25 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Speech Act Theory - Single/Video Review: Holding Out

08 Aug 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Speech Act Theory is a new project by producer and musician Pete Hickman which allows him to explore his vulnerable side, putting his insecurities out there for all to see. Musically this is bringing together elements of Alternative, Shoegaze, Electronica and pop, with the focus on keyboards and vocals, although special mention should be made here of the drums (and I still cannot make up my mind if they are programmed or real), which provide cut through. The guitar and bass take some of the emphasis away from the long held down chords which are played on some very analogue sounding synths, and the feeling is very much of the late Eighties and early Nineties Bristol scene, with Massive Attack being an obvious point of reference.

It gets very close to moving into dance territory but tends to just flirt with the idea and wants to stand against the wall and watch what else is going on. Lyrically this is touching on toxic relationships and what can come out of that. The video is both compelling and disturbing, featuring a male and female character, and one wonders what they see in each other as they mimic the others’ movements, while both are obviously suffering emotional trauma the very first time we see them. It feels far more like a mini movie than a music video, with this song being the effective soundtrack telling us the story. It may not be really my normal form of music to listen to, but there is something fascinating about this and it will be interesting to see where Pete takes us from here.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Speech Act Theory

Speech Act Theory is an Alternative / Electronica band based in Auckland, New Zealand.

Initially a studio concept which started in the later part of 2019, producer/musician Pete Hickman wanted to create an electronica project that paid homage to his influences such as groups like Zero 7, Massive Attack, Ultraísta, Boards of Canada, Death in Vegas, UNKLE among more.

The idea was to fuse electronica music with live acoustic drums and other live instruments. This is where the vision came to bring his love of electronica and a live band together.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Speech Act Theory

Releases

There are no releases to display for Speech Act Theory.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Claemus - Album Review: Daydream
21 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
When I heard that Hutt Valley band Claemus had released their debut album I was immediately intrigued, as I came across the single Hedonist a few months ago, and given the number of influences and styles they had managed to ram into 5 minutes what could they do with a full album? These guys have managed to secure support slots with bands as diverse as P.
Read More...
Kevin Posey - EP Review: The Story of Francis
21 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Oklahoma native Kevin Posey lives in Auckland these days, and throughout his musical career he has investigated different types and styles of music, and for this EP he has moved into yet another area, as what we have here is classical music that has been inspired by Halloween and psychological thrillers. Some, such as Fog Forest No.
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: I'm Ready
21 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is Jolandi Ford’s third single since moving to Aotearoa from her native South Africa, and right from the first note one can why she has already been making a dent in international Country music charts. Although her voice is lighter in some ways, with a nice twang, her approach is quite reminiscent to the more rock-based approach of the likes of Shania Twain.
Read More...
Eurenza - EP Review: Good Luck... You're Gonna Need It
19 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Eurenza were originally formed seven years ago as Timeless, but eventually decided to go with a more uncommon name, and now have delivered their first five-track EP. Interestingly, much of this was recorded some time ago in preparation for an album, but they instead decided to go with the strongest tracks instead and cut it back.
Read More...
Sam Bartells - Single Review: Bring You Down
17 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Sam Bartells is back with his new single Bring You Down, which finds him taking quite a different approach to Where We'll Go, which also featured Mema Wilda. Whereas he normally sits quite happily within alt country, here we see him using that as a base and then moving in a much rockier direction.
Read More...
Jenny Mitchell - Single Review: Trouble Finds A Girl with Tami Neilson
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The Auckland Folk Festival earlier this year was an embarrassment of riches, with so many great Kiwi artists playing multiple sets, and I spent the weekend trying to soak in as much as possible. There is no doubt that one of the highlights was Jenny Mitchell, who with her sisters Nicola and Maegan, provided warm and emotional country music in a style which seemed very much at odds with her age.
Read More...
Bianca Rae - Single Review: Flower
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when the music world is very small indeed, which is why earlier this year I found myself at The Portland Public House in Auckland to see a singer-songwriter, having been put in contact by a fellow reviewer who is in the UK. Even though Bianca Rae was the support, and everything was running late, she refused to let anything get to her, and I thoroughly enjoyed her set.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Green Cones
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Following on from the single Pay, which I reviewed a few months back, Blue River Baby (BRBB) are back with the second single from their second album, which is due next year. We find them moving much more into a dub style, with Ree Thomson’s wonderfully clear vocals very much the centre of attention.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem