18 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Club Classic - EP Review: Greetings From Club Classic

23 Aug 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Club Classic like to portray themselves in photos as being an interesting bunch of jokers, and indeed their Facebook page says, “Welly’s favourite grass roots sports club + indie-funk band hybrid”, but don’t let any of that fool you, as when it is time to start playing music these guys are serious, and seriously good. This 13-minute-long 3-track EP finds them demonstrating just how slick and powerful they are, with different styles of funk and soul.

Interstellar kicks it off, with a strong bass line, and a groove which makes the body move as if it has a life of its own, there really is no choice. This reminds me so much of the classic Seventies pop hits, with that disco/funk guitar sound we all remember so well, harmonies, a great lead vocal, shimmering keyboards and hooks aplenty. As well as a great performance and arrangement, special mention must also be made of the production which makes this feel like a topflight release as opposed to an independent.

Last Chance Dance slows it all down with a strong bass line and plenty of space in the arrangement, allowing Joe to take centre stage in this funky R&B ballad. It opens up more in the chorus than in the initial verse, but the approach with electronic piano keeps it in a far more controlled and sedate manner, and again so layered that the harmonies remind the listener of classic 10CC. It is quite different indeed to the opener, allowing the listener to just luxuriate in the soulful sounds.

Then we end with Top Down, which is surely the last number of the night when they play live, as this is a Stevie Wonder inspired masterblaster. We even get some radio presenters discussing the weather at some point, saying how Wellington is going to get to 28 (ok, so that is obviously fiction, Welly is the only place in the country where the rain not only travels horizontally but around corners), and this fits in perfectly with the postcard theme of the cover, and the sheer boisterous fun of this number where everyone gets up and has a bop.

All three songs are summery wonderful numbers guaranteed to get people up and on the dance floor, with Top Down also getting people to join in the chorus and having a great time. This release was originally tied in with a tour which has now been delayed due to Covid, so until they come to town grab this, and turn it up, and the party will be at your place.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Club Classic

Formed in late 2018 after having a crack at different genres of music, the draw of making music to dance to, led the Club Classic chaps to producing 70’s Funk, Soul and Disco inspired tunes to get your foot tapping, fingers drumming and head nodding.

Based in Wellington, the initial four piece of Liam - Drums, Cameron - Bass, Eddie - Guitar and Joe - Vocals and Keys, released Get Out Your Funk to the world. Followed quickly by The Vibe which consolidated their approach to dancey tunes, and gave a cool platform for Joe to express himself on stage. With live shows at Meow towards the end of 2019 things were looking good for the band…

Covid took the wind out of their sails a little but once they could meet together again mid-2020 they took off with gusto inventing Richie Whiskey. Richie is your true “man about town” drinking, dancing, enjoying the Club life. The four piece expanded to five with the addition of Troy on Keys, thus allowing Joe to focus on singing and working with the audience, making sure they all enjoyed the excellent Club Classic atmosphere.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Club Classic

Releases

Greetings From Club Classic
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
Black Sands - Single Review: Apocalypse of Eden
22 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
To my mind this single is long overdue, as I have been lucky enough to catch these guys play live a few times this year and they always put on an amazing show. Comprising Cameron Owens (guitars), Ruaidri Keens (guitars), Matt Hammond (bass) and James Trimmer (drums) they are one of those very rare breeds, a hard-hitting metal act with no need for a singer.
Read More...
Kev's Top 10's - 2021
20 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2021 has been a strange year, of that there has been no doubt whatsoever, but although everyone in Auckland is champing at the bit to be let out into the real world, it is probably best to remind ourselves that until we went into lockdown in August we were the envy of the world with festivals, plenty of beer, and the country being totally open (apart from the borders). At that time, I had been to more than 30 gigs, and was on course to hit 50 for the year, never thinking for a minute that August would be the last time I saw a band play live.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - Album Review: The Finished Touch
19 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is a direct continuation of the work displayed by Samantha on the Fly Bird Fly EP which came out a few months ago, except this time around she has managed to secure the services of drummers Mars Slater Vitai and Olive Konai, who between them share the duties on this 16-track 39-minute-long album. They fit in well with the ethos and spirit of Samantha, not attempting to bring in any finesse of polish, but instead keeping to the very lo-fi and naïve approach demonstrated by the singer/guitarist.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem