30 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

HATT - EP Review: Vol.1 - Emulate + Dissipate

19 Aug 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

HATT are a new band on the scene, but they are already here with their debut 5-track EP. Mind you, although HATT are a new name, those behind it are definitely not, as anyone who has been involved with the Auckland music scene will recognize all those taking part. At the forefront is Aidan O'Loughlin providing the over-the-top manic vocals and guitar that one expects from someone who has been fronting alt-punk hardcore outfit On Tick for so many years. Matt Perry (vocals, bass) is normally seen with microphone in hand with Halo of Ashes) while drummer Reuben Conn has played with Matt in bands such as {Halo of Ashes and Texas White Chicks.

Five songs, 20 minutes, this is as uncompromising as one would expect given the backgrounds of all involved. In fact, the biggest surprise for me as the thickness of the bass sound coming from Matt, as this is huge and rich, and in some ways acting like a cross between Lemmy and Chris Squire in terms of approach. It is all about providing a massive cushion and layer of sound for Aidan to pitch the guitar against, which is more direct and piercing, one being a sledgehammer and the other a scalpel, all the time with Reuben trying to keep everything in order. The vocals are full of passion and emotion, cracking, and going off pitch yet all perfectly in keeping with the maelstrom beneath.

This is not music designed to be listened to quietly at home, but rather is intended for a mass of sweaty oiks at Dead Witch to throw themselves into the music and each other. It is not going to sit gently on a radio playlist but it was never intended for that, this is messy, nasty, and hugely intense hardcore punk sludge which takes on a life of its own, and becomes something you would not want to introduce to your mother. They describe themselves as a "power-trio for the modern man", especially if that modern man were name Paige Hamilton, as there is no doubt that Helmet have had an influence on these guys. This is unfiltered and honest, and taking the shortest route to drill straight into your ears.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

The Sam Loveridge Band - Album Review: Recovery
27 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Some albums are intense, some are incredibly hard work and only open up (sometimes, if at all) after a great many plays, and others will never be destined for mainstream radio play as there is nothing there to attract the masses. Then there are albums like this one, where all you need to do is check out the cover to have an idea of what it is going to be like inside.
Read More...
Melanie - EP Review: ABCD
25 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Since releasing their debut EP back in 2018, Auckland pop/punk outfit Melanie have been making quite a name for themselves in the old-fashioned way of doing things, namely playing anywhere and everywhere, and having total belief in themselves and their music. When I first saw them, I was impressed that here was an unsigned band who had invested in having their debut album pressed in vinyl and had a few different t-shirts available as well as some other merch including stickers.
Read More...
Gig Review: Checaine & After Forever @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 22/01/2022
23 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As normal I got in early to the venue, then soon left again to have a beer up the road with the guys from Checaine. I was mightily impressed as they had brought a bus up from Hamilton with a load of fans onboard – one way of guaranteeing playing in a strange town in front of a friendly crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • WE DON'T TALK ABOUT BRUNO
    Various
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem