23 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

No Broadcast - Single Review: Lie In Orbit

05 Aug 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

When I was back in Christchurch a few months ago, I went to The Dark Room to experience the mighty Dead Favours in concert, and that night the support act was No Broadcast. They were a band new to me, but they have been around in one form or another since 2004, and the current line-up has been together since 2007. The trio of Joshua Braden (vocals, guitar), Chris Self (drums) and Kieran Colina (bass) combine to form a post-rock progressive form of music which not only brings in influences from local bands such as Jakob but also plenty of Radiohead, while for some reason this song always makes me think of Crowded House. It is ethereal, dreamy, but also with a punch and tightness which belies what is being presented to us. The music is incredibly deep yet also somewhat shallow, directionless but with real meaning, and is best played on headphones to that the listener is not distracted by anything else in the real world. Chris and Kieran, along with Joshua’s vocals, are all in the supporting role with the delicate and fractured guitars the highlight and driving force.

It is music which requires repeated listenings, and paying close attention to what is going on, as it is only then that the real majesty comes through. Interestingly, these guys are also keen on making it more than just an audio experience and for those who wish to be fully invested need to buy the special packets of Chirny’s Coffee which comes with a download code – while it is possible to buy this on Bandcamp etc, there will be only 50 packets of coffee available with the download codes. So why not enjoy the sensory pleasures of fresh coffee while listening to this song? I certainly look forward to the full album.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About No Broadcast

No Broadcast, a three-piece band formerly known as Anthesiac, move post rock and alternative rock into a dynamic powerhouse of sound, reminiscent of fellow New Zealand bands HDU, Kerretta and Jakob. Their music is surpassed only by the live experience.

Established in Christchurch, NZ in 2007, as Josh Braden (vocals, guitar), Sam Hood (bass), and Chris Self (drums), the three chaps formed a strong musical chemistry that is increasingly rare in bands today. Priding themselves on their ability to instinctively move their music where it wants to go, the group make for a live act audiences can't take their eyes off.

No Broadcast have gigged extensively over the past 5 years, playing various festivals and shows around the country with a variety of other local and national artists. They have played alongside rockers Beastwars, post-punk heavyweights Die! Die! Die! as well as supporting Mountaineater (former HDU members) and internationally renounced six-piece An Emerald City on the South Island leg of their 2011 New Zealand tour.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for No Broadcast

Releases

The Blueprint
Year: 2015
Type: Album
No Broadcast
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Live At The Dux
Year: 2014
Type: EP
1736
Year: 2013
Type: EP
Null And Void
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Album Review: Black Alpine
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Album Review: Obon
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Obon is the debut album from alternative metal band Secrets of the Sun, a quartet based in Wellington. It has been a while in the making, in that the first single, Suffer With The Moon, was actually released a year ago while Wretched Tracks came out in February: both are included here.
Read More...
Written By Wolves - EP Review: Secrets - The Collab Project
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Since I started writing for New Zealand’s #1 music site, https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Alien Weaponry - Album Review: Tangaroa
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt whatsoever that Alien Weaponry have captured the imagination not only of the New Zealand public, but metalheads worldwide, with their combination of groove and thrash metal mixing with their Maori heritage to create something very special indeed. There really is no other band quite like them, although I do sometimes find myself thinking of the impact of Sepultura and their Roots album, but one does need to remember that was Sepultura’s sixth album, some 12 years after their first release.
Read More...
Domingo Candelario - EP Review: Sin Palabras
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is always a very Cuban base to his music, Domingo has covered many different styles, as he transcends culture and language: music is about expressing emotions honestly and he tries to be as unique as he can.  As a child, his parents listened to a lot of Brazilian music, and he was fascinated by the way they used harmonies: it was so beautifully put together, so soft and in connection with the soul.
Read More...
Glenn Bodger - Album Review: I'll Leave The Light On
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Glenn Bodger, who provided most of the instrumentation himself, although he has also been assisted by former Braintree bandmate Darryn Harkness, who helped with additional guitar, bass and keyboards where required. From the gentle, almost cautiously picked acoustic guitar notes on opener I’ll Leave The Light On, we are brought carefully into a world which is dated yet fresh, comfortable but new, as he mixes together different musical elements in an independent, alternative style which is often somehow commercial and others when they are definitely not.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - EP Review: Fly Bird Fly
15 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Samantha Josephine's six-track Fly Bird Fly EP is less than 13 minutes long, but in many ways that makes total sense, as there is a feeling within this that we are being allowed into a secret and very personal world and that it would be intrusive to stay for too long. One can imagine Samantha performing in a corner, hoping that no-one will see or hear her, and when I read in her bio that only her girlfriend has seen her perform in the last year, and that even she is not allowed to be around when Samantha is writing, then it makes perfect sense.
Read More...
The Night - Single Review: Untouchable
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This cannot be right. According to the information I have in front of me, this Wellington-based band was formed from a group of music students in 2017, started performing live in 2018, and their ages now range from 15 to 18!
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem