and audience being one great sweaty mess by the end. I am definitely looking forward to catch these guys once lockdown is over.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Odds & Ends

With four principal songwriters and influences drawn from alt-rock, indie-pop, jazz, and funk, Odds & Ends are truly unique. The four musicians’ fusion of genres makes for a cohesiveness moving through the many sides this four-piece possesses. With countless local shows under their belt, these four musicians are ready to take on whatever challenge is tossed at their feet.

"If there is one thing I have noticed in the past time with the guys it’s that Odds and Ends put on shows that are anything but cliche. With numerous influences, we tie genres together from indie all the way to funk." ~ Max Earnshaw

Based in the depths of Auckland, New Zealand, Odds & Ends pride themselves in the fusion of multiple melodies and harmonies at the high-energy level of their live performance. All this is achieved while the four friends stay completely human, down to earth, and are the friendliest band you will meet in today’s scene.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Odds & Ends

Releases

Odds & Ends
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Scapegoat - Album Review: Reality and the Hanging Tree
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Rene Black can often be found out and about on the Auckland scene, either playing in the premier NZ Sabbath tribute band After Forever, or just supporting other bands and enjoying the vibe. We regularly bump into each other at our favourite dive, Ding Dong Lounge, but whereas that is a relatively new place for me, Rene has been on the circuit for years as he was also drummer and founding member of both His Masters Voice and {Cripple Mr.
Read More...
Caitlin - EP Review: States
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from young Christchurch-based indie-pop musician Caitlin (Caitlin Bradley) who is currently studying at Ara Music Arts in the city. She took the songs to Ryan Chin (Fisherman), and together with Will McGillivray (Goodwill), Thomas Isbister, and Shaun Malloch they worked to capture her innocent vocals and songs in a manner which brings together lots of different styles.
Read More...
Corduroy. - Single Review: Ozone
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Ozone is the latest single from Wellington-based band Corduroy., and is taken from their forthcoming EP, Halftime Oranges.
Read More...
Mim Jensen - Single Review: Germaphobe
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut single from Otautahi artist Mim Jensen, and a load of fun it is too. It commences with jangly guitar and Mim’s vocals, and soon we are taken into commercial indie rock which has definite nods back to the likes of Fur Patrol.
Read More...
Moone - Single Review: I Am Who I Am
10 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are some people who come into this world and put the rest of us to shame as to what they achieve, and undoubtedly one of those was Eva McGauley, who at the age of 15 was diagnosed with terminal cancer, to which she succumbed a little more than 3 years later. Eva was involved with the Wellington Rape Crisis Organisation, was an intern with the Green Party, ran her own charity 'Eva's Wish' raising more than $70,000 to help sexual abused survivors, was involved in the '200 Women Who will change the way you see the world' book and exhibition and was nominated for Youth Wellingtonian of the year award, among others.
Read More...
Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem