10 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

HATT - EP Review: Vol.1 - Emulate + Dissipate

19 Aug 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

HATT are a new band on the scene, but they are already here with their debut 5-track EP. Mind you, although HATT are a new name, those behind it are definitely not, as anyone who has been involved with the Auckland music scene will recognize all those taking part. At the forefront is Aidan O'Loughlin providing the over-the-top manic vocals and guitar that one expects from someone who has been fronting alt-punk hardcore outfit On Tick for so many years. Matt Perry (vocals, bass) is normally seen with microphone in hand with Halo of Ashes) while drummer Reuben Conn has played with Matt in bands such as {Halo of Ashes and Texas White Chicks.

Five songs, 20 minutes, this is as uncompromising as one would expect given the backgrounds of all involved. In fact, the biggest surprise for me as the thickness of the bass sound coming from Matt, as this is huge and rich, and in some ways acting like a cross between Lemmy and Chris Squire in terms of approach. It is all about providing a massive cushion and layer of sound for Aidan to pitch the guitar against, which is more direct and piercing, one being a sledgehammer and the other a scalpel, all the time with Reuben trying to keep everything in order. The vocals are full of passion and emotion, cracking, and going off pitch yet all perfectly in keeping with the maelstrom beneath.

This is not music designed to be listened to quietly at home, but rather is intended for a mass of sweaty oiks at Dead Witch to throw themselves into the music and each other. It is not going to sit gently on a radio playlist but it was never intended for that, this is messy, nasty, and hugely intense hardcore punk sludge which takes on a life of its own, and becomes something you would not want to introduce to your mother. They describe themselves as a "power-trio for the modern man", especially if that modern man were name Paige Hamilton, as there is no doubt that Helmet have had an influence on these guys. This is unfiltered and honest, and taking the shortest route to drill straight into your ears.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
Gig Review: Antagonist A.D. @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/07/2022
31 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Once more into the breach dear friends, as I made my way into the city for the third night in a row. I knew this was going to be the most dramatic gig of the week and was one I had been looking forward to for months.
Read More...
Gig Review: Reb Fountain @ Town Hall, Auckland - 29/07/2022
30 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back into central Auckland for the second consecutive evening, this time to see an artist for whom I have great admiration for the first time, and whose latest album, Iris, was rightfully in my Top Ten of 2021. Until last month it had been years since I had been in Auckland Town Hall for a gig, but here I was again, this time for one of the series of Auckland Elemental events, and I could see lighting gantries across much of the venue so knew we were in for quite some night.
Read More...
Gig Review: Capital Theatre @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 28/07/2022
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to the Tuning Fork on a school night, whatever next?! Mind you, it was for a special occasion as Capital Theatre were back in town and it has been way too long since I last saw them play (thanks Covid).
Read More...
Infinity Ritual - EP Review: Infinity Ritual
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from New Plymouth trio Adam Colless (guitars, vocals), Jason Karam (bass, vocals, mellotron) and Mark Thomas (drums and percussion). The four songs, 23 minutes in length, show a band who are bringing together groove metal with stoner, displaying plenty of bottom end with rich distortion.
Read More...
Sea Mouse - EP Review: Evil Heart
27 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is a time in many music lover’s lives when they finally fall into the caress of the blues. Everyone has their own genre they prefer, but the best blues is that which really calls to the listener on an emotional level, and for me that means two very different strands, and my favourite depends on what I am feeling like on any particular day.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem