10 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Cafe Fistfight - Cafe Fistfight @ The Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 07/08/2021

08 Aug 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Back to DD for the second night in a row, but tonight was going to be a very different crowd and musical experience to what had been happening here only 24 hours earlier.

First up tonight was Green, which features three members of Big Tasty and in some ways is quite a similar band. Mitchell Goodfellow (guitar), and Niki Te Whaiti (sax) are joined by bandmate Martin McGaw (who before tonight I have only seen play trombone but tonight is on bass), and Green are completed by James French (keyboards), Marlowe Bigham (drums) and Billie Webster (vocals), with Niki and Billie being the main songwriters. They started tonight with Hot In Here, a slow number based heavily on keyboards and vocals, which also brings in some wonderful sax and a lovely distorted guitar solo. Billie has a gloriously sultry and expressive vocal style, with the rest of the band providing perfect support. She is so into the music, with the guys also well into the groove, and it is hard not to dance and smile. They segued Good To Me into Smooth Operator, and one could not hear the join. It is quicker and more edgy than the original but works very well indeed. This song also allowed us to have Martin provide a small but perfectly formed bass solo while Niki is always on hand to provide additional emphasis. They even went back further in time, with Just The Two of Us, and were definitely kicking up a real soulful and fun sound onstage.

In Been Bad, Green showed just close the relationship can be between soul and blues, mixing the two together, changing tempos and allowing Billie to throw a real broad blues edge into some of the vocals. The crowd loved it when Niki came down into the audience during Disco Was to lead the dancing, as there is no sax in this one, which is primarily led by some wonderful walking bass. Mitch was even playing some of his lines with his hand over the top of the neck, just for a change. Fleetwood Mac’s Dreams was given a more soulful approach, but it showed just how similar Billie can be to Stevie Nicks when she wants to. Overall, it was a great way to kick off the evening, although there were a lot of covers in the full set. I would certainly be interested in seeing them again, but I could not help but think that this was an interesting opener to have for one band who favour Shihad and Linkin Park, and another who is far more progressive in nature.

The last time I saw White Nøise Mafia play, Neo lost six drumsticks during the gig, and apparently, he broke two during practice earlier today– I told Dan it was a very brave man indeed who lets Neo play on his kit. The previous band may have been soul and niceness, but the boys kicked into Medicate and showed right from the off that there was a totally different act onstage now, cranking straight into top gear. They have upped their gigging schedule recently, and given they won their heat of battle of the bands on only their second ever gig it is incredible to see how much they continue to grow. Neo is an animal behind the kit, hitting the drums incredibly hard while also providing massive fills, Matt S provides stability, Matt H is a metal monster on guitar, and then at the front there is Chris – when he hit the scream in Let It End all the band sat back and let him nail it before all crunching in again. War allowed them to get into a more downtuned Meshuggah style as they turned up the heaviness.

Intimate Hell let the guys to show they can mix it up with different tempos, attacks, and vocal styles but always with incredible intensity being driven from the back. As they launched into Attack, a fan at the front of the stage fell over and hurt himself and immediately Chris stopped the gig and jumped down to check he was okay, which was definitely the right things to do. After a short break while he was checked out, the band came back up and kicked back off as if there had never been an interruption, ramping the intensity straight back up to 11. Everyone was soon jumping up and down, even members of Green who had been so delicate on stage just a little while earlier. The tempo was changed totally with Memory of You, which starts off far more pop rock in style until they hit the chorus where the harmony vocals help lift what has become a suddenly very heavy song indeed. The Divide just keeps getting better each time I hear them play it, check it out on YouTube and Spotify, and they of course ended with My Mind Sedate and ripped the place to shreds.

Having had a soul band, followed by a hard rock act, the scene was set for Cafe Fistfight, who never disappoint with their progressive (in its truest sense) music. They went straight into Free Wifi, without even making an announcement, but right from the first notes everyone was interested and invested in what was going on onstage. Their complex style of music is like no other band I have come across, with four distinct musical personalities who on paper should not work, somehow creating magic each and every time they play. Dan is a powerful drummer who throws in nuances while keeping it tight (some great cymbal work), Jesse plays a bass as if it is a guitar throwing in counterpoint melodies when the time is right, Josh is a metal shredder adding additional elements and then in Chris they have a wonderful singer who also provides superb acoustic guitar. Second song was the hard-hitting King Hit Quiche, which had people dancing (even the Aussie in the Wallabies shirt who had just come in). They throw breaks into their music, all hitting a point and stopping for a split second before kicking off again, but I don’t think I had ever heard them quite as intense before as they were during this number: following WNM obviously agrees with them.

Pocket Change is just downright funky, and just should not belong in a set like this, but there is something about it which is incredibly catchy and drags the listeners into the wonderfully melodic world which is Cafe Fistfight. This was followed by Service With A Smile, so within the first four songs we had already had all three which are on Spotify. They launched into Kings of Leon’s Notion, and I realised I had not heard them play this one before, but given that tonight was going to be the longest set I had seen from them, perhaps that wasn’t a surprise. By now the crowd were really bubbling and into everything the guys were doing. The wonderful Take Two got us to halfway through the set, which again had them ramping up the intensity with Chris and Jesse keeping it solid while Josh revelled in a killer solo and Dan beat the hell out of the kit with some great rolls. This is one of their number which contains loads of breaks as they throw in multiple different sections.

Reflections has Chris being incredibly passionate and involved, and is another song full of sections, with Josh providing a gentle distorted solo, Chris being allowed to undertake some delicate picking while Dan gives us rimshots and Jesse is just mellow. Best Before starts off in a much gentler manner, displaying yet again that one never knows what one is going to get from these guys, as yet again this built up to a climax – they just have no idea on how to write a song in 4/4 with a simple verse chorus structure, which is what makes them so interesting. Toxic was again a showstopper, with everyone moving, and then they finally finished with Gimme One Reason and the night was done.

Three very different bands tonight, and a bill which in all honesty should never have worked, but for anyone with a broad taste in music, then tonight was yet another killer at Dead Witch. 

 

About Cafe Fistfight

Cafe Fistfight are New Zealand's leading Cafe-themed Acoustic hard rock band. Nourishing the soul and enriching the eardrums with bopping classics like Service with a Smile and King Hit Quiche these four fellas are sure to get you back for seconds.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Cafe Fistfight

Releases

Mourning Brew
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
Gig Review: Antagonist A.D. @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/07/2022
31 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Once more into the breach dear friends, as I made my way into the city for the third night in a row. I knew this was going to be the most dramatic gig of the week and was one I had been looking forward to for months.
Read More...
Gig Review: Reb Fountain @ Town Hall, Auckland - 29/07/2022
30 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back into central Auckland for the second consecutive evening, this time to see an artist for whom I have great admiration for the first time, and whose latest album, Iris, was rightfully in my Top Ten of 2021. Until last month it had been years since I had been in Auckland Town Hall for a gig, but here I was again, this time for one of the series of Auckland Elemental events, and I could see lighting gantries across much of the venue so knew we were in for quite some night.
Read More...
Gig Review: Capital Theatre @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 28/07/2022
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to the Tuning Fork on a school night, whatever next?! Mind you, it was for a special occasion as Capital Theatre were back in town and it has been way too long since I last saw them play (thanks Covid).
Read More...
Infinity Ritual - EP Review: Infinity Ritual
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from New Plymouth trio Adam Colless (guitars, vocals), Jason Karam (bass, vocals, mellotron) and Mark Thomas (drums and percussion). The four songs, 23 minutes in length, show a band who are bringing together groove metal with stoner, displaying plenty of bottom end with rich distortion.
Read More...
Sea Mouse - EP Review: Evil Heart
27 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is a time in many music lover’s lives when they finally fall into the caress of the blues. Everyone has their own genre they prefer, but the best blues is that which really calls to the listener on an emotional level, and for me that means two very different strands, and my favourite depends on what I am feeling like on any particular day.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem