7 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

SOG - Album Review: Blooming Buzzing Confusion

19 Aug 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Wellington quartet SOG are back with their third album, with a somewhat unusual but very Kiwi cover photo. There has just been the one line-up change since their 2018 Slate Clean debut, as Bianca Bailey (vocals, drums) joined in time for 2019’s, alongside James Shanly (vocals, bass), Ethan Roberts (guitar, vocals) and Luke Cox (guitar). Together they produce music which at times sounds like it is coming out of the late Seventies CBGB scene, at others clearly mid-Eighties Manchester, while it also clearly goes back to the original psychedelic movement, and sometimes covers all the bases in the same song.

The music is very pop based, with plenty of alternative and art rock, and while it is often quite left field it is also full of hooks, so much so that one can imagine many of these being played on the radio. Although many of their songs sit quite happily in the under four-minute category, it is quite surprising to find one, Castlepoint, more than six minutes in length. It is also possibly my favourite song on the album, as the bass line is complex and leading the melody, while the guitars are there for support, and the harmony vocals are quite uplifting. James has a voice which reminds me of a combination of David Byrne and Jim Kerr, while Bianca is far cleaner and clearer. There is a great deal of space within the songs, so much so that the listener feels they can really get inside and see the notes passing by. The guitars provide wonderful counterpoints to the bass, sometimes jangly and sharp while at others they are more controlled, while the warm and melodic bass ties in with the drums to provide the structure.

James says his personal favourite on the album is Pigeon Hole, which is also the most political as it is quite critical of our health system, and in many ways is one of the most complex with guitar lines weaving and casting alternative rock spells. It is quite a contrast to Making Me Happy, which is far more basic and somehow staccato stoner with a grungy psychedelic twist on Jonathan Richman & The Modern Lovers. While there is a distinct common musical thread being brought through the whole album, each song is also quite different, so much so that one is never realty sure what is going to come next, which makes it that much more enjoyable.

If independent music, which really sounds as if it has come straight out of the indie scene, is what you enjoy then this is definitely worthy of further investigation. This and all their other releases are available through Bandcamp.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About SOG

Bringing you classic hits such as Wellington Cats and Seasonally SOG are bringing you raw emotions. Don't be caught wearing sandals in the mosh, you might wanna throw down to some of these bangers!




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for SOG

Releases

Blooming Buzzing Confusion
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Slate Clean
Year: 2019
Type: Album
SOG
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Sonic Delusion - Single/Video Review: Fingertips
06 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this year I was fortunate enough to come across the incredible album When Turkeys Fly by Turkey The Bird which meant I was determined to see them when they came to Auckland and had an amazing evening. One member of that trio is André Manella, who has also been touring as Sonic Delusion, and over the last eight years he has played more than 800 shows and released five albums.
Read More...
Gig Review: T-Bone @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 03/07/2022
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to Tuning Fork for an early start with doors opening at 5:30 and the whole thing expected to be over by 9:30! I was so glad that Al from Hoop sent me the running times in the morning otherwise I would have missed their set altogether as well as possibly missing the beginning of T-Bone!
Read More...
EP Review: Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
What we have here is the debut collaboration from Ange.Mac and Shaun Garea.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pale Flag @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/07/2022
02 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight, I was supposed to be at The Tuning Fork for Ekko Park and Jordan Luck but the dreaded Covid had cast its spell and the gig was cancelled earlier in the week. I did a quick check to see what was on at Dead Witch and discovered there was a four-band bill and knowing three of them I could see it was going to be a good night so decided to head that way.
Read More...
Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you).
Read More...
Ed Waaka - Single Review: E Kura
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It did not take long for me to fall in love with this song, probably the first 30 seconds I guess, as there is something about it which grabs hold the listener, puts them in a safe place, and lets the singer bare their soul. Soul, yes, this is full of it in a musical sense as well as an emotional one, and when I discovered he was singing about the upcoming birth of his first daughter, whether he would be a good father, and the need to reconnect to his Maori heritage it made a great deal of sense.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - Single Review: Crush
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the lead single from Danica Bryant’s forthcoming EP, Ego Death, and if this is fully representative, then that is something to look out for. For a young artist she has already had considerable success, mentoring with Bic Runga while also gaining a support slot for Elton John on his ‘Farewell Yellow Brick Road’ tour, and while she has already tasted success on the NZ Hot Singles Chart, I am sure this is going to head the same way.
Read More...
Tia Ward - EP Review: Me and Me Too
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut EP from Hawkes Bay singer Tia Ward, following on from two singles which were released ahead of time, Under Wraps and Paint Dry, both of which are included here. The first thing which the listener notices are her vocals, which are both understated yet firmly to the fore.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem