27 Nov 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

WHITE NØISE MAFIA - Single Review: Let It End

25 Aug 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

The boys are back with their second single, continuing from where the last one left off. This was again recorded in sessions with the mighty David Rhodes (Blindspott, Stylus, These Four Walls etc.), so of course the sound and arrangements are spot on, but this is all about four guys coming together to form a solid unit who never fail to deliver. When listening to this I find it hard to realise that I was at their second ever gig, less than a year ago, yet even back then I knew they were destined for great things. In Neo they have one of the most exciting drummers around, Matt Sansome keeps it all together when there is chaos surrounding him, Matt Holden is all hair, sweat and excitement, while Chris proves on this release that while some think of him “just” as a frontman, he is actually a very fine singer indeed as well.

At the release show for The Divide, I said “White Nøise Mafia are one of the most exciting and powerful metal bands around, somehow mixing commercial sounds with massive hooks and mighty riffs so that all those who are there listening just enjoy themselves, there really is no choice.” Following on from the intensity of The Divide, Let It End has a more commercial and hard-hitting hook, with guitars and bass together as one, providing a staccato foundation for Chris to build his vocals on. The song develops into a metallic growling monster, yet somehow always maintaining a lightness as each member of the band is allowed to shine as they bring through their own influences and nuances to the music. There are some delicate Thin Lizzy-style guitar harmonies at one point, as well as a period when there are no guitars at all, just bass, drums and even some rim shots. The music flows and ebbs, with the listener knowing it is going to climax, just not sure when that is going to happen. Cymbals are delicate, riffs locked in, vocals coming in and out of different speakers, and then we have double-tracked vocals from Chris at 2:37 and everything comes down hard. After that the intensity drives up, Chris proves some falsetto screams and then it just stops, dead.

The guys are just so incredibly tight, and there is no doubt that Let It End is destined to be a rock radio hit. If they have managed to achieve so much already in their short career, then surely the sky is the limit.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About WHITE NØISE MAFIA

WHITE NØISE MAFIA is a 4 piece heavy alternative rock band established in July 2020 and based in Auckland, New Zealand. The band strives to put on an all-out show with heavy riffs, crushing beats, booming low end and catchy vocals to hook the listener into their performance. They take inspiration from bands such as Linkin Park, Blindspott, BMTH, Slipknot etc. In the long run they seek to leave a lasting impact on the local scene and make a name for themselves.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for WHITE NØISE MAFIA

Releases

There are no releases to display for WHITE NØISE MAFIA.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

The Sam Loveridge Band - Single/Video Review: I Wanna Dance
21 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Sam and the guys are back with the second single from the forthcoming album, Recovery, and if ever they were looking for radio play I can pretty much guarantee this will not be getting it with this one. The simple reason is that in the key part of the chorus, people get asked to go forth and multiply, and somehow, I don’t think the mainstream are quite ready for that yet.
Read More...
Gramsci - Single/Video Review: Ourselves
18 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I first came across Gramsci last year when they released the amazing album Inheritance, which was then followed up with a theatre performance which was stunning by all accounts (I was gutted not to be able to make it). But I am very late to the piece indeed, as Gramsci are the brainchild of Paul McLaney who is so productive that he has lost count of the works he has undertaken to date.
Read More...
Pervertor - Album Review: Putrid Dominion
18 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Wellington-based blackened thrash outfit Pervertor are back with their third-full length album, Putrid Dominion, some four years since Perverted Tales of Depravity. Since they released their first demo back in 2009 the band have had the same line-up throughout of Necroar (vocals), Inebriator (guitar), Carnage (bass), and Rots (drums).
Read More...
On Tick - Album Review: Nothing New
18 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
On Tick was formed by brothers Brendan (vocals and drums) and Aidan O'Loughlin (vocals, guitar), out of the ashes of their previous band, Evil Tomato. They decided to work as a rough and raw punk duo, adapting some of the older songs to their new style, a few of which can be heard here.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - Single Review: Take It Or Leave It
17 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I must confess to doing a little bit of a double take when I first saw a photo of these guys, as it looked like none of them were old enough to shave! A check of their bio and I was able to see that the band comprises Archie Orbell (16), Clarke West (16), Henry McConnell (16) & Otis Murphy (14) – when a group put their age into their bio you know they are young.
Read More...
Sol3 Mio - Album Review: Coming Home
17 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this year I was fortunate enough to catch these guys at Spark Arena and it was truly one of the greatest concerts I have ever attended. Given that my idea of a great night often consists of high energy metal of one type or another, I would not normally say that about an evening of light opera.
Read More...
Henika - Album Review: Strange Creatures
16 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
It is safe to say that I listen to more varied music than the average person, and I have no idea how many albums I have reviewed over the last 30+ years but it is many thousands, and I have written well in excess of a million words on the subject. This means I am rarely surprised, and it is not often I come across something and can honestly say I have never heard anything quite like it before, but this is one of those times.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single/Video Review: Pixie Caramel Feat. Tiki Taane
11 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
When punk hit the UK in 1976, I loved the high-octane high energy music which came out of the scene and was quite surprised when the adults around me said there was no melody, and it was just a load of noise. The first wave of the new punk scene was made up of musicians who had been part of the earlier pub rock craze, so they knew what they were doing, and were far more musically inclined than many gave them credit for.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem