18 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Edge Of The Woods - EP Review: Lookin' For Somethin'

05 Aug 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

This six-track EP from West Coast trio Edge of The Woods shows there is still plenty of room in this musical world for well thought out and delivered music with real soul and heart. They bring together folk, alt-blues. Americana and roots in a way that feels so incredibly real and honest. This is deep and rich, powerful yet driven only by acoustic guitar, drums and warm bass (plus a few guests) with everything built on the gravelly baritone of singer Wes James. It is Wes who also provides the guitar, and his partners in crime are Matthew Mahood (bass) and Jarrod Hooper (drums), and I am sure that Matthew cannot be as young as he looks in the cover photo.

The six songs are incredibly diverse, all coming at us from different directions, with Frown Upside Down undoubtedly one of the highlights. This is swamp blues with a real groove and swing, and the only way describe it is as being downright filthy in its mood and tempo. This is where Wes pours emotion into a gravelly performance where his voice feels incredibly broad, and in many ways, this reminds me of classic Dr. John. But contrast that to Eruera, and it is difficult to realise it is from the same band. Sung in Te Reo, this is a tribute to Wes’ friend, Eruera Tuhura Mita, who passed away in 2016 aged just 43. They met at the University of Waikato in 2016, where Eruera would often lead study groups in karakia and whaikorero. This is far more reflective, more pastoral, and thoughtful, leading us in a solemn tribute, saying how much he mourns his friend, who he sees as a chieftain. Matthew and Jarrod stay much more in the background, providing just the right amount of support to ensure that the focus is very much on the vocals. The picked guitar solo on this song is just right, totally in the moment.

There is a delicacy within this EP, yet also a hidden core, and this resonates with the listener who understands this is reality, real music being performed by real musicians with no studio trickery. I can imagine that in concert they are quite a bit rawer, as there is a feeling of the emotion ready to burst through which is probably more palpable when in front of an audience. There is a strong understanding between the guys, and no need to play six notes when just one will do, with everyone prepared to sit back at the right time and dive in at others. This is an incredibly strong debut EP, and I for one am going to be keeping an eye out for more from these in the future.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Edge Of The Woods

Through a combination of folk, alt-blues and roots, Edge Of The Woods weave stories about love, loss and life to create soul-stirring music. Formed on the rugged west coast, below Maunga Taranaki, the shifting landscapes are reflected in their music as they blend genres and grooves to deliver touching ballads, swampy blues, untamed folk, and tellurian roots. Engaging with live audiences is where Edge Of The Woods thrive and deliver their organic sound.

As a trio, the band creates surprising and diverse arrangements combining guitar, bass and drums. Wes James leads the songs on acoustic guitar along with a deep baritone voice that ranges from gravelly rumbles to contemplative crooning. Jarrod Hooper brings a wealth of experience and precision on the drum kit with teasingly tight beats and grooves. Being the youngest member, Matthew Mahood adds an energetic playfulness on the bass guitar to complement the trio.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Edge Of The Woods

Releases

Lookin' For Somethin'
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
Black Sands - Single Review: Apocalypse of Eden
22 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
To my mind this single is long overdue, as I have been lucky enough to catch these guys play live a few times this year and they always put on an amazing show. Comprising Cameron Owens (guitars), Ruaidri Keens (guitars), Matt Hammond (bass) and James Trimmer (drums) they are one of those very rare breeds, a hard-hitting metal act with no need for a singer.
Read More...
Kev's Top 10's - 2021
20 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2021 has been a strange year, of that there has been no doubt whatsoever, but although everyone in Auckland is champing at the bit to be let out into the real world, it is probably best to remind ourselves that until we went into lockdown in August we were the envy of the world with festivals, plenty of beer, and the country being totally open (apart from the borders). At that time, I had been to more than 30 gigs, and was on course to hit 50 for the year, never thinking for a minute that August would be the last time I saw a band play live.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - Album Review: The Finished Touch
19 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is a direct continuation of the work displayed by Samantha on the Fly Bird Fly EP which came out a few months ago, except this time around she has managed to secure the services of drummers Mars Slater Vitai and Olive Konai, who between them share the duties on this 16-track 39-minute-long album. They fit in well with the ethos and spirit of Samantha, not attempting to bring in any finesse of polish, but instead keeping to the very lo-fi and naïve approach demonstrated by the singer/guitarist.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem