10 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lilith NZ - Single Review: Tears of Blood

31 Aug 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Just one look at the band name, song, and font, and one knows that here we have an act aiming to be on the heavy side. A quick look at Encylopaedia Metallum and one can see they have another nine bands listed with the same name, while this Lilith isn’t even the only one operating in New Zealand. Here we have the debut release from James Hudson (vocals) and Gage Callagher (guitar), and according to their biography they have created a new form of black metal. I must confess to not being quite so sure of that, as the guitars are more like a doom/NWOBHM mix for the most part, although there are definitely times when they do also bring in some of the more atmospheric aspects one expects from BM, especially at about 2:15 when we get a rolling thunder soundtrack, and the guitars having single notes played repeatedly as opposed to the driving riff which is throughout most of the song.

James is pushing himself into BM territory, but the way he is singing combined with the production means that often we get an almost white noise approach to his vocals, and there isn’t enough force and presence for them to really cut through, while the longer screams do not provide the impact he was probably looking for. They are seeking more people to join the band, and as they expand and grow then it is likely that their style will develop as well, but at present this very much sounds like a first recording.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Lilith NZ

Lilith is a two-piece band with vocalist James Hudson and Guitarist Gage Callagher. Formed in December 2020, they are young, wild, hungry and fueled with fire to entertain. With influences, inspirations and ideas flooding their minds, they formed their band Lilith and put pen to paper.

Lilith which would be the mother demon of Black Metal.

Gage's style screams Pantera!! Being a huge fan of Dimebag Darrell. They have created a new style of Black Metal!

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lilith NZ

Releases

There are no releases to display for Lilith NZ.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
Gig Review: Antagonist A.D. @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/07/2022
31 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Once more into the breach dear friends, as I made my way into the city for the third night in a row. I knew this was going to be the most dramatic gig of the week and was one I had been looking forward to for months.
Read More...
Gig Review: Reb Fountain @ Town Hall, Auckland - 29/07/2022
30 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back into central Auckland for the second consecutive evening, this time to see an artist for whom I have great admiration for the first time, and whose latest album, Iris, was rightfully in my Top Ten of 2021. Until last month it had been years since I had been in Auckland Town Hall for a gig, but here I was again, this time for one of the series of Auckland Elemental events, and I could see lighting gantries across much of the venue so knew we were in for quite some night.
Read More...
Gig Review: Capital Theatre @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 28/07/2022
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to the Tuning Fork on a school night, whatever next?! Mind you, it was for a special occasion as Capital Theatre were back in town and it has been way too long since I last saw them play (thanks Covid).
Read More...
Infinity Ritual - EP Review: Infinity Ritual
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from New Plymouth trio Adam Colless (guitars, vocals), Jason Karam (bass, vocals, mellotron) and Mark Thomas (drums and percussion). The four songs, 23 minutes in length, show a band who are bringing together groove metal with stoner, displaying plenty of bottom end with rich distortion.
Read More...
Sea Mouse - EP Review: Evil Heart
27 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is a time in many music lover’s lives when they finally fall into the caress of the blues. Everyone has their own genre they prefer, but the best blues is that which really calls to the listener on an emotional level, and for me that means two very different strands, and my favourite depends on what I am feeling like on any particular day.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem