18 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

SOG - Album Review: Blooming Buzzing Confusion

19 Aug 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Wellington quartet SOG are back with their third album, with a somewhat unusual but very Kiwi cover photo. There has just been the one line-up change since their 2018 Slate Clean debut, as Bianca Bailey (vocals, drums) joined in time for 2019’s, alongside James Shanly (vocals, bass), Ethan Roberts (guitar, vocals) and Luke Cox (guitar). Together they produce music which at times sounds like it is coming out of the late Seventies CBGB scene, at others clearly mid-Eighties Manchester, while it also clearly goes back to the original psychedelic movement, and sometimes covers all the bases in the same song.

The music is very pop based, with plenty of alternative and art rock, and while it is often quite left field it is also full of hooks, so much so that one can imagine many of these being played on the radio. Although many of their songs sit quite happily in the under four-minute category, it is quite surprising to find one, Castlepoint, more than six minutes in length. It is also possibly my favourite song on the album, as the bass line is complex and leading the melody, while the guitars are there for support, and the harmony vocals are quite uplifting. James has a voice which reminds me of a combination of David Byrne and Jim Kerr, while Bianca is far cleaner and clearer. There is a great deal of space within the songs, so much so that the listener feels they can really get inside and see the notes passing by. The guitars provide wonderful counterpoints to the bass, sometimes jangly and sharp while at others they are more controlled, while the warm and melodic bass ties in with the drums to provide the structure.

James says his personal favourite on the album is Pigeon Hole, which is also the most political as it is quite critical of our health system, and in many ways is one of the most complex with guitar lines weaving and casting alternative rock spells. It is quite a contrast to Making Me Happy, which is far more basic and somehow staccato stoner with a grungy psychedelic twist on Jonathan Richman & The Modern Lovers. While there is a distinct common musical thread being brought through the whole album, each song is also quite different, so much so that one is never realty sure what is going to come next, which makes it that much more enjoyable.

If independent music, which really sounds as if it has come straight out of the indie scene, is what you enjoy then this is definitely worthy of further investigation. This and all their other releases are available through Bandcamp.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About SOG

Bringing you classic hits such as Wellington Cats and Seasonally SOG are bringing you raw emotions. Don't be caught wearing sandals in the mosh, you might wanna throw down to some of these bangers!




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for SOG

Releases

Blooming Buzzing Confusion
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Slate Clean
Year: 2019
Type: Album
SOG
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
Black Sands - Single Review: Apocalypse of Eden
22 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
To my mind this single is long overdue, as I have been lucky enough to catch these guys play live a few times this year and they always put on an amazing show. Comprising Cameron Owens (guitars), Ruaidri Keens (guitars), Matt Hammond (bass) and James Trimmer (drums) they are one of those very rare breeds, a hard-hitting metal act with no need for a singer.
Read More...
Kev's Top 10's - 2021
20 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2021 has been a strange year, of that there has been no doubt whatsoever, but although everyone in Auckland is champing at the bit to be let out into the real world, it is probably best to remind ourselves that until we went into lockdown in August we were the envy of the world with festivals, plenty of beer, and the country being totally open (apart from the borders). At that time, I had been to more than 30 gigs, and was on course to hit 50 for the year, never thinking for a minute that August would be the last time I saw a band play live.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - Album Review: The Finished Touch
19 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is a direct continuation of the work displayed by Samantha on the Fly Bird Fly EP which came out a few months ago, except this time around she has managed to secure the services of drummers Mars Slater Vitai and Olive Konai, who between them share the duties on this 16-track 39-minute-long album. They fit in well with the ethos and spirit of Samantha, not attempting to bring in any finesse of polish, but instead keeping to the very lo-fi and naïve approach demonstrated by the singer/guitarist.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem