19 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

SOG - Album Review: Blooming Buzzing Confusion

19 Aug 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Wellington quartet SOG are back with their third album, with a somewhat unusual but very Kiwi cover photo. There has just been the one line-up change since their 2018 Slate Clean debut, as Bianca Bailey (vocals, drums) joined in time for 2019’s, alongside James Shanly (vocals, bass), Ethan Roberts (guitar, vocals) and Luke Cox (guitar). Together they produce music which at times sounds like it is coming out of the late Seventies CBGB scene, at others clearly mid-Eighties Manchester, while it also clearly goes back to the original psychedelic movement, and sometimes covers all the bases in the same song.

The music is very pop based, with plenty of alternative and art rock, and while it is often quite left field it is also full of hooks, so much so that one can imagine many of these being played on the radio. Although many of their songs sit quite happily in the under four-minute category, it is quite surprising to find one, Castlepoint, more than six minutes in length. It is also possibly my favourite song on the album, as the bass line is complex and leading the melody, while the guitars are there for support, and the harmony vocals are quite uplifting. James has a voice which reminds me of a combination of David Byrne and Jim Kerr, while Bianca is far cleaner and clearer. There is a great deal of space within the songs, so much so that the listener feels they can really get inside and see the notes passing by. The guitars provide wonderful counterpoints to the bass, sometimes jangly and sharp while at others they are more controlled, while the warm and melodic bass ties in with the drums to provide the structure.

James says his personal favourite on the album is Pigeon Hole, which is also the most political as it is quite critical of our health system, and in many ways is one of the most complex with guitar lines weaving and casting alternative rock spells. It is quite a contrast to Making Me Happy, which is far more basic and somehow staccato stoner with a grungy psychedelic twist on Jonathan Richman & The Modern Lovers. While there is a distinct common musical thread being brought through the whole album, each song is also quite different, so much so that one is never realty sure what is going to come next, which makes it that much more enjoyable.

If independent music, which really sounds as if it has come straight out of the indie scene, is what you enjoy then this is definitely worthy of further investigation. This and all their other releases are available through Bandcamp.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About SOG

Bringing you classic hits such as Wellington Cats and Seasonally SOG are bringing you raw emotions. Don't be caught wearing sandals in the mosh, you might wanna throw down to some of these bangers!




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for SOG

Releases

Blooming Buzzing Confusion
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Slate Clean
Year: 2019
Type: Album
SOG
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Written By Wolves - EP Review: Secrets - The Collab Project
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Since I started writing for New Zealand’s #1 music site, https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Alien Weaponry - Album Review: Tangaroa
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt whatsoever that Alien Weaponry have captured the imagination not only of the New Zealand public, but metalheads worldwide, with their combination of groove and thrash metal mixing with their Maori heritage to create something very special indeed. There really is no other band quite like them, although I do sometimes find myself thinking of the impact of Sepultura and their Roots album, but one does need to remember that was Sepultura’s sixth album, some 12 years after their first release.
Read More...
Domingo Candelario - EP Review: Sin Palabras
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is always a very Cuban base to his music, Domingo has covered many different styles, as he transcends culture and language: music is about expressing emotions honestly and he tries to be as unique as he can.  As a child, his parents listened to a lot of Brazilian music, and he was fascinated by the way they used harmonies: it was so beautifully put together, so soft and in connection with the soul.
Read More...
Glenn Bodger - Album Review: I'll Leave The Light On
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Glenn Bodger, who provided most of the instrumentation himself, although he has also been assisted by former Braintree bandmate Darryn Harkness, who helped with additional guitar, bass and keyboards where required. From the gentle, almost cautiously picked acoustic guitar notes on opener I’ll Leave The Light On, we are brought carefully into a world which is dated yet fresh, comfortable but new, as he mixes together different musical elements in an independent, alternative style which is often somehow commercial and others when they are definitely not.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - EP Review: Fly Bird Fly
15 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Samantha Josephine's six-track Fly Bird Fly EP is less than 13 minutes long, but in many ways that makes total sense, as there is a feeling within this that we are being allowed into a secret and very personal world and that it would be intrusive to stay for too long. One can imagine Samantha performing in a corner, hoping that no-one will see or hear her, and when I read in her bio that only her girlfriend has seen her perform in the last year, and that even she is not allowed to be around when Samantha is writing, then it makes perfect sense.
Read More...
The Night - Single Review: Untouchable
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This cannot be right. According to the information I have in front of me, this Wellington-based band was formed from a group of music students in 2017, started performing live in 2018, and their ages now range from 15 to 18!
Read More...
Channeled - EP Review: Perception
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
As I have said previously, 2020 was a breakthrough year for Channeled, as Ben Ruegg recorded the second album and formed an operational live band to make it more than just a studio project. They made it through to the final of the Ding Dong Lounge Battle of the Bands and set up a headline show at the same venue with Cafe Fistfight and Mariner as support to celebrate the release of I Heard Penelope Sing, but then disaster struck with Ben being rushed to hospital following a Grand Mal seizure.
Read More...
Empress - EP Review: Trash Dynasty
10 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Empress were formed by guitarist/singer Lora Thompson and drummer Craig Gilliver after the demise of their previous project, Cheshire Grimm with whom they toured the length of NZ, played with international acts and local superstars, as well as releasing material along the way. The lead track from this EP, Sailing the Seas of Grease, was actually released towards the end of 2020 but it has taken until now for their six-track 23-minute-long debut EP to made available.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem