7 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Club Classic - EP Review: Greetings From Club Classic

23 Aug 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Club Classic like to portray themselves in photos as being an interesting bunch of jokers, and indeed their Facebook page says, “Welly’s favourite grass roots sports club + indie-funk band hybrid”, but don’t let any of that fool you, as when it is time to start playing music these guys are serious, and seriously good. This 13-minute-long 3-track EP finds them demonstrating just how slick and powerful they are, with different styles of funk and soul.

Interstellar kicks it off, with a strong bass line, and a groove which makes the body move as if it has a life of its own, there really is no choice. This reminds me so much of the classic Seventies pop hits, with that disco/funk guitar sound we all remember so well, harmonies, a great lead vocal, shimmering keyboards and hooks aplenty. As well as a great performance and arrangement, special mention must also be made of the production which makes this feel like a topflight release as opposed to an independent.

Last Chance Dance slows it all down with a strong bass line and plenty of space in the arrangement, allowing Joe to take centre stage in this funky R&B ballad. It opens up more in the chorus than in the initial verse, but the approach with electronic piano keeps it in a far more controlled and sedate manner, and again so layered that the harmonies remind the listener of classic 10CC. It is quite different indeed to the opener, allowing the listener to just luxuriate in the soulful sounds.

Then we end with Top Down, which is surely the last number of the night when they play live, as this is a Stevie Wonder inspired masterblaster. We even get some radio presenters discussing the weather at some point, saying how Wellington is going to get to 28 (ok, so that is obviously fiction, Welly is the only place in the country where the rain not only travels horizontally but around corners), and this fits in perfectly with the postcard theme of the cover, and the sheer boisterous fun of this number where everyone gets up and has a bop.

All three songs are summery wonderful numbers guaranteed to get people up and on the dance floor, with Top Down also getting people to join in the chorus and having a great time. This release was originally tied in with a tour which has now been delayed due to Covid, so until they come to town grab this, and turn it up, and the party will be at your place.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Club Classic

Formed in late 2018 after having a crack at different genres of music, the draw of making music to dance to, led the Club Classic chaps to producing 70’s Funk, Soul and Disco inspired tunes to get your foot tapping, fingers drumming and head nodding.

Based in Wellington, the initial four piece of Liam - Drums, Cameron - Bass, Eddie - Guitar and Joe - Vocals and Keys, released Get Out Your Funk to the world. Followed quickly by The Vibe which consolidated their approach to dancey tunes, and gave a cool platform for Joe to express himself on stage. With live shows at Meow towards the end of 2019 things were looking good for the band…

Covid took the wind out of their sails a little but once they could meet together again mid-2020 they took off with gusto inventing Richie Whiskey. Richie is your true “man about town” drinking, dancing, enjoying the Club life. The four piece expanded to five with the addition of Troy on Keys, thus allowing Joe to focus on singing and working with the audience, making sure they all enjoyed the excellent Club Classic atmosphere.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Club Classic

Releases

Greetings From Club Classic
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Sonic Delusion - Single/Video Review: Fingertips
06 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this year I was fortunate enough to come across the incredible album When Turkeys Fly by Turkey The Bird which meant I was determined to see them when they came to Auckland and had an amazing evening. One member of that trio is André Manella, who has also been touring as Sonic Delusion, and over the last eight years he has played more than 800 shows and released five albums.
Read More...
Gig Review: T-Bone @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 03/07/2022
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to Tuning Fork for an early start with doors opening at 5:30 and the whole thing expected to be over by 9:30! I was so glad that Al from Hoop sent me the running times in the morning otherwise I would have missed their set altogether as well as possibly missing the beginning of T-Bone!
Read More...
EP Review: Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
What we have here is the debut collaboration from Ange.Mac and Shaun Garea.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pale Flag @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/07/2022
02 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight, I was supposed to be at The Tuning Fork for Ekko Park and Jordan Luck but the dreaded Covid had cast its spell and the gig was cancelled earlier in the week. I did a quick check to see what was on at Dead Witch and discovered there was a four-band bill and knowing three of them I could see it was going to be a good night so decided to head that way.
Read More...
Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you).
Read More...
Ed Waaka - Single Review: E Kura
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It did not take long for me to fall in love with this song, probably the first 30 seconds I guess, as there is something about it which grabs hold the listener, puts them in a safe place, and lets the singer bare their soul. Soul, yes, this is full of it in a musical sense as well as an emotional one, and when I discovered he was singing about the upcoming birth of his first daughter, whether he would be a good father, and the need to reconnect to his Maori heritage it made a great deal of sense.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - Single Review: Crush
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the lead single from Danica Bryant’s forthcoming EP, Ego Death, and if this is fully representative, then that is something to look out for. For a young artist she has already had considerable success, mentoring with Bic Runga while also gaining a support slot for Elton John on his ‘Farewell Yellow Brick Road’ tour, and while she has already tasted success on the NZ Hot Singles Chart, I am sure this is going to head the same way.
Read More...
Tia Ward - EP Review: Me and Me Too
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut EP from Hawkes Bay singer Tia Ward, following on from two singles which were released ahead of time, Under Wraps and Paint Dry, both of which are included here. The first thing which the listener notices are her vocals, which are both understated yet firmly to the fore.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem