10 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

No Broadcast - Single Review: Lie In Orbit

05 Aug 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

When I was back in Christchurch a few months ago, I went to The Dark Room to experience the mighty Dead Favours in concert, and that night the support act was No Broadcast. They were a band new to me, but they have been around in one form or another since 2004, and the current line-up has been together since 2007. The trio of Joshua Braden (vocals, guitar), Chris Self (drums) and Kieran Colina (bass) combine to form a post-rock progressive form of music which not only brings in influences from local bands such as Jakob but also plenty of Radiohead, while for some reason this song always makes me think of Crowded House. It is ethereal, dreamy, but also with a punch and tightness which belies what is being presented to us. The music is incredibly deep yet also somewhat shallow, directionless but with real meaning, and is best played on headphones to that the listener is not distracted by anything else in the real world. Chris and Kieran, along with Joshua’s vocals, are all in the supporting role with the delicate and fractured guitars the highlight and driving force.

It is music which requires repeated listenings, and paying close attention to what is going on, as it is only then that the real majesty comes through. Interestingly, these guys are also keen on making it more than just an audio experience and for those who wish to be fully invested need to buy the special packets of Chirny’s Coffee which comes with a download code – while it is possible to buy this on Bandcamp etc, there will be only 50 packets of coffee available with the download codes. So why not enjoy the sensory pleasures of fresh coffee while listening to this song? I certainly look forward to the full album.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About No Broadcast

No Broadcast, a three-piece band formerly known as Anthesiac, move post rock and alternative rock into a dynamic powerhouse of sound, reminiscent of fellow New Zealand bands HDU, Kerretta and Jakob. Their music is surpassed only by the live experience.

Established in Christchurch, NZ in 2007, as Josh Braden (vocals, guitar), Sam Hood (bass), and Chris Self (drums), the three chaps formed a strong musical chemistry that is increasingly rare in bands today. Priding themselves on their ability to instinctively move their music where it wants to go, the group make for a live act audiences can't take their eyes off.

No Broadcast have gigged extensively over the past 5 years, playing various festivals and shows around the country with a variety of other local and national artists. They have played alongside rockers Beastwars, post-punk heavyweights Die! Die! Die! as well as supporting Mountaineater (former HDU members) and internationally renounced six-piece An Emerald City on the South Island leg of their 2011 New Zealand tour.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for No Broadcast

Releases

Lie In Orbit
Year: 2022
Type: Album
The Blueprint
Year: 2015
Type: Album
No Broadcast
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Live At The Dux
Year: 2014
Type: EP
1736
Year: 2013
Type: EP
Null And Void
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
Gig Review: Antagonist A.D. @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/07/2022
31 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Once more into the breach dear friends, as I made my way into the city for the third night in a row. I knew this was going to be the most dramatic gig of the week and was one I had been looking forward to for months.
Read More...
Gig Review: Reb Fountain @ Town Hall, Auckland - 29/07/2022
30 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back into central Auckland for the second consecutive evening, this time to see an artist for whom I have great admiration for the first time, and whose latest album, Iris, was rightfully in my Top Ten of 2021. Until last month it had been years since I had been in Auckland Town Hall for a gig, but here I was again, this time for one of the series of Auckland Elemental events, and I could see lighting gantries across much of the venue so knew we were in for quite some night.
Read More...
Gig Review: Capital Theatre @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 28/07/2022
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to the Tuning Fork on a school night, whatever next?! Mind you, it was for a special occasion as Capital Theatre were back in town and it has been way too long since I last saw them play (thanks Covid).
Read More...
Infinity Ritual - EP Review: Infinity Ritual
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from New Plymouth trio Adam Colless (guitars, vocals), Jason Karam (bass, vocals, mellotron) and Mark Thomas (drums and percussion). The four songs, 23 minutes in length, show a band who are bringing together groove metal with stoner, displaying plenty of bottom end with rich distortion.
Read More...
Sea Mouse - EP Review: Evil Heart
27 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is a time in many music lover’s lives when they finally fall into the caress of the blues. Everyone has their own genre they prefer, but the best blues is that which really calls to the listener on an emotional level, and for me that means two very different strands, and my favourite depends on what I am feeling like on any particular day.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem